We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope to stay here again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yuba City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harkey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Yuba City B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“I hope to stay here again”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was slow make a reservation for the popular Bok Kai festival, so I ended up staying in 2 different rooms during my weekend visit due to availability. I have no complaints, though: both rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and clean. Lee and Bob are great hosts who are very knowledgeable about the history, culture, and recreational opportunities in the Yuba City & Marysville area. The house is beautiful and clean with a wonderful and tasteful mix of colors and textures throughout. I found custom soap, fluffy robes & towels & maps in each room. Don't judge Yuba City by Hwy 99: Bob and Lee can tell you where the great restaurants are!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compugraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I, along with two other couples, booked three of their rooms for one night after spending a day at West Coast Falconry. All three rooms were lovely (we stayed in Tuscany and our friends had the Cottage and the Empress rooms) with wonderfully soft linens and very comfortable beds. This was our first experience in a B&B and if all B&Bs are like this one, it won't be our last. Lee and Bob were very pleasant hosts and the breakfast they made for us was wonderful! The location was great...we were able to walk to dinner. The home itself is fabulous and with a ton of character. If ever in Yuba City again, this would definitely be where I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our B and B. We really enjoyed your group and hope to see you again one day. Your feedback is very important to us.
Best of luck
Bob and Lee Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lee and Bob are great, friendly hosts. The B&B was quite charming, in a beautiful neighbourhood. I loved the bedding, the yard, the flowers. Definitely recommend and will stay there every time we go back to Yuba City area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our bed and breakfast.
Feedback from guests is very important to us.
Perhaps we will see you again one day.

Bob and Lee Jones
Harkey House B and B
Yuba City, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Harkey House for six months as I was working in town. I stayed in the cottage in the back with a beautiful view of the pool. It had a kitchenette set up and it was fuly stocked as well as a cozy "wood stove" style heater. The linens were always fresh and the property is spotless and well organized and set u[. Bob & Lee (owners) are kind, friendly and social and made me feel right at home. I had never stayed at a B&B but a friend encouraged me and I am glad she did. The Harkey House made being "on the road" much more tolerable and it was because of their "warm" friendly environment they promote there.

Room Tip: For a standalone room stay poolside in the cottage- if you are a typical B&B traveler you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

What a wonderful weekend getaway we enjoyed at the Harkey House. You feel welcomed and at home the moment you walk through the door. Beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished, this B&B is a place of sheer relaxation and pampering. The hosts, Bob and Lee, are incredible people who definetly have found their calling as proprietors of this awesome retreat. We loved the Tuscany Room, the bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. So many lovely and whimsical touches to see and enjoy throughout the house as well. Loved the comfy robes provided, too. Breakfast is a delightful experience! Wonderful vegetable frittata, fresh fruit and Bob's special French toast is perfect with a glass of champagne! It was very nice to enjoy conversation over breakfast getting to know our lovely hosts. Really look forward to a return trip to Harkey House. Highly recommend this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: The windows in the Tuscany Room over look the yard and pool, a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We enjoyed meeting both of you and appreciate the great review of our Harkey House Bed and Breakfast located in Yuba City. We look forward to seeing you and meeting some of your friends during your next stay.
The Best of the Holiday Season to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at this quaint bed and breakfast while visiting our daughter who lives in the area. It is a lovely Victorian house on a nice street of restored homes. The Inn keepers were super nice and very gracious. Both mornings they prepared a nice large full breakfast with juice and coffee. More than I could eat and made my husband very happy. The room was clean, quiet and good sized with a nice comfortable bed and down pillows. We stayed in the downstairs Tuscan room which has an easy access to the back pool and spa area. They have lots of seating options in this area and you can have your breakfast outside which would have been great to do if we had more time in the morning. My husband used the spa both evenings and was happy as a clam. This is a hidden gem and I highly recommend it. Thank you Bob and Lee!

Room Tip: Downstairs room has easy access to the pool and spa in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for writing the wonderful review of the Harkey B and B as these reviews help future guests make decisions on where to stay in Yuba City,CA. We enjoyed meeting both of you and hope you will try some other B and B,s along the way. Hope to see you again one day.

Bob and Lee Jones, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this as we are driving south on I-5 through Sacramento and already we have pleasant memories of our two stays with Lee & Bob during our eight day road trip to wonderful Oregon. Harkey House epitomizes what a B&B should be: welcoming, wonderful hosts, bery good location, fantastic food, comfortable rooms and great back yard. Lee may seem a bit businesslike at first, but she quickly warms up. Bob, a Marine (thank you for your service!) is instantly likeable and has great stories to tell. If we are ever near Yuba City (or even Sacramento, since there are no B&Bs this caliber), we will call Lee and Bob and hope they have kept the light on for us.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franki44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yuba City
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yuba City
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beale Air Force Base Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rio Inn and Suites
Rio Inn and Suites
#3 of 7 in Marysville
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Yuba City
79 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Marysville South
Motel 6 Marysville South
#5 of 7 in Marysville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harkey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harkey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Harkey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 212 C St, Yuba City, CA 95991
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yuba City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yuba City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Harkey House Bed and Breakfast is an elegant historical 1874 Victorian inn and the original home of Sheriff William Harkey, of Sutter County. It is located near a the Sutter Buttes, Gauche Aquatic Park, Feather River, restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the downtown area. There are 3 rooms and a cottage with private entrance. Marble fireplaces and all queen beds, private baths, WIFI, private outdoor spa, high count linens, TV,CD, and plush robes. Relax on the patio or in the privacy of your room. The cottage is pet friendly. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh fruit from our local Farmer's Market. Dishes are prepared with those with special food needs and served in the French Country dining room or poolside on the patio. Special Romance packages with silk rose petals on the bed, chocolates and champagne are available for purchase. "Voted the Best B and B" for five years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing