We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprisingly pleasant place to spend a night”
Review of Rodeway Inn Yreka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Yreka
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Like so many other travelers driving up or down I5 through northern California, we drove into Yreka late at night just needing a quiet, restful place to spend the night. There are plenty of hotels/motels in this small town, but we decided to try the Rodeway Inn and were pleasantly surprised at the value and quality of our stay. This is a small single-story motel convenient to the freeway (but not too close) and to all of Yreka. It is run by a husband-and-wife couple, Harry and Ranjan, who really take pride in offering great service and a clean, well-maintained quiet place to stay. The rooms are of average size, but are well appointed with microwaves and refrigerators. They have rooms with king-sized beds all the way to rooms with three beds of doubles or queen sizes for families. There are several covered parking spaces (first come) as well as plenty of convenient parking and the whole property is clean and neat. Since all the rooms are in single-story buildings, you won't hear people walking in the room above you and the walls are brick/block, so you don't hear the people next to you. They include a light breakfast of cereal, rolls, toast, apples, coffee/tea, orange juice, and milk. They have a smallish swimming pool available, too. The showers had lots of hot water available and they have installed the extensions to the shower heads to lift them higher a few inches, which is much appreciated by us tall people. Overall, the high level of personal, friendly service and clean, quiet, well-appointed rooms made this a place we'd definitely consider to stay at again if our travels bring us back through Yreka. A special tip: pick up a copy of the free Travelers Hotel Coupon book at a McDonald's or other locations along your way to get the best rate at this Rodeway Inn. The coupon rate was about $5-$10 cheaper than AAA or AARP (our rate for the two of us was about $46 for the night in August of 2012).

Room Tip: The room in the "200" series building are right next to the covered parking spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly person in the office at check in, our room was quiet, clean and almost exactly as shown on the internet. Considering the price we felt this was one on the best deals we have found in a long time

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank ColfaxBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Room was clean and cute, except for the telephone which was really dirty. I always wipe down remote, phone, door knobs, and switches anyway. `Big lawn area at rear for dogs to romp. Seemed well kept and didn't feel seedy or inhabited by anyone but travelers like myself who want a safe, quiet place to sleep half way through a road trip. The owners are kind people and obviously take pride in their property. I was happy with what I got for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Powerful_Katrinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place was obviously an old Mom and Pop motel back in the day. Cinderblock construction (painted white) - it just looked ancient. Perhaps more importantly, with this type of construction, electrical outlets are at a premium. There was a floor lamp in the back corner of the room just sitting there unplugged. Also, there was a 6-8ft extension cord that serviced the coffemaker, microwave and fridge. (Not exactly what the fire code dictates) About half the motel rooms have been gutted, presumably for remodelling. Room smelled odd, almost mildewy. There was a coating of dust on the TV, coffee maker and fridge. I wondered when the last time someone stayed in room 215. You almost had to be a video expert to get the TV to work right. Glad I have a VISIO TV back home. Bathroom was adequate - but for the price we paid, the place was the worst value we experienced on our vacation. One bright spot...parking is under a carport directly in front of your room.

Room Tip: One suggestion...stay at this place in about a year when all the remodeling is done. Give it a pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Friendly manager....convenient rooms you can drive right up to....clean....comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend eating at or ordering food from nearby Italian restaurant, Strings which was recommended by the manager of the motel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albernfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

If you need a room in Yreka.... you will not be disappointed. The rooms are very basic in appearance but they are spotless and well appointed. We arrived late evening on a road trip from San Francisco to Vancouver Island and were not expecting much as we normally try to stay more along Courtyard lines or La Quinta at least...but we were tired.
Anyway, the manager has heavy accent but is a truly great guy!! This is a family business and their care, attention and pride shows in how they have made this a wonderful spot. My daughter left a favored pillow there and the manager went "above and beyond" to ensure it was shipped back to Canada for her ....and it arrived today. Truly would highly recommend this place and these wonderful people.

Room Tip: #215 was very quiet with full ammenities...not expected for price range. Say a warm hello to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Cormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I was very pleased at how clean the room was and since the hotel is brick, it offers privacy (silence). It was decent size and of course, had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally, there is a carport in which to park directly in front of your room. That was a nice convenience especially if the weather isn't so nice. The owner/manager was extremely nice and very accomodating. This room was surprisingly low priced - we've paid double for rooms that weren't half as clean and convenient. We were pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmvigorito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yreka hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yreka
Comfort Inn Yreka
#8 of 12 in Yreka
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area
1 mi away
Best Western Miner's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Yreka
Econo Lodge Yreka
#7 of 12 in Yreka
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Yreka
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Yreka
Super 8 Yreka
#2 of 12 in Yreka
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Yreka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Yreka

Address: 1235 S Main St, Yreka, CA 96097-3410
Location: United States > California > Yreka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Price Range: $60 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Yreka 1.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Yreka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yreka Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing