We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very reasonable for a night stay only”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
1 review
“Very reasonable for a night stay only”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros: good price and location.
New and clean bathroom.
Rooms provide fridge and microwave. Hot and cold water are working fine.
Separate sink from bathroom
Friendly and welcome staff even I arrived at the hotel around midnight.
The air conditioner is working too well. Quiet. Comfy bed
Cons: strains on floors,
Bed sheet and box spring.The shower is quite too low for a tall person. Itchy blanket.
The room I got is exactly like the pictures. Not exaggerated at all.
I will definitely use this place to rest for a trip from CA to Portland, OR.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantmorefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
22
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our destination was Mt. Shasta, coming from the south. We chose to drive another 30 miles for a better rating, not to mention far better price. I wouldn't hesitate to choose this inn again. Friendly staff, peaceful location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas,Wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arriving late in the afternoon, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the gracious welcome we received from the receptionist. We asked to see the room before accepting and were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. Amenities included refrigerator, hair dryer, good channel selection on the tv and close proximity to several good restaurants. We would definitely consider staying here again if we were in Yreka.

Room Tip: I would always ask to see the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie513Camas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Forget all those high priced motels in town. Check out the Mountain View Inn. It's clean, has a micro, fridge and coffee maker. The cable selection is very good (except they don't carry my favorite channel CNBC). The internet is fast. Park in front of your room. The owners are very nice. The rates are very reasonable at under $50 for a single. I stay at 200 motels a year and I wish they were all like this one. A diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_S36669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain View Inn in April 2013. This is a budget motel - but the value and quality exceeded our expectations. We just needed an inexpensive place for one night driving thru from Sacramento to Portland. The staff was very friendly with a welcome smile, the room was very clean, amenities included cable tv, microwave & fridge, and a comfortable bed. Bathroom was very clean which is remarkable for an older building. We will save the Mountain View Inn in our address book for use on another trip to Portland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here last December 20212 on our way to SoCal and this month on our way home to BC. The price was right for an overnight stay. The bed is comfortable, the sheets are clean and the bathroom is spotless. Check in is quick, the front desk person is cheerful and seems happy to see you. This is in a quiet end of town and you won't hear any freeway noise here.

This is an old motel and the bathrooms show their age. Room 105 has a noisy refrigerator which we unplugged. There are no good restaurants within walking distance. But despite all these, this is the only place we'd stay overnight in Yreka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Check inn was quick enough, rooms and motel seemed clean enough. No coffee machine in rooms and the front desk didn't open until 7am ( we like to be on our way by at least 6:30) Shower was bad, had to run around to get wet. The WiFi was bad, could only use one machine at a time and even then it was slow.
Would I stay there again? Maybe. At least it was close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yreka hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Miner's Inn
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Yreka
Econo Lodge Yreka
#6 of 12 in Yreka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Yreka
Rodeway Inn Yreka
#5 of 12 in Yreka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yreka
Comfort Inn Yreka
#7 of 12 in Yreka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Yreka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 801 N Main St, Yreka, CA 96097-2538
Location: United States > California > Yreka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are very clean and are very suitable and all rooms have hairdryer, coffee, and you also have access to high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing