We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average Dinner”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Yreka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Grapeview, Washington
Level Contributor
557 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Below Average Dinner”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at other Black Bear Diners and enjoyed them so I was looking forward to dinner after a long day of driving. This one was definitely a below average experience. It was very busy and the service had a hectic feel to it. The food itself wasn't very flavorful. Was disappointing after looking forward to a good meal all day. Won't plan on stopping here again.

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    94
    43
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten. At this diner many times and this time it was a bit disappointing. The chicken taco salad was decent. The veggie flatbread sandwich was drenched in a dressing that made the burger hard to taste. The service was decent but there have been more personable staff on hand. If this was my only experience the. I wouldn't return. Overall the food has been hearty and good... And the staff persona le.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not up to the typical Black Bear Diner”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stopped for lunch while traveling north on I-5, Yreka. We have eaten at other Black Bear Diners and always been satisfied. This one was a disappointment. It was early afternoon but I still wanted an omelet. The hash browns were more like dried sawdust that had been overcooked for several hours. If you advertise breakfast all day, at least make it edible which this wasn't. The butter on the toast even tasted stale. My wife had a "half sandwich" with soup of the day and a side of fries. The soup was a broccoli/cheese that at first was delicious and then became overbearing. The half sandwich was a whole sandwich and the fries completely covered the sandwich plate. The portions were huge but the food wasn't good. If you don't care what you eat then there was plenty to eat. This was our second and now last time for us at this Black Bear.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“may 13”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The chicken club with Bacon and avocado was delicious,
lemonade was not too sweet &
potato salad was just like my mom made!
I wished I had room for the BlackBerry Cobbler - next time I will save room!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much food!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Bring your appetite for sure! We ate here since it was close by to the Motel 6. OMGosh so much food...when you order either make sure you are super hungry or that you split it with another person.

The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing