We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome fun atmosphere!! Great food and service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Yreka
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome fun atmosphere!! Great food and service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

In May 2012, my husband and I flew into San Francisco and took a drive up the California/Oregon coastline on our way to Seattle then to Yosemite. When we were in the Mt. Shasta area, we were driving through Yreka and seeking out a good breakfast place when we saw a cute diner with a black bear theme. There were wooden black bear statues outside and even the name was called Black Bear Diner. When inside, we were expecting a Denny's-type eatery with a few bear figurines here and there BUT, there were black bears EVERYWHERE!! It was a great change of pace from the typical diner experience!

Our table was set with a "newspaper" souvenir menu called The Black Bear Gazette, there were bears on the condiments, plates, cups, walls, bathroom, etc. Even the waitress and host had fun with the whole theme and smiled as we took it all in. The food and service were really good, and the prices were pretty reasonable too!

Apparently, there are several Black Bear Diner locations in the Northwestern U.S. but I have never heard of them! If I encounter a Black Bear Diner again, I will definitely give it a try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runningcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    91
    39
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Always a good stop when travelling I-5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This Black Bear Diner is a good choice for some good 'down home' cooking. The portions are huge so splitting a meal may be a good option for most folks. We had about 15 people in our group and the wait staff did an excellent job - even provided separate checks. The senior dinners are very reasonable (as all the prices are) and the portions on the senior meals are even large.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

When traveling through Yreka California, stop at the Black Bear Diner which is right off of the freeway. The food is fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Service was average. The Bear theme is somewhat entertaining. I would eat here instead of a fast-food place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well made confort food for travelers and locals alike. A favorite for both.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Food portions are generous and foods are prepared from scratch. Service is good. Many takeout items. Coffee is good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Food was unexceptional, the selection was limited, and the diner closes too early. I did love the local historical pictures displayed on the walls.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PjD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing