We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic dinner & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc
Reserve with OpenTable
Ad Hoc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had an amazing four course menu with wine pairing at Ad Hoc. The service was tremendous and the food was delicious. The atmosphere in the restaurant was great. We will definitely try this restaurant again next time we are in Yountville.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    239
    143
    53
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The crime of under seasoning, dismissive staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had Sunday brunch at Ad Hoc and the experience was very mixed. Upon entering, the hostess was terribly rude and dismissive in getting our 3 reservations seated. The wait staff were lined up ready to take you to a table which was very well orchestrated and you can tell that there is a real theater to the presentation which is great. Unfortunately as with theater it is only an act. Our neighboring table had terrible service, the waiter forgot to put in there order or offer them the morning cocktail from the menu.

The first course was a wonderful salad with amazingly fresh and ripe veggies, especially the heirloom tomatoes and watermelon cubes. The second course of Egg Hock McMuffins were very dry and under seasoned. The dish was missing a wet component that could have been solved with slightly soft poached eggs. The muffins themselves were very dry, bland, and nearly inedible. An optional add on of mac nut pancakes were however delicious. For dessert a lemon pound cake was the star of the meal. The also have great coffe served in a French press.

Overall, I'm not sure i would go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedDogStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very near perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was not our first meal at Ad Hoc, but it requires hours of flight and driving and I want to go back as soon as possible. If you are not familiar with the format, the serve one prix fixe four course meal. They sometimes offer an 'extra item' you may add. Be sure your appetite is keen if you elect extras!! All four courses were excellent. The hallmark of a Keller restaurant is astonishingly high quality ingredients perfectly prepared. They did not disappoint from the Arugula fresh from the garden with heirlooms tomatoes and stuffed squash with tapenade as a appetizer, the veal (schnitzel) with garlic mash and top hat carrots, the cheese course, and the amazing ice cream sundae. The service was impeccable and the ambience is very upbeat. They have a great wine list but a bit high end. We took our own and paid the corkage fee of $25. If you want a hint on how to pair the menu is available online during the day. We love this restuarant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy in my tummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Repeat visit for me but the bf's first time. And he got lucky with fried chicken on the menu on the night we went! We had a table meant for 4 against the window to ourselves which was really nice. We decided to be fatty and opt-in for the supplemental for the night, which was pork short rib carbonara. OMG I was obsessed with the house-made fettuccine! It was so soft and tender that I swooped in and ate the rest of the BF's. Luckily he was more in love with the fired chicken so he willingly gave up the pasta.

With the supplemental it was a bit too much food for us, so we ended up taking some of the fried chicken back. Not a problem since next-day cold chicken was just as delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnsasf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Flawless food and presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

First visit to Thomas Keller's restaurant. Except for fried chicken Monday, their prix fixe four course menu is a roll of the dice which can influence one's review of the food. We were fortunate as lamb was their featured menu item the evening we dined there. We were promptly seated upon our arrival and our waiter, in great detail, explained the course offerings. Amazingly, our waiter Dan recognized my wife from his years at Bistro Jeanty where he worked until two years ago, so there was a nice personal connection for our service. All-around, the service from the entire wait-staff, including Dan was just outstanding.

I have read some of the critical reviews of Keller's restaurants including Bouchon and French Laundry and while not having eaten in the latter, I find most of the criticism of the food surrounding it concerning the lack of a "wow" factor. We have dined at many excellent restaurants where no one particular item left us saying, "...this is the best salad, or entrée or desert we have ever eaten..." . Our meal here was simply flawless with each item carefully presented and the food offering a perfect balance of subtle tastes not to either hide or enhance the food, but rather to compliment it. The quality of our lamb was incredible and the mixture of herbs and sauce allowed for a perfect meal.

We will absolutely eat at Ad Hoc again and highly recommend it for a more downscale version of Keller's food empire.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ad Hoc also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Ad Hoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing