We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redd

Redd
Reserve with OpenTable
Redd is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

There were 7 of us including teenagers, and everyone loved their meal. I had the panzanella salad special to start and it was great. I had the halibut as my main course, and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. The drinks were good, the dessert was good, the staff was friendly, and the atmosphere was wonderful. What more can you ask for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    312
    133
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my second time at Redd, and was as impressed with their lunch as much as with dinner last time.

Our food was excellent, especially scallops, but it is our waiter, who made this meal a special experience. Not only she gave wonderful recommendations for wine and food, but also was able to balance entertaining with giving us space to chat and enjoy our lunch.

I would absolutely be back and wholeheartedly recommend Redd to all my foodie friends!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Yountville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Couldn’t get a table at French Laundry. So tried one of the recommendations by Thomas Keller, Redd. It was a great restaurant with modern cuisine. Ambience and service were great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dadefung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This restaurant is located directly across the street from Villagio hotel and offers a fantastic menu and atmosphere!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nmirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not everyone takes their food this seriously”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Wanted to try because of such great reviews and went to Redd on our first night in town. Atmosphere was almost too minimal even for my taste but clean and white. Very subdued crowd.

After looking at the menu, we decided this was going to cost over $200 and there wasn't even anything we were dying to taste. Sure we may be more simple that those "foodie bloggers" out there, but we've been to enough places to know what high quality, creative food can be.

So, we decided to just share a couple of appetizers and then wander Yountville for our main course. The appetizers were really very good. The tuna tartare was fun and fresh. The duck confit was also delicious. Even for an appetizer the portions were small though. My husband was planning on ordering the steak if we stayed. We saw it being served to the table next to ours and were glad we were leaving. It looked tasty but the portion was small. He would have certainly left hungry.

Bottom line, this is a beautiful place with some serious food. Just isn't what we were looking for.

Helpful?
Thank Crlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redd also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Redd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing