We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed the Mark”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Etoile - CLOSED

Etoile
Cuisines: French, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: étoile is one of Napa Valley’s most celebrated destinations and the only fine dining restaurant in Napa Valley located in a winery. An extraordinary setting, innovative regional California cuisine with a French influence, and seamless service combine to create the ultimate food and wine experience. At étoile, Chef Perry Hoffman marries classic, French-influenced technique with contemporary culinary innovation and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Hoffman works closely with Chandon winemakers to explore the interplay between wine and food, enhancing the experience of both. Guests may dine a la carte, or explore the ultimate food and wine pairing experience through Chef Hoffman's tasting menus at lunch and dinner. The restaurant features a Wine Spectator "Best of" Award Wine list and received a Michelin star in the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Michelin Guide after being recommended in 2007, 2008, and 2009.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Missed the Mark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This menu and kitchen over reaches what they can deliver. Beautiful location. Attended later in the evening and the grounds have a magical appeal. May be unfair to eat lunch at a Michelin one star and follow up at Etoile. With all that it has going for it the food does not measure up to the dining room. There isn't the flavour where it should be. Some portions are so large they are inappropriate. I watched food returning to the kitchen from other tables that relieved my conscience in not finishing my food. There are some very nice courses or parts of courses, some of which are small offerings from the chef and not on the menu. In summary would need to have a good reason to return, notwithstanding the beauty of the surroundings.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jcpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    75
    20
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal after an unexplained wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

On a drive through the Sonoma and Napa Valleys, we stopped at Domaine Chandon's Étoile for a late lunch. Our dishes were delicious and stunningly presented - we shared the Dungeness crab to start before moving to the duck and the sole dishes as our mains. Special mention goes to the caramelised pear mille-feuille with brandy butterscotch sauce and almond toffee - a specialty of the pastry chef who has worked at Étoile for 35 years, according to our server. We recommend enjoying the fresh air and relaxing ambiance by choosing a table outside on the patio, especially on a fine summery day.

Our only complaint would be the rather lengthy delay before being shown to a table by the attendant at the front desk, during which we were handed a menu to examine, and then directed to sit in a corner of the reception to wait. Having finally been seated outside, there was also quite a wait before we were attended upon by our server or offered any water. This said, once he had introduced himself to us and begun the proceedings for our meal, the server was extremely friendly, helpful and made sure things ran smoothly right to the last drop of wine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirBongobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
642 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Best Meal I Have Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We hosted a large group dinner here and it was absolutely perfect, everyone of our guests walked alway over the moon. We started with some passed appetizers on the patio and it was beautiful night and the food was great. It only got better from there, we had a four course meal in a private room and it was flawless. Normally when we do these things service can be average since they know they are getting the auto-gratuity anyway, but not here, we probably had one server for every two people. All the courses were served at the same time to everyone in the party and the food was all cooked perfectly, which can be a challenge sometimes.

The food was phenomenal, the courses were inventive and extremely tasty. My favorite though was the berry tart at the end of the meal, it was the best dessert I have ever had. This is a must go when in the Napa area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Pretty nice view while you are enjoying the drinks.
Good quality of champagne.
The bartender was friendly

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maruca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a very enjoyable meal at Etoile. My wife's plain salad starter (special request which was happily satisfied) and scallop main course were both very good. My melon salad starter had a very interesting flavor and my veal main course was high quality meat perfectly prepared. The excellent food was matched with excellent wine and excellent service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank psdpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing