We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sparkling Winery”
Review of Etoile - CLOSED

Etoile
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: étoile is one of Napa Valley’s most celebrated destinations and the only fine dining restaurant in Napa Valley located in a winery. An extraordinary setting, innovative regional California cuisine with a French influence, and seamless service combine to create the ultimate food and wine experience. At étoile, Chef Perry Hoffman marries classic, French-influenced technique with contemporary culinary innovation and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Hoffman works closely with Chandon winemakers to explore the interplay between wine and food, enhancing the experience of both. Guests may dine a la carte, or explore the ultimate food and wine pairing experience through Chef Hoffman's tasting menus at lunch and dinner. The restaurant features a Wine Spectator "Best of" Award Wine list and received a Michelin star in the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Michelin Guide after being recommended in 2007, 2008, and 2009.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Sparkling Winery”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We made a special trip to enjoy Domaine Chandon with friends from France and enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon on the terrace enjoying a flight of sparkling wine. Sun was shining, the winds had not yet picked up, the wine was excellent, the setting superb. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and made the trip worthwhile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LBlank-SalinasCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    75
    20
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Casual Elegance”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Out friends from Texas were visiting Napa and we wanted to take them somewhere fabulous for a long quiet dinner. We were originally disappointed when we could not sit outside, as the evening was wonderful, but our table in the dining room captured much of the view an was quiet enough that we could actually talk to each other, a real treat for us old folks! We each had different courses of the Tasting Menu,and the food was excellent! Many diffferent tastes, perfectly prepared and presented. Wine pairings were delightful and we tasted many things I would never have picked. Especially enjoyed the Scribe Chardonnay and the Dom Chandon Pinot Meunier. Our waiter was attentive and responsive and actually smart enough to admit when he did not know something. Absolutely one of the best meals, and evenings, we have ever had. a much better experience than that other upscale restaurant in Yountville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PINONVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandonUSA, Public Relations Manager at Etoile, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for joining us. Chef Perry Hoffman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the sparkling wine!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent a lovely morning in beautiful surroundings sampling sparkling wines. Even received a complimentary pair of champagne flutes, which I will enjoy using!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nuwest222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, vibrant tasting experience.”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Tasting room was contemporary and bright- tasting staff very personable and engaging. We may have wanted to take a tour, but all the times online seemed to be booked.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Absolutely Beautiful! Don't miss this one. Tasting is expensive but experience is worth it. The champagne is to die for!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3redhedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing