We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful cuisine in a relaxed modern setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etoile - CLOSED

Etoile
Cuisines: French, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: étoile is one of Napa Valley’s most celebrated destinations and the only fine dining restaurant in Napa Valley located in a winery. An extraordinary setting, innovative regional California cuisine with a French influence, and seamless service combine to create the ultimate food and wine experience. At étoile, Chef Perry Hoffman marries classic, French-influenced technique with contemporary culinary innovation and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Hoffman works closely with Chandon winemakers to explore the interplay between wine and food, enhancing the experience of both. Guests may dine a la carte, or explore the ultimate food and wine pairing experience through Chef Hoffman's tasting menus at lunch and dinner. The restaurant features a Wine Spectator "Best of" Award Wine list and received a Michelin star in the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Michelin Guide after being recommended in 2007, 2008, and 2009.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Colourful cuisine in a relaxed modern setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We dined here on a whim after some relatively disapointing wine tasting around the local area (wont go into that now). Despite looking and bahaving like the typical tourists we were (SLR upon shoulder and flip flops upon feet), we were welcomed by the staff politely and ushered into the small dining area. The setting and ambience suited the style and quality of the food and we ordered a starter and a main each. The stand out dishes were the wild salmon main and the pate starter. The disapointing dish was the pasta which was tasteless and very uninspired for a french michelin starred restaurant.

Overall the food was bright, clean, and used amazing produce. Personally I prefer food that is a little more challenging but it certainly fitted the bill for lunch.

We found the value pretty good and would happily dine there again (perhaps this time minus the flip flops)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Edinburgh_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    75
    20
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having always enjoyed Chandon bubbly, we decided to visit during our recent trip to SF/Sonoma. We were wowed as soon as we got out of the car and headed towards the property. We had made a reservation for lunch and were promptly seated outside on the terrace, even though we were 15 minutes late. Absolutely beautiful setting - hard to beat!
The service was excellent and our servers were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a glass of bubbly, my husband had the oysters which he said were delicious and then we shared a charcuterie plate (plenty for 2!!) with lovely bread and crostini and the recommended bottle of red. Everything was delicious. Had coffee and desert (Caramelized Pear Mille-Feuille) and again, have nothing but good things to say about the food, wine, service and lovely grounds.
The wine store was nice and staff was also very helpful.
Not an inexpensive lunch but it was lovely!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GyspySoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very Special Place with awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Want to impress your guests with an unbelievable lunch in the wine country? Etoile Restaurant at Domaine Chandon is it. Whenever anyone extra special comes in town, this is where I like to take them. Great Food, awesome wine and a beautiful dining experience and exceptional service; especially nice when its warm and they are serving on the patio and you can gaze at the garden. This is a restaurant that in the 25+ years that I have been going here, has NEVER disappointed me. I love having lunch there. Reservations are always a good thing to have to insure a good table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthere001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a way to while away an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've been going to Chandon for many years. It's the first place we always stop in the Valley to slowly decompress and prepare ourselves to enjoy the beauty and peace of the Valley. The gardens are beautiful, the staff pleasant, the wines excellent, and there is nothing better than sitting on the terrace, sipping wine, eating a little nosh, and forgetting the outside world.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

On arrival you know it's going to be a good location. The atmosphere is just great , we eat outside on a slightly cooler day everyone was wearing a jacket or sweater but still it was very nice. Presentation is great and so was the service , this was during lunch time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_fr0m_Calif0rnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing