We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular evening at Etoile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etoile - CLOSED

Etoile
Cuisines: French, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: étoile is one of Napa Valley’s most celebrated destinations and the only fine dining restaurant in Napa Valley located in a winery. An extraordinary setting, innovative regional California cuisine with a French influence, and seamless service combine to create the ultimate food and wine experience. At étoile, Chef Perry Hoffman marries classic, French-influenced technique with contemporary culinary innovation and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Hoffman works closely with Chandon winemakers to explore the interplay between wine and food, enhancing the experience of both. Guests may dine a la carte, or explore the ultimate food and wine pairing experience through Chef Hoffman's tasting menus at lunch and dinner. The restaurant features a Wine Spectator "Best of" Award Wine list and received a Michelin star in the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Michelin Guide after being recommended in 2007, 2008, and 2009.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular evening at Etoile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chose Etoile for a birthday dinner. The restaurant space itself is modern in style and somewhat noisy, but that is just the way things are in restaurants these days. We chose the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings. The food was wonderful, nice clean tastes with every bite bursting with flavor. The food was inventive but not so strange as to be off putting. Everything was fantastic. The wine pairings were perfect for each course. The chef recommends more than just Chandon wines though the one we had with duck was excellent. We later sought out one of the wineries to buy a wine that we had with dinner. Overall a spectacular experience in one of the prettiest wineries in the Valley.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moonberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    75
    20
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We decided to have a very quick impromptu bite to eat on a Sunday whilst waiting to the 3pm Winery Tour. It was 2:30pm and we advised the wait staff we would like to make the 3pm tour and whether there was any way to get some food in that time.
The staff were amazing, everyone knew we needed to be out of the door soon so were very prompt, food and drinks came out in perfect timing and the speed of the service had no effect on the quality at all. We ordered a seafood platter and Polenta Chips, both were delicious.
Would definitely love to return and have a proper meal here in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice bar, beautiful grounds, great champagne...Very close to downtown Yountville, also the meeting place for Napa Valley balloons...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Turquoise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Etoile's food was really exquisite. Each dish was beautifully presented. Each dish was composed of numerous small parts, each beautifully executed and arranged. Everything we had was stellar. About the only surprise was the offered wine pairing. The pairing turned out to be 3 half glasses of wines. At $65 for the pairing, it was the same price as 3 individual full glasses of the the same 3 wines. When we questioned this, the restaurant immediately changed our order to 3 full glasses.
We might suggest going to this restaurant for a leisurly afternoon lunch. Then you could sit outside, enjoying the view, and the grounds, while sipping the wonderful Chandon champaignes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

etoile is located in Domaine Chandon's winery, which is known for its sparkling wines and its sublime views of the surrounding Napa hills and valley. As a Michelin-starred restaurant, you should set your expectations high and be prepared to pay for the experience. (If your wallet is a bit light, try the small plates at the wine tasting bar - they come from the restaurant and are truly wonderful little bites of inspired genius.) We are wine club members at Domaine Chandon, so we dine regularly at etoile, and have never been disappointed. The menu changes regularly and dishes are always prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients by a delightfully creative and highly-skilled Chef and kitchen team. Service is perfection, quiet, unintrusive, and always prompt. The duck confit is pure delight, the house charcuterie is divine, and desserts are always special treats. The plating is artful and whimsical, but not overly so. The wine list is now on iPad, very extensive and fairly priced. Sit back, enjoy the amazing views, and have the dining experience of your dreams.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FPepoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing