We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better service anywhere”
Review of The French Laundry

The French Laundry
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $240
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Creek Street
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No better service anywhere”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

IF this restaurant is on your bucket list THEN you must go. Sauces BEST, quality of the fish (sole, salmon, lobster) we found lacking BUT that's probably because we just returned from Tasmania. We don 't think there is a better dish anywhere IN THE WORLD than the poached oysters…. stupendous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 091380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    173
    121
    62
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bucket list, CHECK!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Unbelievable experience. I have wanted to go since the moment I learned about it. I called to get reservations and was wait listed. We were in Napa for an awards trip and our group just happened to have a reservation.

The dinner was like theatre, an orchestrated event. The food was phenomenal, I doubt I'll ever have a meal like it again and I'm very grateful I was able to go. The foodie inside me was dancing all night. It must have been 16 courses and each one was divine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sustained Excellence!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ten year from its inception the French Laundry is still an outstanding experience worth paying $1200 for dinner. I would prefer if they decorated the bare walls but besides the drab decor the food and service are among the best in the world

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William_Clark_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end my twenties and start my 30s”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I took a trip to Napa/SF for my 30th. I really really wanted to get reservations at the famous French Laundry so I tried American Express concierge/Visa Signature, but to no avail. I finally just called for about an hour and got through-approximately 50 calls. I felt like I won the lottery when there was a reservation for two available for the dates we were traveling. This meal was incredible. I did the vegetarian option and I was not disappointed. It is a steep price for vegetables, but it WOW. Simply WOW. We enjoyed the presentation and taste and flavor combinations of the food was unlike anything we've ever had. Even more impressive was the level of unsurpassed service by the wait staff. Undoubtedly they take their work seriously with a lot of pride as they precisely explained the composition and components of each dish. Their knowledge about the dishes was impressive and they were friendly/accommodating as well. PERFECT 30th celebration.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shivie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better Than I Imagined”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My fiancée and I had an unforgettable dinner at The French Laundry on the day of our engagement. They immediately congratulated us when we arrived and several more times after we were seated. The entire staff, especially Alex, was friendly and knowledgeable. The tasting menu was wonderful. Each dish was creative, unique, and amazing. The wine that was recommended to us by Alex paired perfectly with the meal. We look forward to another wonderful meal at The French Laundry next time we are in Napa Valley.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd_512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Laundry also viewed

 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to The French Laundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing