We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the world's best for a reason” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Laundry

The French Laundry
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Laundry is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $240
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Creek Street
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the world's best for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our first year anniversary by having dinner at The French Laundry. Not only was our meal exception but the attention to detail blew us away. Upon receiving our menus we noticed they were personalized and congratulated us on our first year anniversary. What a wonderful momento! Dining at The French Laundry is not just receiving a meal, but an experience.

The reviewer who complained about the dress code obviously does not know what kind of standard this restaurant has. There is no a way a restaurant with *three* Michelin stars would allow flip flops and jeans in their dining area. There's plenty of cheap chain restaurants you can go to for that. I appreciate that this restaurant has a high standard.

Exceptional!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    172
    116
    58
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Laundered French food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the only fast food restaurant that demands men to wear jackets. Mediocre food at stellar prices. If only they would devote the same amount of energy on food and guests as they do on complicating reservations and elaborating the dress code! This is the wrong type of engineering!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
23 Thank DVonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food at the French Laundry is so outstanding you are not likely to find much better anywhere on the planet. Unfortunately, the restaurant offers only a purported 13-course meal that turns out to be many more courses, so many, in fact, that we left feeling uncomfortably overstuffed, like a French goose about to become foie gras. I also found it disconcerting that every course was indecipherable. In addition, after we left the restaurant, my wife came down with food poisoning, most likely due to an undercooked “poached” egg. It is hard for me to imagine the size of the stomach someone must have in order to eat that much food in one sitting. If the French Laundry would consider offering a more civilized 3-course meal, we might reconsider, but as it is currently constructed, for us, The French Laundry will remain an only once in a lifetime experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GregoryLShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“French Laundry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our second dinner at the French Laundry. We have also dined in New York at Per Se. The quality of the menu items, service, presentation at all of Keller's restaurants is impeccable. The wait staff is out standing. The execution of the extraordinary service requires a great deal of discipline and attention to detail yet they are also warm and friendly. This is truly an outstanding restaurant which provides a life long memory that sets the standard for excellence.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A new criterion for a 5 out of 5!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were invited there as guests for a friends 60th birthday party (Party of 8 - private dining upstairs with meals and wine pairing)... it was truly one of the most incredible experiences I have ever had with food, wine, service and attention to detail. I have a new definition for a 5 out of 5! Phenomenal on all levels! Not pretentious, wonderful setting, and don't forget to visit the FL garden (across the street) the next day to see where all those incredible veggies are grown...great birding at that garden! Go Go Go for that once in a life time experience! I can't begin to describe the 16 + courses....incredible!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peppy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Laundry also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to The French Laundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing