We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bucket List” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Laundry

The French Laundry
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Laundry is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $240
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Creek Street
Level Contributor
162 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Bucket List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Our son took us out to dinner at French Laundry last night. The food and experience was like we heard - it was a must do bucket list item. The food and service was excellent! Had a ten course meal. Costly, but well worth every dollar. The servings were small, but very filling and tasty. We were served by at least eight different servers in addition to our waiter.
After the dinner, we took a tour of the kitchen. To top everything off, they gave us a bag that had tins of shortbread cookies and a box of six pieces of chocolate. The restaurant is well deserving of their 3 star Michelin rating,

I hope to go again one day.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    168
    114
    57
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine dining to the 9th!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My second visit to this exquisite dining establishment. Must say that the service outdid the food, which is on it's own spectacular. Expect stuffiness, formality and a very expensive tab. As long as you know that going into the experience that the French Laundry will live up to its reputation. This little intimate restaurant in Yountville has amassed numerous accolades and well deserved. The Oysters and Pearls is by far my favorite course, following that was the Duck and Pork Belly (to replace the Snake River RibEye). Dessert just kept on coming....I felt like Marie Antoinette once it was all over. Everyone should experience the French Laundry at least once in their lives.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Service excellence beyond reproach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This restaurant is meticulous about their service. Be prepared to sit down and be absolutely treated like a king or queen. No request is too big or too small. But it comes with a handsome price tag. Several wait staff attend to your every need and the food is presented in art form and exquisitely prepared. Everyone at the table receives their meal at the same time in a silver dome plate. I will caution you that if you like meat, go for the regular menu. I ordered the vegetarian menu and it was the same price as the regular menu which included lobster, veal, lamb, sea bass, you name it and I only got small servings of tiny vegetables. So that is my only caveat. It is a very special treat but be prepared to pay for it. Extensive and most impressive wine list I have ever seen. They are booked solid for a reason. Be sure to make reservations months in advance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We woke up three mornings in a row at 5am two months before we wanted to go to get a booking at the restaurant. On the third day we finally got in and how glad we were, it was worth the early morning wake ups!
The restaurant lives up to its reputation, the service, the food and the ambiance was fantastic.
On the morning of our booking we walked to the kitchen garden across the road to watch the gardeners working; it was amazing to think that we would be eating the produce they were tending that night! There really isn't anything I could fault the waiters engaged with us as soon as we walked in and were very attentive throughout the night. The food was exceptional, the flavours unbelievable, it was an absolute pleasure that I would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hot inrestairant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good better then most.. the neg was the dining room was very hot food great like all 3 times I havebeen here

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelf0rfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Laundry also viewed

 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to The French Laundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing