We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Jeanty

Bistro Jeanty
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Jeanty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $80
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mulberry
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
517 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Superb birthday dinner”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I celebrated my birthday and napa and had a wonderful dinner here. We made reservations online the day of and were seated promptly. The service was exceptional and so was the food. We started with the duck confit and a beet salad. Then finished up with the steak tar tar (generous portion) and the pork shoulder (which was delicious and tender). Overall great experience. Not pretentious at all considering the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,183
    489
    147
    45
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The crown of Yountville...better than the French Laundry!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I come here for my birthday each year! This is my favorite restaurant in Northern California! Love the ambiance! Everything I've ordered on the menu has been excellent. They make it their business to do things right. The rib eye steak, mashed potatoes, tomato soup en croute, butter lettuce salad, spinach side and chocolaté crémé brûlée are outstanding.
Service, atmosphere & food quality can only be described with superlatives!
A little slice of Burgundy in Yountville....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ballymahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
165 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent, rustic French bistro”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Visited as a group in early 2013.

Though we visited some time ago, though I'd add our review given it was a very positive experience at Bistro Jeanty. It is on Washington Street in Yountville amidst the crowds of restaurants--but you can identify it by a steady crowd. The restaurant itself is casually decorated, yet fairly peaceful for a bistro.

I ordered the bone marrow (a special) and the pork shoulder with a side of spinach. Overall, just astoundingly excellent. The dishes were seasoned and rich--full on French. The bone marrow was cooked to perfection--easy to access, rich, fatty, and a perfect compliment to the toasted baguettes. As marrow is rich but lacking flavor compared to meat, they introduced a rich, brothy sauce which just elevated the dish. This was probably one of the best preparations of marrow I've had. The pork shoulder was slow cooked to a melting tenderness and could probably have be split like tender pulled pork. To balance any dryness, a rich gravy was again provided on top a base of sprouts and butternut squash... also just excellent.

I also tried the other appetizers. Pig feet was also slow cooked and just falling off the bone. The richness and fattiness of the feet was balanced by a bed of vegetables. The soup was nicely tangy and rich, perfectly matched by the pastry crust. My companions were also deeply impressed by their mains.

Overall, an excellent place to get down-to-earth no-holds-barred rich and wholesome French bistro food. Bistro Jeanty's art is in preparing classic French dishes to perfect flavor and consistency. A star in Yountville.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notoriouslyFat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville. CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We keep coming back and back and back...”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Every meal has been consistently excellent!

Salade de Betteraves
Os a Moëlle
Langue d'Agneau
Special Steak with a Chardonnay reduction.

Everything was well prepared and delicious! But I would have to say their sauces are the magic that brings the dishes alive!

This place is my ideal piece of heaven. That staff is wonderful, the food fantastic and my go to happy spot in Yountville.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjmail94526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A truly delightful experience with superb food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Bistro Jeanty lives up to its billing. The food is divine and the service, once seated, is top-notch. We had a reservation and once we were ignored for a few minutes by the "host" after we walked in we were seated. The rest of the experience was wonderful. Our server was attentive and nicely explained the menu. We ordered the onion soup which was not to rich in either bread or cheese. The flavor exploded out of the bowl and was ideal for a cold winter night. We also had the panna cotta which was salmon in mason jar with some greens. This was so-so and even for a salmon lover most likely would not be ordered again. The two entrees, black cod and daube beef, were both tender, moist and perfectly balanced in every respect. The wine selection was delighful and respects its Napa roots. The meal came to roughly $100 with one glass of wine and was worth every penny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Jeanty also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bistro Jeanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing