We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Loud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Jeanty

Bistro Jeanty
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Jeanty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $80
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mulberry
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but Loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant had good food - but the location was extremely loud indoors. We were hoping for something a bit more casual and relaxed.

The tomato is everything that you read about - fantastic. The rest of the food was good as well. We just had a hard time with the crowded and loud seating area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarrianneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,172
    485
    146
    44
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended by our B&B ... but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Traditional French fare and very Julia in style - butter and cream and a bit heavy for current tastes. The outside area was a bit ordinary and when it got hot as the sun moved lower in the sky, we moved back inside. Didn't quite compare to Bouchon the next night but still very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank T-gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad french food in Napa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation, we were seated quickly after greetings at the door. We were seated in the very back of the restaurant which lacks all charm. We ordered steak tartare (totally bland, fibrous and with an excess ketchup. It is a bad sign when you have to reach for the salt and pepper in a restaurant of this category) and a salad which was OK except for the oversized croutons that pretended to be brioche but they were clearly not.
For entrees we had the Steak et Frites which was pretty good, the bearnaise was missing something but the fries were great and the meat was cooked right. And the Duck Cassoulet. That was simply HORRIBLE. The beans were overcooked and became purée as soon as you dug in with the fork. Somewhere in that sticky mess was a sausage, a piece of duck and bacon. I could not eat half of the dish because it was so unappealing.
We decided not to have dessert because we were so disappointed. The prices are high, we paid about $75 per person.
We have traveled to France many times and unfortunately have a trained and spoiled palate for French cuisine.
I cannot reccommend this place to anyone, sorry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaleco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A little bit of France in Yountville. Sit outside on the Terrace. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JND54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was only lunch .... but”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We cannot recommend this restaurant high enough to anyone who enjoys food prepared with a French flair. From the mussels, salad Lyonnaise, quiche and frites the food was exceptional in both preparation and flavor. The service staff were professional and also genuinely friendly. Several of the staff greeted us on entry to the restaurant and several more thanked us on our way out.

Exceptional in every way and our only five star rating on this two week trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Jeanty also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bistro Jeanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing