We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not for an hour's queue!”
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice but not for an hour's queue!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's good, the croissants are fresh, the almond one pretty tasty. But is it worth an hour waiting in line? I'd say no... maybe we're just spoiled in London with a large number of world class patisseries (actually even your average PAUL serves up pastries as good as if not better than Bouchon's) but this isn't mind blowing as it looks. We didn't wait in the queue, we happened to be there early doors on a Monday morning when there was no wait at all so tried it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WidelytravelledUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    672
    327
    103
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and amazing food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went back for more on our second day. The food is an experience for sure. French inspired, but the fresh seafood bar was a nice treat too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JP17GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Decadent”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Earlier the better, it draws a crowd and for good reason. We avoided Saturday and Sunday for that reason.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JP17GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“French bistro style with a california twist”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This michelin starred restaurant is worth every cent. Everything about this restaurant is well done - the staff are lovely, the menu comprehensive and the food fresh and inventive. Presentation is obviously important to the restaurant as all plates were a work of art.
The restaurant was a little noisy but it was very full of happy people so perhaps thats to be expected. We were there on a hot summers night and the outside terrace was in full swing full of happy diners.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sure about the hype”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice bakery, but I'm not too sure that its earned the feverish reviews. Muffins were good...because they were mini cakes...cookies were good...pure butter and sugar. Coffee was good, but I wouldn't say the best ever. The pastries looked beautiful but we never had the time. If you get there before 9am on weekdays, there is only a few people in line. On the weekend, there is no good time to go; it's always a twenty person line up. We would go again, if there was a short line, but we don't understand the hype.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellsjells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing