We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“infinite line......” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“infinite line......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had to try this one after noticing a line of customer waiting outside..........what a poor quality.... i do not know what those people were waiting for !!!!!!!!disappointing experience,
terrible pastries and terrible coffe.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank alessandro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,287
    602
    308
    98
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
227 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better Than Ding Dongs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We grabbed dessert to go and weren't disappointed. These jumbo ding dongs put the Hostess variety to shame. Jam packed with whipped topping and a thick layer of chocolate over a very light chocolate cake; rolled as you would expect. Twice the size of Hostess and ten times the flavor. I want more!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sactokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Good choice for French food in downtown Yountville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate at Bouchon on Wednesday, February 13, 2013. The atmosphere is that of a French bistro and is not formal. Our meal was very good and service was good. Wine prices were somewhat high as they are in most Yountville restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had high expectations and unfortunately they weren't met. Onion soup was salty and very dense - almost jam-like. Steamed mussels lacked flavor and seemed a just a bit undercooked. Oysters and truffled pomme frites were good. Husband had lamb shoulder stew which was good too, but nothing extraordinary. Expected more but I guess living in Portland we've been pretty spoiled with amazing restaurants around every corner here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eatdessertfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
362 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very pleasant bistro lunch in Yountville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had a late lunch (2pm) at this highly rated restaurant. Even at this hour, the restaurant was 90% full, and people were still being seated as we were leaving. Definitely make a reservation well in advance. As you peruse the wine list, make sure you look on the blackboard for the two featured wines ( one red and one white) which can be purchased by the glass, 1/2 carafe or full carafe. My wife and I shared a 1/2 carafe of the white, which was only $25, and it was superb. My wife has the gnocchi with brown butter and it was excellent. I had their signature dish, Poulet roti, and it was perfect. For the quality you get, the prices are fair and you get good value. Service was efficient, friendly and knowledgable. Although busy, the food was served piping hot. We didn't have dessert, but did have their rich, strong coffee to finish. It was a perfect late afternoon lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing