We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AS GOOD AS EXPECTED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS EXPECTED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The baked goods are worth the trip. The macarons are the best I have ever had. I would stop by every time I am in the Napa Valley.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    610
    312
    98
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love the Parisian style of the place, including outdoor seating (looks even better than in Paris.) The bread was phenomenal. The rest of the meal was very good, but not memorable or exceptional for what I would expect from a 1 Michelin star restaurant and the price.

I'm glad I tried it but will not likely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Enjoyed dinner but found the tables too crowded together. Not inexpensive, but high quality. Somewhat limited menu but enjoyed what we ordered.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast & pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is small and gets extremely busy. It is best to get here early as the line will be out the door from mid morning through closing. But even if the line is long, it's worth the wait and they move you through pretty quickly. The mushroom quiche is great and very moist, more custard like than quiche like. The croissants and other pastries are decadent. The cappuccinos are a great way to start the day. I would definitely recommend stopping here before you head out for a day of wine tasting.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoreTripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best bread!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

When I saw how much French Laundry cost to eat at I was glad that we were able to get into Bouchon to sample Thomas Kellers dishes.
Turns out that French Laundry was closed for two weeks, and Ad Hoc was closed that night.
Bouchon worked out very well.
I have to say that the bread that they serve before the meal was probably the best bread I have ever had. It was warm, crunchy on the outside and very soft on the inside. Honestly it was very good.
Our entrees were good also, my wife had the steak, and I had the chicken. Both dishes had a tremendous amount of flavor in the sauces that accompanied them. Those sauces are IMO what separates a regular restaurant from a better one. Anybody can grill a steak or chicken. But not everybody can make those sauces.
Dessert was good but it was creme brulee, which really never dissapoints.
If you would like to try a famous chefs recipes and food but at reasonable prices you should give Bouchon a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing