We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vanilla macaron” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vanilla macaron”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Go for the macarons the come in many flavors but the vanilla is by far the best. I would pass on any thing else.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gymbunni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,428
    647
    321
    101
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
traverse city michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic bakery loved by locals & tourists alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great croissants and grilled ham and cheese croissant. We took home several interesting cookies for family. Place was like packed and attended by workman and tourists alike

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellen49690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Famous for a reason!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This tiny bakery in Yountville CA (Napa Valley) is famous for good reason. It is arguably the best French pastry anywhere around. Light, flaky, delicious. Because it is so small there is almost always a line waiting. A few tables outside have to handle the guests. But wait we will. One bite of the heavenly pastries and you will be glad you came. I adore the almond croissants but pretty much anything you order will be a delight. Great coffee too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret: Sunday lunch at 11 a.m at the bar or on the sidewalk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Oysters, French onion soup, homemade bread & sparkling water for an early Sunday lunch make this Thomas Keller restaurant affordable and enjoyable.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I travel quite a bit, eating out during a vacation or while traveling can really make the experience good - or bad. We went to Bouchon on our last night during a recent trip to Napa Valley and it was simply amazing. Our table was ready when we arrived, although a very tightly seated restaurant, we were comfortable and our server was quick and knowledgable. But the food and preparation was what really took us by surprise, there was no over the top sauces or weird food combinations, I had Rainbow Trout with french style green beans, and this may sound boring but paired with our wine, we can barely wait to go back! It was pure French Countryside atmosphere with a sophisticated staff - the creme pots for dessert were recommended and eaten with pure delight! Don't miss this gem:)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing