We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks Personal Touch”
Review of Hotel Yountville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Yountville
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lacks Personal Touch”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Location of the hotel is great. Room furnishings & pool are lovely. What for the price, it lacks a level of customer service & added value that one would expect.

Doorman/concierge at door to greet guests would be expected at this price point. Since bartender is only staff member present in lobby area, it might be nice for him to acknowledge guests.

Full free breakfast that Bellagio offers would be a welcome addition here. They also offer a really great wine tasting experience.

We were a bit surprised our deck overlooked a trailer park. Not a deal breaker, just not what I expected when spending $700+ a night.




Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3sonsrgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on your recent stay at the hotel. We will share your feedback with our staff for we are constantly striving for continuous improvement in regard to both our customer service and the value ads we provide our guest.

Once again thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Yountville. We look forward to having you back as a guest.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    194
    45
    20
    6
See reviews for
103
693
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I went for Memorial Day Weekend to Napa Valley and had a fantastic time. We enjoyed amazing food, some of the best wine we've ever had and all set in a beautiful setting. The Hotel Yountville was a great experience. The hotel is in an ideal location- the best central area to explore all of Napa Valley. Rooms were clean, comfortable, modern and very romantic. Steam shower and tub were very relaxing. We loved that they offered bikes to ride around town, which we took full advantage of! Some little things that they could do to improve the overall experience is to explain their discounted rates at local wineries, their in lobby wine tasting and their facilities in general- so that guests can take full advantage. At check in we were given our keys and a postcard containing all discounts in the area but that was about it. Not necessarily a bad thing but for the amount they charge just anticipated better customer service from the front desk. Overall though great stay and perfect location, would stay again especially to go back to Cakebread, Gotts, and Bistro Jeanty. Also make sure to spot by Hope & Grace wines in town for a laid back experience with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. The staff at Hope & Grace gave us great recommendation on how to maximize our time and fun in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Globetrotter,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Yountville. Delighted you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bicycles to ride around town as well as the complimentary wine tastings that our winery partners provide to our hotel guests. We will share with our staff how you enjoyed a "great experience"

Once again thank you for being a guest of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel in Napa, it has a great location, really close to most of the best wineries of the region (Caymus vineyards, Opus One, Joseph Phelps, Robert Mondavi). Located in Yountville, a really cozy and beautiful town, I which you can find three of the best restaurants of the area (the French laundry and Bouchon, both by Thomas Keller, and Bistro Jeanty). The hotel is wonderfully decorated, with clean spacious rooms, all of them with their chimney, and wooden floors and ceilings. The lobby, terrace and pool area are greatly decorated, they invite you to stay there to read a book, talk with friends, have a drink. These three areas have their chimneys as well, so even if it is cold you can enjoy being there. The pool is always warm and clean. The restaurant of the hotel has a delicious breakfast menu with great service. They lend you bikes at the hotel so than you can visit wineries or restaurants close by. Each room has a balcony or private terrace. So in conclusion this hotel invites you to spend time there and fully enjoy it. The bathrooms are very spacious and comfortable. Each morning the offer you free coffee and tea at the lobby and during the day fresh water. Every area , including the rooms, have free wifi. Every time we go to Napa we stay there, it is simply the best !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pilirodgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Pilirodgar,

Thank you so much for all of your kind words regarding your recent stay. We will share with our culinary team your feedback on your delicious meals as well with the other members of our team regarding the cleanliness etc.

When next in the Napa Valley we do look forward to having you back as our guest. As you noted the location can not be beat when you are able to walk to so many world class restaurants.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I've now stayed here twice - both times in November and both times as part of a business group. This last time I was lucky enough to get a suite because our group needed space for break-out sessions. Wow! I think it was bigger than my first house. Steam shower big enough for two, fabulous great room and fireplaces in both the bedroom and great room. Also had a fabulous balcony. Breakfast and lunch was catered by the kitchen for our group and it was really good, especially the lunch. Lots of veggies and interesting salads and not a cold cut in sight! A couple of quibbles: 1) I'm short and the bed was really high. I almost needed a step stool; 2) the room had a great tub in an alcove off the great room which was an awkward spot for it and 3) I wish the lobby bar was open earlier (our group likes a drink just as soon as our meeting is over!). Staff was very friendly and helpful. I can't speak for the value since we got a group rate. The property is lovely and it is an easy walk to most of the restaurants and shops in Yountville, plus there are some tasting rooms within walking distance too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Marcia,

Thank you for all your positive feedback on the hotel. In addition we will share your comments with our staff regarding some of the areas of improvement you point out. We will also share your positive comments on the meals you enjoyed with our culinary team.

Looking forward to having you back again next November to make it three years in a row!

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended and we loved every minute of it. The location is amazing - right in the middle of Yountville - you can easily walk to amazing restaurants, Bouchon bakery, tasting rooms. The hotel has a huge list of partner wineries that offer discounted or free tasting fees. The hotel also has a concierge car that will take you to nearby restaurants in the valley for dinner for free. The rooms feel very modern but rustic - the bathroom was huge and the pool area had an amazing hot tub with a huge fire next to it. The only negative is no gym ... but I guess you aren't suppose to workout in Napa Valley. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Erica,

So glad you loved every minute of your stay and were able to take advantage of the complimentary transportation we provide as well as the complimentary wine tastings some of our winery partners offer exclusively to our hotel guests. And yes while we do not have a gym our guest do enjoy complimentary use of the Yountville Fitness and Health Club just two blocks from the hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and see the Napa Valley. Public spaces are lovely, pool and spa first class, breakfast room delightful, and rooms charming. Since the location is right on the main street in Yountville, some rooms have a bit of traffic noise in the evening. Service personnel were very accommodating.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more for a larger room with fireplace and balcony/patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 418billn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Bill,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our accommodating staff. Also on the positive feedback on the first class spa and delightful breakfast.

When next visiting Yountville we look forward to having you back as our guest.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Well you get what you pay for in this case, a luxury experience. The room, lobby, the restaurant all top notch with every detail thought of. Our room had a lovely patio area, ridiculous big whirlpool tub, fireplace in room, and a kuerig coffee maker too. Only two things I could say as cons are the bed was beautiful but not the most comfy. Also, the prices for breakfast in the Hopper creek restaurant were ridiculous ($14 for pancakes?) but I guess that's par for the course.

One unique thing that happened to us was that on the second day our ceiling fan started leaking water down onto our bed. We called the front desk and they sent over a repair guy like within one minute (not kidding!) Then finding that it could not be fixed quickly they sent a bellman over right away to help move us to another room (same type). This all happened in a span of about 15 minutes. It was a pain to have to pack up everything quickly and move but they were very nice and helped as much as possible. Was sort of hoping the manager would do something for us in regards to maybe comping a breakfast or half bottle of wine or something but they didn't and we didn't ask since we really didn't want to make a big deal out of it.

Overall would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. Wish we could have stayed longer and taken advantage of the heated outdoor pool and or spa which also looked beautiful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Erika,

Thank you for all your positive comments about our friendly and efficient staff. Glad you found the guest room so well appointed and comfortable. We do apologize for the small water leak and the fact that you had to change room. Our sincere apologizes.

When you next visit the Napa Valley we do look forward to having you back a guest for a long and enjoyable stay.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
7.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
7.1 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yountville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yountville

Property: Hotel Yountville
Address: 6462 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#2 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Yountville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yountville has carefully curated the best of Tuscany, Provence and the Napa Valley, by capturing the essence of what it is to experience a truly memorable, romantic and exciting destination resort and spa. Surrounded by miles of vineyards, breathtaking scenery, and the most brilliant stars in the wine and food universe, there is little doubt that your stay at Hotel Yountville will exceed your expectations in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Yountville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yountville Hotel
Yountville Inn
Hotel Yountville Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing