We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop”
Review of Hill Family Estate

Hill Family Estate
Ranked #9 of 44 things to do in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: After three decades of farming grapes for some of Napa Valley's finest wine producers, Doug and the family decided that their family should enter the wine business. Hill Family Estate was born out of the desire for the family to work together - sharing the experience of crafting fine wines that showcased the grapes that Doug farmed and then introducing those wines to the consumer at a tasting room in their hometown, and American foodie capital, Yountville, California. Doug farms the grapes and helps craft the wine and Ryan runs the sales division, working hard to get the Hill Family Estate wines placed in select accounts for you to enjoy. Carly lives and works in San Diego and hosts tastings and dinners in Southern California while Darci can be found at the tasting room, with Jack (the dog) by her side, tending to the flowers and enhancing our curb appeal. Hill Family Estate is the culmination of Doug's vision - a way to share his love of the valley, of farming and of wine with his children and wine lovers everywhere.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stop”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is an outstanding small, new up and comer. Jeff Hill has got a diamond in the rough here. The grand tour was very personal and informative, and the tasting included some very fine varietals. Jeff was kind enough to personalize our purchase.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    9
    6
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting on the Terrace”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

enjoyed our group tasting here - the hostess was friendly - made our experience very nice - Terrace overlooks the vinyards.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hill Family Hearts”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After hearing about the total destruction of our home, the angels from Hill Family, ran out to our car as we were leaving to give us a LCVElY bottle of wine . Completely unnecessary and 100% appreciated. Go for the wine tasting. Stay for a joyful experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Wine!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friend and I are not big wine drinkers and weren't expecting to purchase wine on this visit but once we had a taste of the Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc we each brought home a bottle. It was SOOO delicious!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank drgymbolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great People, Great Values”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hill Family's tasting room in Yountville is comfortable and their wines are really good. Chances are that you'll even meet Ryan Hill when you visit. It makes for a very enjoyable visit.

In addition, their wines are a great value. Their Origin is a great Bordeaux blend at a great price. The Carly's Cuvee is a great chardonnay, and their Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc is an amazing dessert wine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Black_Sox_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Family Estate also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hill Family Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing