We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting surpise off the beaten path”
Review of Goosecross Cellars

Goosecross Cellars
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Country Semi-Custom Limousine Tour
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1985, Goosecross is a winery and vineyard owned by Christi Coors Ficeli and her family. Located in Yountville, Goosecross is known for producing high quality wines and providing excellent customer service. They stay focused on the basics – sustainable farming with attention, care and diligence in the cellar. Their wines are only available through the winery, 100% direct to consumer. A visit to Goosecross’ wine tasting room in Yountville will delight you with its casual, friendly atmosphere and outstanding hospitality. The winery tasting room is the place to taste, experiment, and learn in a laid-back beautiful space, and in the company of knowledgeable hosts who are passionate about wine.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An interesting surpise off the beaten path”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've done a few tasting trips to the Napa / Sonoma area over the years with large and small groups of friends. Usually we've planned ahead and picked where we're going to go ahead of time. On a recent trip a friend and I just wandered. We started at Martini in Napa and asked for recommendations. Goosecross was one of them, and it's off the main drag toward the east. I wouldn't have otherwise looked for or found it.
Goosecross is a small winery. There's a private residence right in front. Walking to the tasting rooms you'll pass some equipment outside. The tasting room is a bit narrow because there are casks and vats right behind you, but it's not really cramped.
They don't always follow the typical styles of wines. We tasted a Pinot Noir that was a bit sweeter than usual. I liked it, though I was surprised at first taste. They also have a nice Orange Muscat that I liked a lot, though it was a bit outside my typical price range for wines. My tastes run the gamut from dry to sweet, depending upon the situation and the variety. Although this was sweet, I didn't find it cloying.
Some of their grapes are grown on the property. You could see some small clusters remaining on the vines along the driveway. If I recall correctly though, they buy the majority of the grapes they use. There's a nice little map in the tasting room showing their layout by variety.
The staff were pretty nice, though maybe a little talkative. Overall I liked the place and if you're looking for something a bit different in a small winery, I would recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank skaterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hey Skaterdude, Thanks for coming to visit Goosecross and for your terrific review! Yes, you are right that we buy the majority of our grapes from local growers since we have just 9.5 acres planted in four different grape varieties on the property. Normally, the starlings come by in late November & December to eat all the leftover grapes off the vines, but this year the birds are late in arriving for some reason. Anyway, thanks for your review and for making Goosecross a stop on your Napa Valley tour. We're so happy you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    17
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best over all experience in wine country”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Amazing experience we felt like we were at friends home. Great friendly staff especially Jose. Everyone was engaging, and happy to be there. It is reservation only, but they were happy to have us without a reservation. It has a cozy laid back atmosphere, and the grounds were relaxing. We could of stayed all day. Their tasting had the most variety, and the lowest cost of all the vineyards we visited. All the wines were exceptional. I hesitate to share this because I would love to keep this hidden find to myself, but this vineyard is well deserving of your time if you are in Yountville, or passing through.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank twinnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much, we are thrilled to get a glowing review! We appreciate this so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super friendly, knowledgeable”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Small vineyard but Jose was Super friendly and super knowledgeable. We were part of a bike tour and he was quite welcoming

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BudsTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting Goosecross and for your terrific review! Jose has been our Tasting Room Manager for just over 9 years now, so he has a lot of great experience and stories to share. It sounds like you enjoyed your bike tour, and we hope to see you back at Goosecross on your next trip to Napa Valley. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not our favorite....”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I added this winery to our itinerary on our day with a driver because it was ranked so highly on tripadvisor and yelp but was actually a bit disappointed. Not sure if our driver dropped the ball in making our reservation but it seemed as if they were not ready for us. The lady behind the counter was nice enough but did not even put down the donut she was eating to pour our wine....she actually held the donut with one hand and opened the wine with the other....awkward! The wine was good and we bought a couple of bottles but it was not the intimate experience we had at Keever, Cliff Lude, Ehlers, etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Jenny ,
Thank you for visiting our family winery while you were in the Napa Valley. We appreciate you seeking out Goosecross, but I'm sorry we did not provide you with the intimate experience you were hoping for, and you literally caught us with our hand in the cookie jar. ;-) Rather than make excuses, I'll leave it at this - I know we can do better than the awkward service you received and we're working on it.

We're happy to hear you liked the wines, so thank you for purchasing a couple bottles during your visit, we hope you enjoy them. We take pride in producing great wines, and have been in business 28 years now. Our customers mean the world to us, and we want to provide you with a better experience. So please come back the next time your travel plans take you to Napa. It would be a pleasure to greet you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
541 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great little winery”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Best customer service - hands down! Very small little tasting room. It was all about the service and the wines here. We enjoyed the tasting so much - even after being picked on for being "vegetarians from Texas!" :) Lots of fun, laughter and a great sense if dealing with people who loved their job. Thumbs up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
If there's one thing we do best at Goosecross, it's play with people all in good fun...but it really has to be all about outstanding hospitality and great wine. Thanks for playing so well with us and for visiting our winery - you've earned your stripes now. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goosecross Cellars also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Goosecross Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing