We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite winery in Napa Valley!”
Review of Goosecross Cellars

Goosecross Cellars
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Tour - Small Group
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1985, Goosecross is a winery and vineyard owned by Christi Coors Ficeli and her family. Located in Yountville, Goosecross is known for producing high quality wines and providing excellent customer service. They stay focused on the basics – sustainable farming with attention, care and diligence in the cellar. Their wines are only available through the winery, 100% direct to consumer. A visit to Goosecross’ wine tasting room in Yountville will delight you with its casual, friendly atmosphere and outstanding hospitality. The winery tasting room is the place to taste, experiment, and learn in a laid-back beautiful space, and in the company of knowledgeable hosts who are passionate about wine.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I arrived at Goosecross early on a Monday morning and enjoyed an in-depth tasting. Our vintner, Steve, was wonderful, knowledgeable, and loads of fun! The standout for me was the 2010 Tempranillo, which was unusually layered for such a young wine -- lots of candied fruit and even marzipan on the nose, and fresh pine, which made my husband blurt out "it's Christmas in a bottle!" when he inhaled it. The 2009 Chardonnay was also really wonderful. Another bottle of the Tempranillo (if it's not sold out) and the delightful Orange Muscat are on my Christmas wish list. We visited 15 wineries on our trip to Napa Valley and Goosecross is right at the top of the list.

Thank JupiterKLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Wow, thanks so much for such a terrific review! We have never heard that the Tempranillo is like "Christmas in a bottle" before, but that's a great description! We're so happy to hear that you had a good time at Goosecross and that Steve took good care of you. We hope your Christmas wish comes true. ;-) Thanks again and enjoy the wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 168 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Kim, the host was the most high energy and fun host we experienced and the options and quality were second to none. Great white options as well. Great prices. They make sure you have fun.

Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Here's a great one for Kim! Thanks so much for your excellent review about our service and our wines. Our Winemaker is becoming more and more well known for his wide selection of white wines in this famous "Cabernet country". We are very proud of Geoff for all his hard work and talent in the vineyard, plus his superb palate for winemaking. We're happy you enjoyed our wines and had a good time here. Kim is excited about this super review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Really a must-see, must taste experience... great little vintner with delicious reds and crisp whites. And the people could not be more pleasant. This was a choice of our guide from Napa Bee Driven and we were thankful she picked Goosecross!!

Thank fatherkingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much, we are thrilled that you came to visit us. We like to think that the our family winery lures the good folks who find value in the simple things in life; natural beauty, great wine, and people with a kind, fun-loving and generous spirit. We're happy you found your way to Goosecross. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great staff that made the tasting lots of fun on a very hectic day. The tasting room was renovated yet still a bit small for our group of 9.

Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We thank you for the nice review Jorge, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Goosecross. Hopefully, you can come back and visit us when were not too crowded in our tasting room. At times, we can be a victim of our own success, but our hearts are in the right spot as we try to accommodate all who want to experience our wines and hospitality. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you're looking for a wine that has not been bottled yet, we found one! We call it "Blushing Jose" ! He was our host extradionaire... All you have to do is mention his modeling debut in a red speedo and the wine (his blushing cheeks) appears...Fun and outgoing, knowledgeable and entertaining....and not to mention he introduced us to Goosecross' great wine!

Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

3 cheers for the Blushing Jose! If we could figure out a way to bottle all that wit and charm, we would do it in a second. ;-) Thanks for your fun review about Jose and our wine endorsement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goosecross Cellars also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Goosecross Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing