We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blushing Jose”
Review of Goosecross Cellars

Goosecross Cellars
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Tour - Small Group
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1985, Goosecross is a winery and vineyard owned by Christi Coors Ficeli and her family. Located in Yountville, Goosecross is known for producing high quality wines and providing excellent customer service. They stay focused on the basics – sustainable farming with attention, care and diligence in the cellar. Their wines are only available through the winery, 100% direct to consumer. A visit to Goosecross’ wine tasting room in Yountville will delight you with its casual, friendly atmosphere and outstanding hospitality. The winery tasting room is the place to taste, experiment, and learn in a laid-back beautiful space, and in the company of knowledgeable hosts who are passionate about wine.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you're looking for a wine that has not been bottled yet, we found one! We call it "Blushing Jose" ! He was our host extradionaire... All you have to do is mention his modeling debut in a red speedo and the wine (his blushing cheeks) appears...Fun and outgoing, knowledgeable and entertaining....and not to mention he introduced us to Goosecross' great wine!

Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

3 cheers for the Blushing Jose! If we could figure out a way to bottle all that wit and charm, we would do it in a second. ;-) Thanks for your fun review about Jose and our wine endorsement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Goosecross Cellars
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is hand downs amazing. My boyfriend and I came here on a spur of the moment trip to Napa Valley. The atmosphere of this place is very chill, unlike many of the more well known places in the area. Jessy was our server in the tasting room and she was the best! She was so much fun and just kept bringing on the wine. She asked us what we liked in the beginning of our tasting and kind of personalized the tasting for us.
We had such a great time in this relaxed atmosphere. If you're not expecting anything fancy I highly recommend Goosecross.

Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you Lisa. I really like your review because it captures the essence of Goosecross and our personalized approach to our customer experience. We may be small, but we are mighty! Thanks again for the fantastic review, we appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our favorite winery of our wine tour. We had a wonderful time here with great conversation. We liked the wine so much that we joined their wine club. This is a smaller distribution company which we love to support. It made the trip to Napa a trip to remember!

Thank Cincy45209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks so much for the terrific review and for joining our wine club. We're happy to have you as a new member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our group of six recently visited Goosecross Cellars. We made an advance reservation. As our day progressed we were running a bit late for this visit and when we called they were very accommodating. As others have mentioned, this is a small, family owned winery. We were there on a Friday and the tasting room was not busy. The took us out to see a crushing. The gentlemen handling the tasting were extremely friendly and lots of fun. On the whole, I found the wines a bit young tasting but they had promise. I took a bottle home to age and see how it tastes then. The group found lots to pick up in the little shop as well. This was a fun part of our wine tasting day.

Thank sherneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We're so happy to hear you had an enjoyable visit at Goosecross. As a small producer, we have the opportunity to share the winemaking experience up close and personal with our guests, and it's great that you were able to see crush in action. As you mentioned, our red wines do benefit from some bottle aging, and our winemaker works to showcase the natural flavors of the grape and the terrior, so he tends not to over-manipulate the wines in the cellar. He believes in growing the best quality grapes and making fruit-forward wines with firm tannins. Geoff, our Winemaker, works hard in the vineyard and our farming is done by hand, so he has a fun saying that he likes "the grapes to brag about themselves in the bottle." I think that pretty much sums it up. Thank you for visiting Goosecross, for purchasing our wines, and for your wonderful review. Enjoy the wine, but not just yet. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've come to the Napa/Sonoma area a few times in the past year and travel to vineyards across the country a lot. Goosecross produces great wine in a boutique vineyard (8 acres or so?) and the owners are incredibly nice people. There's a small tasting room and plenty of seating outside (covered or in the shade) if the tasting room is too packed (it's a popular destination). Really enjoyed our visit and we brought home some delicious 2010 Orange Muscat, 2010 Napa Valley “Oak Knoll” Viognier, and Goosecross’s Napa Valley Pinot Noir.

Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks Brian for the terrific review! For someone who lives so far away in New York, you get to come visit Napa often and it sounds like you have visited a good number of wineries. We have 9.5 acres planted with 4 different red varietals on our property, so the white wines you bought were made from grapes that we purchased from other local growers. We produce 9,000 cases a year and all our wines are sold consumer-direct. Thank you for supporting our family winery, we all appreciate it very much. Enjoy the beautiful fall weather while sipping on Goosecross wines. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goosecross Cellars also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Goosecross Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing