We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“quiet, good location”
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Lavender is conveniently located on a quiet street off the main drag in Yountville. It offers a 50.00 meal certificate at Bouchon as part of its package which we like. The room we were in has a small courtyard adjoining which is an added attraction.
The rooms here are also showing signs of age, upholster torn, carpeting stained, bathroom fixtures calcified and bathtub needing attention. The breakfast is served in the main house and is quite substantial, a hot dish, cereal, bread, muffins, fruit juices, and fruit. There are newspapers supplied and wine at night either at Lavender or Masion Fleur. It is within walking distance of The French Laundry, Ad Hoc, Bouchon and all the shopping areas of Yountville. It is also a treat to visit the very good Bouchon Bakery . All in all a pretty good value and a great location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    71
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
198
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

When we arrived, we were greeted by a very pleasant woman who gave us a run-down of activities at the house and the schedule for evening wine/cheese and breakfast. She was able to make dinner reservations for us and answered all the questions we had about Yountville. Although it rained most of the time we were there, the property was still quite pretty, in that winter sort of way. It must be beautiful in the summer.

Our private patio was quite large and made a point to remember to come back in warmer weather to just sit out there to enjoy some wine and peaceful surroundings. There's also a fountain on the patio that can be turned on. The room is not very spacious, but very comfortable to spend most of the evening in if you wanted. If you're in Napa Valley you don't need a big room, but you may want the comfort and this room had it! The gas fireplace is a great touch along with the large bathroom. Beware that in the winter the bare bathroom floor gets quite cold, but they do have rugs and floorboard heaters to warm it up. Decorations were tasteful and not overly "frilly." The cheese, wine, and fruit in the evening was satisfying and fairly good. There were homemade cookies as well. The breakfast was buffet style and was still warm an hour after it had been put out (we were sleeping late). The food was quite good and the hostess said she tried something new with the egg dish. Overall, the food is what I expected from a place like this - which is a good thing!

The location was great! One block behind the French Laundry and in a quiet residential area that seemed to be just on the edge of town. We walked the town in 20 minutes. We paid a special winter day-of rate and it was completely worth it! We almost stayed a second night, but other reservations that couldn't justify changing... but, looking back, we should have!

We will definitely stay here again - anytime of the year!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is a perfectly serviceable B&B in Yountville in a great location with mediocre food.

I've stayed in many B&Bs in the Napa/Sonoma area, and they really spoil you with the food. But, the food at this B&B was just fine; nothing special. On the other hand, the location is wonderful because you can walk to some of the best restaurants in Napa such as Bistro Jeanty, Bouchon, French Laudry, and Per Se and are located a very short drive from others.

The room was nice and comfortable with a large bed, fireplace, and large bathroom. There was nothing exceptional about the room, but it was perfectly clean and comfortable.

The price was fairly high, in my opinion, for the overall experience (we paid $295/night), but I believe that is because of the excellent location. When I looked into rooms, most of the places in the area were charging more.

Overall, I think I would try to see if I could get more for my money before staying here again, but that may not be realistic in this very popular and beautiful area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Arrived at the Lavender during a dreary day of rain to find "Maid Marion" our hilarious (sometimes unintentionally) innkeeper who completely brightened the day. Full of warmth and verve, Marion made sure we were acquainted with the town, gave restaurant reviews, tons of information about local opportunities and even recommended the best shipping company for the wines we had purchased.

The private cottages were delightfully appointed and their adorable little "gardens" made us long for sunshine, even though we were cozy inside.

We took advantage of the $149 last-minute special and were delighted with our choice. The breakfast was outstanding - so good that I bought their cookbook to have all the recipes.

Close to town and altogether a winner in my book.

  • Liked — clean, well-appointed, friendly staff, great food
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank worldcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We stayed at the Lavender for 4 nights in one of the garden cottages. The room was very quaint with a large bathroom but our fireplace did not work (the hotel staff did give us a refund, but that was after the manager told us a credit would be given and upon checkout they tried to charge the full price. Everyone was nice and cleared it up though).

The breakfast was good if you like heavy quiche and egg dishes with plenty of cream and cheese. My husband has an allergy to gluten and dairy so all he could eat was a boiled egg and fruit. The food is buffet style so unlike other B&B it did not seem possible to request a special meal to be cooked.

We told the hotel it was our wedding stay since we were getting married in Napa that week, they gave us a balloon and a mini card, but I thought a bottle of wine or champagne would have been a nicer touch.

Overall, it is a good location walking distance to Yountville main street and all the good restaurants (skip Hurley's though), but we were not overly impressed for the price and will likely not stay again.

  • Liked — Location to dining in Yountville
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phototravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Had a lovely one-night stay here. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful. Our cottage had a private patio, a comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom with large, soaking tub. A local winery offered a free wine tasting in the lobby that evening, and the Inn provided appetizers. Buffet-style breakfast had two hot dishes, fresh-baked muffins, yogurt, cereal and fresh fruit.

The place is quiet and walking distance to all of the great Yountville restaurants. It's a short drive to all of the wineries. Will definitely return.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Our honeymoon was last Sept, so this review is long overdue. We stayed here for 3 nights, between the San Francisco and Monterey legs of our trip. It was by far our favorite room of the 3 great places we stayed at. Previous reviewer was correct in stating that this room does not have a hot tub, it has a jacuzzi tub for two (it's huge). We actually preferred this, because we didn't have to worry about whether the hot tub had been properly sanitized between guests. We filled it ourselves with fresh, steamy water, decked out the entire patio with romantic tea lights everywhere (shh - don't tell Marion!) and brought a bottle of wine and fresh strawberries to relax with. I was surprised by how large our patio was..photos on the site are deceiving, making it look much smaller than it really is. They have double-lattice staggered, so no one can see in but the top is open for star-gazing.

Marion was very helpful with advice and we met the owner of a small, start-up winery called Trespass, who came to the inn during the cocktail reception. Wonderful wine, we are still saving that bottle for our 1 year anniversary next week.

We did not go to French Laundry. So expensive and quite frankly, my husband would have hated most of what they served. He is truly a meat and potatoes kind of guy. I suggest Mustard's Grill in Napa....the BEST Hanger Steak I've ever had and by Napa standards, very affordable at $27. My husband was so jealous that he didn't order it for himself!

Yountville is so quaint and perfect, it is definitely THE place to stay in Napa. The Lavender Inn was romantic and small, which is exactly what we were looking for. And yes, we adopted our teddy bear to remember the trip by...and promptly named him Shiraz, what else?

  • Liked — Jacuzzi Suite and Fireplace
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#4 of 6 in Yountville
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 2020 Webber Ave, Yountville, CA 94599-1454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and luxuriously cozy, Lavender, a Napa Valley bed and breakfast hotel, combines the warm colors of Provence with contemporary design elements to create a vibrant setting that blends old and new. A lovely heritage home is the centerpiece of the inn's four buildings; the warmth of its wraparound porch is echoed in the enclosed veranda where breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender - a Four Sisters Hotel Yountville
Lavender - a 4 Sisters Inn
Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing