We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined Napa Valley for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ruined Napa Valley for us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I travelled from NYC to Napa and stayed at Lavender and I can safely say that I have never been treated so poorly by a hotel.

I woke up in the morning with bites all over my body

the bed sheets were filthy

the staff lied to me about the whereabouts and contact information of their manager Gina (cleary trying to cover their tracks)

I asked if we could just try her on the phone together and to my surprise Gina picked up the phone and as the conversation developed it appeared that the hotel manager had spoken to Gina only a few moments before meeting me.

Horrible experience. Not worth the headache

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina M, General Manager at Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
No guest either before his visit or since has complained of insects at our scrupulously clean inn. Nevertheless, because we treat complaints seriously, we had a professional inspector examine the room within an hour of his checking out. The inspector was very thorough, and his report assured us that no parasites were found on bedding or elsewhere in the room. A copy of this report was sent to the guest, and he was invited to contact the inspector directly. The guest saw the report before writing his TripAdvisor review. He knows for a fact that the bed and bedding were free of parasites.
The day this guest checked out happened to be my day off, which is why the other staff members said I was not available. Unbeknownst to the Lavender employees, I went into my office (which is at a different location) to do some extra work. That was why the guest was able to reach me, and why the other employees were surprised when I answered the phone.
We work hard to keep our inn meticulously clean, a fact reinforced by the pest inspection. This guest’s comments are just not accurate and when he demanded a complimentary stay and the staff declined, he became belligerent. We are proud of our inn, the cleanliness, the gardens and the gracious staff as highlighted in the many other positive reviews!

Sincerely,

Gina Massolo
Regional Manager
Four Sisters Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    70
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
192
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent two nights at Lavender and were sad to leave! Our room was in one of the separate cottages, which all have private terraces; ours also had a small hot tub, which was delightful after a day of touring wineries. The fireplace in our room added to the charm. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the evening we arrived, and the front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. Yountville is a cute place with great restaurants, and Lavender is in a quiet spot. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The customer service at this Inn is better than you will find at most hotels. Very attentive and willing to help you with just about everything. From help with picking restaurants and vineyards to the fresh home made breakfast each day along with wine tasting in the evenings. This place has been one of the most enjoyable experiences I have ever had at a property this size.

In addition to the property itself, the location is walking distance to a variety of restaurants including French Laundry just a few blocks away. The center of town is also just a 5 minute walk where you can find just about everything including wine tasting rooms, restaurants and small shops for general shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Yountville and we certainly chose a great place. Our room was beautifully furnished, very spacious and our private courtyard was ideal. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts - something different each morning - were excellent and we even got invited to an in-house wine tasting. The location is idea: we walked to three restaurants - all booked in advance by Lavender staff. It would be hard to find a better place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lavender Inn for a wedding in Yountville. We had a late arrival and had no problem finding our key and finding our room.

The room was incredibly spacious and charming. The staff was great, and very welcoming as well.

Finally, the location couldn't be better. Walking distance to all the greatness that Yountville has to offer.

Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cochranlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love the Lavender. We have stayed at all three of the Four Sisters properties in Napa, love them all but Lavender is our favorite and plan on staying there for the third time. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast is fabulous. Can't beat the location, walking distance to many great restaurants and wineries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently, our 'annual first cousins trip' took us to Napa Valley / Yountville. This time we decided to stay at a B&B. We selected Lavender in Yountville because of reviews and location. We were not disappointed.
Early reservations allowed us to take 4 of their 8 rooms. We essentially had the entire place to ourselves. We began each day with breakfast, which varied every day and was a total feast. An extremely generous Happy Hour allowed us to re-energize ourselves in the middle of the day.
Recommendation - my wife and I were very fortunate to get Room # 8 (the entire second floor of the main house). Suggest you go for this room.
The location was perfect. We could easily walk to / from many fabulous restaurants and shopping. Such a clean and pretty city too.
The best delight of this place was Marion, the afternoon everything person on staff. What a fun person, sharing great suggestions along with tons of humor and plenty of hustle. We hope the Four Sisters realize what a gem they have with her.

Room Tip: Go For Room # 8 (entire second floor of main house) !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 2020 Webber Ave, Yountville, CA 94599-1454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and luxuriously cozy, Lavender, a Napa Valley bed and breakfast hotel, combines the warm colors of Provence with contemporary design elements to create a vibrant setting that blends old and new. A lovely heritage home is the centerpiece of the inn's four buildings; the warmth of its wraparound porch is echoed in the enclosed veranda where breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender - a Four Sisters Hotel Yountville
Lavender - a 4 Sisters Inn
Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing