We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfection in Napa Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfection in Napa Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Lavender is such a fantastic little inn. Marion at the front desk is so lovely and makes you feel very welcome. Our room was amazing, with private courtyard and outdoor two-person bathtub. We soaked in the tub every evening with some glasses of wine - super relaxing. The room itself was charming on its own, with a fireplace, comfy bed and huge, cool bathroom with yet another large tub! Very cozy overall. Oh, and of course our bed had the requisite Four Sisters teddy bear on top, which I made sure to 'adopt' and take home.
The location is fantastic - quiet and tucked away from the street but within very close walking distance to Yountville's many restaurants. We really enjoyed dinner one night at Bouchon - stellar service! Also, Lavender is a short drive to all of Napa's wineries - check out Nickel & Nickel.
We really loved the peace and relaxation that Lavender offered.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernStarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    66
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
183
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have stayed in many B&B 's over the years . It's a unique and charming option to staying in a hotel / resort . We contacted Lavender nearly six months prior to our visit . After speaking with the manager we selected our room based on location on the property and features . Upon arrival they checked us in to a totally different room . I showed them the confirmation and they seemed perplexed and had " no idea" how we were moved into a different room. At this point they we sold out and had no options where to put us. The room we ended up in was nice, but not what we reserved. We really had looked forward to the private outdoor hot tub. The room we were in was in the main house. The smells staring of breakfast being prepared stared traveling up to our room each day by about 6 am ! Speaking of breakfast, our previous experiences had been elaborate breakfasts being served in lovely dining rooms. A FULL breakfast served to us by staff . At Lavender it is more of an elaborate continental breakfast. The food is set on a small buffet and you help yourself and sit at small tables in a breezeway, not a dining room. Not a dining room table . The staff was inattentive with breakfast as well, leaving dirty dishes in the tables and basically being invisible . Our previous experiences the breakfast set up allowed for conversation with other guest and staff and this did not at all. Speaking of staff, other than Marion, the cute cockney lady, the staff was unwelcoming and rather rude. When I would go downstairs to get coffee before breakfast and offered a cheerful " Good Morning " I BARELY got even a nod of the head . Curing the day you could walk in the main house and they did not even acknowledge you ! Very different than previous B & B experiences. We were shocked at how unfriendly the staff was. The happy hour offered at 5 pm was very simple. There was no " tasting experiences" which have been included other B&B experiences we have had. On the small buffet they placed a bottle of table red and a white wine and cheese and crackers and that was it ! No conversation with the staff, no conversation about the day or suggestions of dining or vineyard options. Nothing at all. Overall the experience was completely impersonal. The thing Lavender has going for it is the FABULOUS location. We loved that it was a short walk to the finest restaurants and shops. Location could not be beat . If you stay here , stay for location and just don't have high expectations about the B&B experience. This way you won't be disappointed like we were.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room with private outdoor patio and hot tub .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greekchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina M, General Manager at Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback regarding your recent stay at Lavender. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Please contact me at your convenience so that I may follow up with you personally. I can be reached at 888-568-9818 or by email gina@foursisters.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Being a smaller B & B allows you to have more privacy while still being able to enjoy the slightly larger sister property Maison Fleure. Breakfasts were delicious. We also enjoyed being able to use the bikes. All of Yountville is in walking distance. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms rather large with a nice big soaking tub.

Room Tip: The rooms with the private patios are nice. Even though the parking was behind our room, with only 4...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The entire property is very charming & peaceful. The room was much more than we expected in terms of size & decor. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast. One block of the main street, it was an enjoyable walk to all things in Yountville.

The only thing that needs to be changed are the pillows-for me they were much too flat- which lead to a neck ache. That being said, we'd still return for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina M, General Manager at Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit such helpful feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Poor accommodation and unresponsive staff. Could not control room temperature due to poor AC system that cycled between freezing cold and sweating hot. Besides the vent rattled whenever it decided to turn on. Could not adjust temp to below 72 degrees. Manager advised it was due to the energy efficiency of the system and that the complaint was unique to me. I asked for a box fan for the window to get some cool air but was told that was not possible. Otherwise, the light above the bed didn't work (no reading in bed at night was possible) and I had to replace two other light bulbs (because i got fed up with asking staff to do it). Overall a very poor experience due to both poor accommodations and lack of responsiveness on part of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

everyone was friendly and helpful.courtyard no. 6 with its
private patio...very intime. Great bathroom provencal style.
Calm during the night and perfect for a night cap on our private terrasse.
Romantic...colourfull...spacious...and great brunch every
morning with menu and recipies 9(we bought the book)
Thanks to everyone and gracias a Maria the housekeeper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddyetpivoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were charmed by the lovely English lady who checked us in and showed us to our room. Everything was clean, tastefully decorated, and spacious. It was a very nice touch to have our own private jacuzzi tub, outdoors in our own fenced patio. Hors d' oeuvres were plentiful in the evening and there was a winemaker who was pouring tastings during that time. And of course breakfast was of the very tasteful type that the 4 Sisters Inns are famous for creating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 2020 Webber Ave, Yountville, CA 94599-1454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and luxuriously cozy, Lavender, a Napa Valley bed and breakfast hotel, combines the warm colors of Provence with contemporary design elements to create a vibrant setting that blends old and new. A lovely heritage home is the centerpiece of the inn's four buildings; the warmth of its wraparound porch is echoed in the enclosed veranda where breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender - a 4 Sisters Inn
Lavender - a Four Sisters Hotel Yountville
Lavender - A Four Sisters Inn Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing