We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bike & Brunch Package
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed there for 6 days and this place is amazing. They treat you like family. The front desk was very helpful with setting up tours and pickups from airport using Jarrar Tours while also making sure the trolley was waiting for us. The hotel is right in town. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The spa in the hotel was great. This botique hotel has all the ammenities of a large hotel chain but service is much better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joepa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    53
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
213
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This charming hotel is quite a find. Our room was lovely - gas fireplace, large modern bathroom with shower and great tub - comfy bed and a little balcony overlooking the pool. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful with suggestions of things to see and places to dine. The courtyard was well landscaped with small trees, flowers and a old world looking fountain. The best part was that if we didn't want to drive anywhere the in house restaurant was wonderful. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are much quieter. Our friends were downstairs from us and said they could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littletexasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the North Block for 2 nights on early June. We were in an upstairs deluxe king room with a fireplace- unnecessary at that time of year. While the room was not huge it was very nice. Rooms are off of a central courtyard with fountain, trees and succulent gardens..very nice landscaping. Our room was on the second floor and was quite quiet. There was a small balcony with just enough room for two chairs and a small table. Bathroom was large enough and very nice. Staff was great- very accommodating. There us a lovely pool on site that did not seem to get much use as everyone heads out for wine tasting. Minimal room service available and no easy poolside service. Minor issues. The location in Yountville is excellent. Any number of restaurants and cafés are within easy walking distance. Free newspapers and excellent coffee available in lobby in the morning. Overall a very nice unpretentious smaller hotel. We were very pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First, as a bit of general advice, if planning a Napa trip, you cannot pick a better location than Yountville. Aside from the superb North Block, there are several great places to stay and they are all stumbling distance from some of the best restaurants in the valley and close to many can't miss wineries. Yountville Chamber of Commerce pitch aside, on to North Block...

A quick view of the web site shows the beatiful rooms and lay out of this intimate property. The property is small (30 units?), but has very nice amenities you'd find at a larger luxury property. There is an attractive, mellow pool area, which is great for post tasting rejuvination. There is a fitness room to help a bit with the big wine/food consumption guilt, but don't expect much beyond a few dumbells and treadmills. Aside from the lovely rooms, the unique feature of the property is the interior courtyard, containing a pleasant amount of activity, fountains, and the patio area for the connected Redd Wood bar/restaurant. Definitely make time to dine, snack, or just have a coctail at Redd Wood. There are separate reviews of the restaurant, so I'll simply say their pizzas are amazing and, for a perfect pre wine tasting base, you'll love their breakfast sandwich and ricotta pancakes.

The rooms at NB are very nice and befitting the price. We stayed in one of their more basic rooms, which was perfect for us. The furnishing are attractive, the bed is super comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious with a huge tub, dual sinks, rain shower, and excellent amenities. We had limited interaction with the service personnel, but it was all friendly and professional. The only mild drawback of our room was that it was somewhat smaller than other Youtville properties. The balcony was also too small for much use. It wasn't a problem for us and didn't detract from a making NB a great choice.

In truth, there are several great choices in Yountville, including Hotel Yountville, Bardessano, Villagio, Harvest Inn, and certainly North Block. They all have unique features, and none are inexpensive, but they all serve as superb, splurge worthy places to stay in the best food and winery launching spot in the valley. North Block is a great addition fo the scene and holds up well to the best of them. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a more quite room, ask for one further from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSBJGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The North Block Hotel Spa in Yountville is one of my all-time favorite boutique spas in the Napa Valley.
This hidden gem satisfies all my needs for an elegant spa experience that is an inspiring place without all the trappings and confusion of a larger spa.
From the moment you arrive you sink into relaxation, from the hotel bellman opening the entry door, to the gracious smile from the receptionist who escorts you to the spa, you are transcended into a place of sheer comfort and luxury with an attention to detail that only an intimate boutique spa can offer.
The type of therapists are of an exceptional quality which sets this place apart.
I appreciate the luxurious, yet smaller intimate environment of this spa. The décor is gorgeous and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenjenanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at North Block with my husband in July 2013 for 3 nights. We had just come up from a business trip in San Francisco and were meeting friends in Napa for a little wine/food adventure. Booked North Block on Jetsetter.com because they were having a sale on California hotels. I'm so glad we did because this hotel was AWESOME. The spanish villa vibe was very cool, the rooms were very clean. The courtyard was pretty, with outdoor seating and a fire pit to have some drinks next to. The pool was REALLY nice and comfortable to lounge around. The soap and body wash they had in all of the rooms from the spa smelled so good that we bought a bottle to take home (and I even reordered a bottle as a stocking stuffer for my husband). Within a short walking distance to everything in Yountville. Didn't have any meals at the hotel restaurants but we made the 10-15 minute walk to Bouchon for breakfast, and walked to Ad Hoc and French Laundry for dinner. Stopped into Girard Winery next door to do a quick tasting to kill some time one afternoon after hanging out by the pool. Great location and great hotel.

Room Tip: If you're not good with stairs, ask for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent 4 nights at North Block, Sunday through Thursday, so the rates were fairly reasonable based on the high cost of staying in Napa. The service in this hotel is excellent. Like Ritz Carlton excellent. From the champagne and apple moonshine cordials we were offered upon check in, to helping us with every need enthusiastically. Jackie, helped put together a very comprehensive 3 day wine tasting tour schedule complete with private tours, walk in tastings, lunch and dinner restaurant recommendations. She did all the work and we had 3 spectacular days in Napa. I cannot thank Jackie and the rest of the team for making our stay at North Block a 5 star experience. The only thing about our experience that was not 5 Star was the price and the snooty hotel guests you see at 5 star resorts.

The hotel has a beautiful courtyard with very new and modern rooms. The beds are so comfortable with top of the line linens. Ask for a room upstairs and a balcony facing the courtyard.

The town of Yountville is extremely charming. The hotel is within walking distance of so many restaurants, tasting rooms and shops. I cannot imagine anyone having a bad review of this hotel. I based my decision on Trip Advisor review and photos. This hotel exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with balcony facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
6.4 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing