We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect New Year's Getaway”
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect New Year's Getaway”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a queen courtyard view room on the second floor. The hotel is charming and small with well-appointed rooms reminiscent of a Restoration Hardware catalog. The bed was very comfortable. Free internet and complimentary water bottles in the room were a nice touch. Room also had a mini-fridge with plenty of room for store-bought snacks and drinks, which was convenient. Bathroom was very spacious with a huge soaking tub and great bath producs. The service is terrific, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Hotel is a 10-minute walk to Bottega, Bouchon, Redd, and other great restaurants. We would've liked to have tried Redd Wood at the hotel, but our schedule didn't allow for it. This is a great boutique hotel in a wonderfully quaint Napa Valley town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    60
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
250
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel experience. Dog friendly! Fantastic beds, beautiful bathroom, well appointed and decorated. Kudos to the designer. The restaurant next door, Redd Wood had one of the best dinners ever which is saying a lot for this foodie paradise. Thank you to Charles at Redd Wood and Kelly at the hotel for making our stay a place to remember!
Added perks:
heated bathroom floors
excellent toiletry products
free parking
no resort fee
free internet
great location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phitnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed over Christmas, and I am still gushing about how wonderful it was. The property is beautiful, the staff is super friendly and accommodating, and they LOVED our little shih tzu! Our room had heated bathroom floors, a big tub, rain shower head, fireplace, and outdoor space (along with a big closet, doggie bed and bowls, and the most comfortable bed EVER). Even in the winter and rain, the hotel is really stunning - both inside and out. The hot tub was kept heated, so we got to enjoy a few mornings soaking in the rain (which I recommend - it is very relaxing!). We didn't get to enjoy the breakfast, pool, gym, or spa, due to the hectic holiday schedule we had, but would love to try them out next time. Redd Wood is on site, and has amazing pizza and a really good Caesar salad. If pizza isn't your thing, North Block is located within walking distance to a bunch of other great restaurants.
All in all, this is the nicest boutique hotel I've ever stayed at. So much attention has been paid to every detail, that it really stands out as a special property. It's a bit pricey for my normal travel budget, but I would be SO willing to splurge again in the future.
Thanks for making our Christmas magical, North Block Hotel & Staff!

Room Tip: Being a small property, all of the rooms are easily accessed and close to all on site amenities. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here because of the proximity to the restaurant and great reviews. The decor was nice, updated, good service, convenient in room espresso machine, and comfortable beds (down cover too warm though). Some downsides were rooms very warm (too warm); one sink was slow drain; our bathroom partially flooded during the heavy rains; they charge you a $25 service fee to tip the staff no matter how long/short your stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor; you can hear your neighbors walking above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advntr_skr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I visited this hotel about a year ago for the first time, as a gift for my boyfriends birthday. All of my expectations were exceeded. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and unique. The hotel staff was amazing - Kelly greeted us warmly with a glass of champagne and immediately we felt relaxed and happy. She recommended restaurants and called and got us several reservations over the weekend. Greg showed us to our room and gave a lively and comedic tour, which was great, we really enjoyed it. I sent my good friends visiting from the east coast, and making their first trip to the Napa Valley, to this hotel, and they absolutely fell in love with it like I did. The personal welcome and eagerness to help us have the best possible weekend really made my trip special. Thank you Kelly! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dory M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently spent a two night stay at north block hotel, and it was amazing. When we arrived we were greeted by Kelly, an absolute angel! She helped check us in and showed us to our room. The room was beautiful, fireplace with a bathroom with heated floors! Not to mention the bed that felt like I was in a dream the second I sat down! Seeing as my wife and I were in town for two nights from San Francisco, and had no idea where to begin with wine tasting, we thought it would be a good idea to ask the staff on recommendations. We walk to the front desk, and there is Kelly again! We ask her for recommendations on winery's and she was so helpful, she set us up with a list of great winery's only a few doors, and blocks, away. When we came back we were greeted by more great employees and sat outside by the fireplace and soaked up the ambiance. Next problem we ran into was dinner, what restaurant would we choose? Oh no worries here, almost like a magical snap of the fingers, Kelly was walking by and when we asked her for recommendations
and within minutes she had a reservation for us at "redd" where we had an amazing dinner. The restaurant was packed and somehow Kelly got us an awesome table in such a short notice. The next day was filled with relaxation, and filled with nothingness... The best day ever! My wife and I had an amazing experience. The staff was professional and well put together, they had an ability to be so professional but yet make me feel as if I was at my own home. We will gladly come back and visit, but only if we can actually have a glass of wine with Kelly this time, she made the trip so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel with the friendliest, most professional staff. We were personally greeted by the manager Ty to make sure that our stay was the best it could be. The room was very comfortable with the perfect amenities. House blend of bathroom products that are delightful and available for purchase in the lobby. Wonderful soaking tub and awesome shower with heated floors in the bathroom make for a spa like experience. Felt very pampered without feeling doted upon which is unique. Super comfy bed with wonderful sheets and pillows. Great location close to some of the best restaurants. The concierge arranged reservations for us at some delicious restaurants and arranged an itinerary of wineries to visit that were some of the best I have been to. The hotel restaurant Redd Wood is beautifully decorated with the perfect amount of chic. The food was amazing as was our server Charlie who described every dish perfectly. It was raining the whole weekend so we were not able to take advantage of our private patio, or the pool. I cannot wait to go back on a warm and sunny weekend to experience all that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
730 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
7.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing