We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfort and style in Yountville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Comfort and style in Yountville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the privilege of staying (in most of the rooms) at the North Block Hotel many many times over this past year, and must say that the hotel is a gem in Yountville. Super comfortable beds, luxurious deep bathtubs, many rooms with private balconies, and a top notch restaurant (Redd Wood) next door. The location feels very European, with an open courtyard, fireplace, olive and lemon trees, and a nice pool area. I recommend this hotel to everyone I know who is traveling to napa Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    56
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
225
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and i were here for three nights, we had one of the larger rooms, spacious, clean and confortable. the hotel is small which is nice, service is great. the restaurant on property Red wood is excellent, has both dinner and lunch at the restaurant. the location is great, close to tons of wineries and restaurants. we like to stay in nicer hotels so if that is your style this is a nice higher end boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love69totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

North Block is a great boutique hotel conveniently located on restaurant row in Yountville. The rooms are elegantly appointed. The grounds include a lovely pool & whirlpool as well as a huge outdoor fireplace with comfortable seating just right to enjoy a nightcap. They have a full service spa where we got a massage at the end of a busy day. Their staff is fabulous and seemed to know just how to please. The Redd Wood Restaurant is steps away and FABULOUS. Congratulations to The General Manager Ty on his excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and overall it was very enjoyable. The front desk staff were super nice. The glass of sparkling wine upon arrival was a nice touch. We stayed in an upstairs room which was large and had a nice balcony. Decor was pleasant. We should have asked for a room at the rear of the hotel however, because our room was near the outdoor fireplace and restaurant and it was really noisy both nights (especially Saturday night). The noise (some woman with a really loud, annoying laugh) kept me up tossing and turning. That really bummed me out. The lighting in the room and the bathroom (bathroom especially) wasn't that great. I had to keep switching mirrors with my husband to apply my makeup evenly because it was so dark in the bathroom. And the bathroom sink faucets were messy - they look cool but they splashed water all over the counter. We also ate dinner at Reddwood one night and the food was great. Again, overall it was a nice place with a few annoying things (but I'm really, really picky).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kperk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the North Block Hotel in September when I was pregnant. This stylish and sophisticated hotel is such a gem! The staff are extremely accommodating and welcoming. The rooms are so posh and clean. Their outdoor fireplace and seating area is great for hanging out with people over wine and food. I've stayed at several other hotels in the area and this one is definitely by far was the one I liked the most. Everytime I come up to Napa, I will be staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty! Our bags were retrieved from the car and we had a glass of cold pinot grigio in our hands in a matter of moments while we were being checked in. Staff is fantastic, friendly and attentive. We were shown to our room which was beautifully appointed with lovely linens, towels and furnishings. Not to mention the heated bathroom floor! Had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic - although they were busy, we felt taken care of and attended to. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area - you will not be disappointed! My only complaint was having to leave too soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouracrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I recently returned from a two-night, midweek stay at the North Block Hotel. We were expecting a relaxing and quiet stay - and received that and more. The ambiance was mellow and modern. From the moment we drove up to the minute we drove off two days later, the entire hotel staff made as feel as if we were the only guests on the property. The rooms were large and fully stocked, but without making us feel like we were being smothered with amenities. We never felt rushed; never felt like we were imposing on anyone; and always felt like family. Oh, and did I mention the new restaurant? We're already booked again for January.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing