We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty! Our bags were retrieved from the car and we had a glass of cold pinot grigio in our hands in a matter of moments while we were being checked in. Staff is fantastic, friendly and attentive. We were shown to our room which was beautifully appointed with lovely linens, towels and furnishings. Not to mention the heated bathroom floor! Had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic - although they were busy, we felt taken care of and attended to. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area - you will not be disappointed! My only complaint was having to leave too soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouracrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    60
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
246
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I recently returned from a two-night, midweek stay at the North Block Hotel. We were expecting a relaxing and quiet stay - and received that and more. The ambiance was mellow and modern. From the moment we drove up to the minute we drove off two days later, the entire hotel staff made as feel as if we were the only guests on the property. The rooms were large and fully stocked, but without making us feel like we were being smothered with amenities. We never felt rushed; never felt like we were imposing on anyone; and always felt like family. Oh, and did I mention the new restaurant? We're already booked again for January.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night in October 2012. Everything was great, from the friendly reception (our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived, but when we came back everything was taken care of) to the nice room (comfortable bed, huge bathroom). Would have loved to stay a little longer to enjoy the pool and restaurant. Very conveniently located to explore the Napa Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at NorthBlock to attend a wedding in St. Helena. We had a very good experience at the hotel-- the bed was probably the most comfortable I've slept in in a long time, the duvet feather light. The room was not very big, but the bathroom was a nice size w/ heated floors (though not very evenly) and lovely rain shower head as well as tub. The bathrobe was also super soft and comfy.

My only wish was that the sheer curtains underneath the thick curtains could be a little less see-through, so that there's more privacy while still letting light through. Since our room was on the ground floor facing the courtyard, anytime we were in the room we had to draw all the curtains for privacy since the sheers were pretty much transparent. It's a shame esp. w/ such nice california weather outside!!

The room was also a bit noisy at night as there were guests hanging out in the courtyard till past 12am, conversing very loudly (probably not aware how much their voices travel).

Also, the hotel charges $25 for service in lieu of cash tips, which on the one hand is nice without having to worry about tipping, but on the other hand is actually quite a lot considering they carried just a few bags for us. Service was very good and pleasant though.
Of course, the room was also very expensive, but I suppose there's not much point complaining about that since everything in Napa is so expensive and overpriced these days.
The hotel's proximity to Bouchon Bakery was a nice bonus...the pastries and breads are absolutely delicious.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same size for the price, so have a look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at North Block Hotel several times in recent years, when it was previously Hotel Luca. We loved the hotel, hence the reason for us returning time and time again, and when we heard that it was being taken over by new owners/management, we weren't sure what to expect.

I would just like to say that seeing Carmen's smiling face so early in the morning put me immediately at ease; it was great to see a familiar face still here to quickly and efficiently assist me!

We are only here for a short stay this time, visiting from England, but look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JensJustDesserts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just returned from a stay at North Block. It's on the small side but the use of space is unique and top notch. Loved the porch off our second floor room and the little extras like a Nespresso machine and the Aveda like toiletries. I will forever miss that amazing bath tub and shower! Reddwood turned out to be one of our favorite places for a pizza and a bottle of wine. I would not hesitate to return here and suggest strongly to anyone staying in the area to seek this place out! We could not help but feel like it was the best kept secret in town.

Room Tip: Loved the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 amazing nights at North Block. Here is a quick run down of all the positives from our experience (I am very picky when I travel and can confidently report there were no negatives about North Block).

1. The Room: was very, very nice and clean. When you visit Napa, it is great to have a comfortable, warm place to come home to after a day of wine tasting. The room was big, seemed new, and the bed was very comfortable. The balcony was great as well, we went out there both nights to enjoy a glass of wine. The best part of the room is the large bathroom. The shower is a high pressure ceiling shower that feels great. The bath products are made by North Block and are awesome. And the large bathtub, like the balcony, is a great place to relax at the end of a day of tasting.

2. The Service: Excellent! We received a complimentary wine bottle to celebrate our honeymood when we arrived in our room, and we were upgraded (without even asking) to a patio room.

3. The location: Great! Located right next to the bike rental business, which was great for our day bike trip. Just a short, enjoyable walk to all downtown Yountville has to offer. If you haven't been to Napa before, this is the location to be when it comes to experiencing the best that Wine Country has to offer in terms of close proximity to restaurants and central location for all of Napa's wineries.

Miscellaneous:
1) the Redd Wood restaurant (located right next to hotel) served some of the best pizza we'd ever eaten. We canceled our reservations one night so we could go back to try a different pizza. It is a great place, with a cool atmosphere, that is devoid of the high prices you see at alot of the other establishments.

2) The grounds are charming, it feels like a tiny Mediterranean village. It is the opposite of a chain hotel where you feel you are just one of a thousand guests at any given time, but there is still activity at night in the courtyard and nearby restaurant, which makes it fun. I love the smaller size (I would guess only about 30 rooms? maybe less). Also, another benefit of the size is the close proximity to the parking lot, if you ever have to run to your car it literally takes less than 60 seconds.

Overall, this hotel is awesome and we can't wait to go back (we are already booking our return visit for this February).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing