We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!”
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I frequent Napa often and this is our favorite place to stay, hands down! Conveniently located next to several nice restaurants with very modern, yet comfy amenities. There is a turn down service as well as nice treats upon arrival. The staff is friendly and they are one of the few places that has a private pool. I also love the heated floors in the bathroom! A must stay!

Room Tip: We preferr the bottom floor King rooms and #26 is one of our favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    60
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
250
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This veritable jewel in the heart of Yountville combines a hip, urban style, coupled with a Tuscan vibe is highly recommended. The staff was warm, professional, and anticipated all our needs and wants without any hesitation. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to work there, and happy to welcome us to the property. The courtyard is beautifully landscaped with container gardens and fountains. Beds were very, very comfy, with good quality jacquard linens. Really enjoyed the rain fall shower head and heated bathroom floors. Another perk is Richard Reddington's newest venue, Redd Wood, located within the hotel: amazing pizzas, pastas, salads and entrees had a cool, Mission District hipster vibe coupled with Tuscan chic. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, RI
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A cozy, yet sophisticated vibe washes over you as soon as you step foot into the very well-appointed guest rooms. The staff was very attentive, but unobtrusive when not needed. The restaurant was not open yet when we were there, but Redd is one of our favorite restaurants in California, so can't wait to check out Richard Reddington's newest venture. Defintely the pkace to stay in Yountville.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horlbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the moment you drive into Napa Valley North Block Hotel is the place to stay. The hotel is small and luxurious. The staff was very nice, friendly and knowledgeable, they also helped get us into Redd. We walked next door and had a wine tasting right next door. When we got to the room it was really comfortable,clean, with a nice note welcoming us. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on our balcony overlooking a water fountain and watched the sunset.
The next day we rented bikes (right next door too) and went for a good bike ride. Afterwards, enjoyed the pool at the hotel. Just everyone was so welcoming. Next time we will stay longer!

Room Tip: Upstairs with a balcony over water fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawrenceB_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After a beautiful drive into Napa and a wine tasting experience, we checked into the calm oasis of the North Block hotel. We were greeted by Kelly, the operations manager. Smiles and service prevailed through her to Brian who helped us as we settled into our lovely pool side room: quiet and welcoming with a clean flair. Each staff person made it a point to greet us and asked if there was anything they could do. When you have a conversation with people in the facilities departments,, through housekeeping and to the front desk, and every conversation is ensuring your satisfaction, that is a sign of an exemplary team. Sairi, John, Jeremy and the other unsung members will be as hospitable to you as they were to us.

Room Tip: All looked to be just as nice as our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now. We discovered this amazing place and never booked anywhere else since. If you are looking for ultra luxury and the best service and amenities then North Block is it. Ty, the GM and his staff went above and beyond for us and always do. Their outdoor fireplace with surrounding couches in the courtyard remind me of a picturesque Italy. The pool is amazing, quiet and relaxing. The rooms have heated floors, everything looks and feels brand new. The bed and pillows are the best ever, so much so that my wife actually made me call them and ask where they bought their pillows. Of course, them being so awesome, they responded immediately and I was able to track down a few for my wife. If you want to be in the best location in Napa, next to all the best restaurants in the world in Yountville, and stay at a world-class hotel then stay here. It does not get any better. They should probably give me free nights for this review but this is truly how I feel about this hotel each and every time I come here. Oh, don't forget about the free champagne each day and the warm cookies on your nightstand before you go to bed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Mike and Heidi room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

North Block is a very nice boutique hotel, in a nice location, that has a mostly quiet and peaceful vibe (outside of a couple of evening hours when the restaurant is busy). We stayed in a ground floor premier king room. It was large and well appointed. The bathroom floor was heated, which was a very nice addition. Top notch caramels were left on the night stand with turn down service. An in-room espresso machine provided a much needed pick-me-up after mid-day wine tasting and before dinner. On the downside; there was not much natural light, the carpet was stained, there was no make-up mirror in the bathroom, the bed pillows were uniformly of the under-stuffed, soft, feather variety, the hotel did not restock the bottled water once in three days, and the shower head was a straight overhead rain on your head head (not my personal favorite). On balance, all the detractions were enough to make me feel like I over paid, but not enough so that I would not go back if I got a great rate. Don’t make the mistake I did of thinking that since I was paying a five star rate I would get a five star hotel. The North Block is a solid four star, not a bit more.

Room Tip: The people at the on-sight restaurant are very nice, but you should still make sure to walk down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
729 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
7.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing