We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every second!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa Valley Aloft Balloon Rides

Napa Valley Aloft Balloon Rides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Napa Valley Aloft Balloon Rides is a family owned and operated business. Our family has been hot air ballooning over Napa Valley for more than 30 years, offering smaller, private-party hot air balloon flights. Situated in the heart Yountville, Napa Valley inside V-Marketplace, Vintage 1870, we offer exclusive hot air balloon rides and personal flights to celebrate your special occasion. Our hot air balloon pilots are among the most experienced in the world with extensive knowledge of Napa Valley, combined with their passion for hot air ballooning makes them perfectly suited to be your special hosts and guides during your morning with us. Kid friendly and fun for the entire family. Join us for a most unforgettable experience!
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved every second!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was very hesitant at first to take a hot air balloon ride because I had never done so before, and am slightly scared of heights. However this experience was truly once in a lifetime. Our balloon was not crowded at all and operated by a clearly experienced and educated pilot. I was too busy enjoying the ride to be scared, and I felt safe knowing our pilot was so knowledgable and had clearly been in the business for quite some time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexidelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I took a ballon ride up with Napa Valley Aloft in August of 2013. This was the best experience I've ever had on a balloon ride the pilot was very experienced and knew the area very well. They didn't over fill the baskets so it was still a great view for everyone (unlike other balloons up that same morning). We were able to take off from the parking lot and come back to a fantastic breakfast at the same spot! They even have a photographer for the special moments of lift off when you can't capture your own photo that you can purchase and will be ready by the time you get back. One of the best ballooning experiences in the Napa ( or anywhere I've been up for that matter). I would recommend this company to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“What a morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in Yountville for our 10th anniversary, booked the ride given the proximity to our hotel and have absolutely zero regrets. Even if we couldn't launch from the parking lot as they usually do. A short van ride to nearby Pope Valley produced views better than anything you'd get in Napa Valley. Jay is the man. Extremely informative, great storyteller, amazing host. They knocked the ball out of the park with this one. Definitely glad we went this company and their smaller basket.

Champagne breakfast is an added bonus.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thrill Of A Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took a balloon ride with Napa Valley Aloft in August, 2013. You gotta get up pretty early in the morning if you want a balloon ride. We were on site at 6 a.m., when the currents are most stable. This company stresses safety first.

It was a spectacular experience. We were in a balloon with only 5 other people and the pilot, who also owns the company. At the check-in process, we were told we were going to another site due to foggy weather (hey you can't control the weather). They took us to an area called Pope Valley, where it was much more clear. It was about a 45 minute ride.

I was lucky enough to ride along with the owner's young son, (8 years old?) who told me the story of ballooning. He was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

The pilot of our craft was also the owner, which is an added bonus. The owner (Jay?) has been a balloon pilot for many years, and his stories and experience were very interesting. You can tell he has a passion for ballooning, and he made the ride much more enjoyable and informative by telling us what and why he was doing things.

The views were spectacular, and the ride was quite comfortable.

This is a family owned business, but they were consummate professionals from the start. If you only take one balloon ride in your lifetime, I would definitely recommend Napa Valley Aloft.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TomK_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unique view of the Napa Valley area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband planned this activity for our anniversary and I was modestly interested, but was pleasantly surprised.

It starts pre-dawn so be prepared for that. I probably should have gone to bed earlier and eaten a snack.

The staff/owners are friendly and clearly have a passion for ballooning and have a lot of experience. It's a family operation so you feel like they really care about everything. There were 12 passengers in the balloon so you could kind of chat with people.

Being in the balloon is very serene and offers a gorgeous view (We flew in Pope Valley). It was also interesting to watch them filling, "steering," and landing the balloon. Jay, the pilot, was informative friendly and pointed out landmarks throughout the ride.

We ended with a really nice brunch when we got back to the meeting site. We met some nice people and heard some great ballooning stories.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marmac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Valley Aloft Balloon Rides also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Napa Valley Aloft Balloon Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing