We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful girls weekend”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a girls weekend at Bardessono and really loved it. Especially nice to be able to walk around Yountville to all the amazing restaurants- we never had to drive! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall we felt very well taken care of and pampered. The architecture and landscaping are really beautiful too.
The rooms were modern, clean, spacious and nicely furnished. Comfortable beds, linens and pillows. Great closet/bathrooms. I liked the automatic shades. The little patio you get is walled which is nice for privacy but you really have no view of anything. Small complaints would be the water pressure in the shower was really bad. And the poured concrete floors in the bedroom made the space feel too cold- there were beautiful wood floors in the bathroom and it would have been nice to have them in the bedroom. We had a room close to the road and it was a little noisy with delivery trucks and loud people- all 3 nights it sounded like someone was having a party outside our room until about midnight. Room service breakfast was excellent and so was the food at Lucy for lunch. I loved the water provided in glass milk jars. Especially at turndown with lemon or orange in it.
We got massages and facials at the spa and both treatments were excellent. I had a prenatal massage and the lady did an amazing job. Keep in mind it is not a really great spa for ambiance- it is very small and very basic but the treatments were great. I think they prefer to do most services in your room.
It was too cold to use the pool but the views from the pool deck were lovely and it looked like a fun place to relax.

My major complaint would be the gym needs to be improved. It is really too small with not enough machines or equipment. One morning when all 4 of us wanted to work out, we had to go to the gym in town that they have an arrangement with. That place was so old and dirty with really dated machines- I was really surprised they would send hotel guests there.

Overall I would love to go back but would love it if they enlarged the spa and gym facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear lovetotravel702,

Thank you for choosing us for your girls' getaway. We're delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks, too, for this very thorough, thoughtful, and balanced review.

You made several great observations about us. If we able to redevelop Bardessono, we would have put the wood floors in the bedroom and the tile floor in the bathroom with under-floor radiant heating. We are not able to correct this without considerable expense involved.

Water pressure should be strong, as we have no flow restrictors in place, despite being very "green". High occupancy does impact it, though, as you can imagine.

Our rooms are generally very quiet. Being in the middle of the Town of Yountville, though, does mean some ambient noise from our surroundings.

Our Fitness Deck is only a year old. We built it in the only space we had available without reducing our room count. It is small, but the equipment is excellent and it is squeaky clean. The reason why we built our own Fitness Deck was due to being no longer comfortable referring people to the Fitness Center near us, which was our M.O. since opening.

I hope I've adequately addressed the improvement opportunities you offered us in your review above.

Please come back...soon and often.

Warmest regards.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We recently returned from a divine weekend getaway to Bardessono – yet for us, it was so much more than that… we hosted our intimate Wedding Ceremony in the private dining room of Lucy Restaurant!!!

However, to truly explain the essence of the incredibly unique and personal Bardessono experience, one must know that it begins long before your visit and continues with the management’s personalized follow up shortly after you have left!

About a month prior to our visit, we began coordinating with the resort’s incredibly accomodating director of catering & conference services, Tess Allen. She was able to quickly organize not only the most delectable four-course degustation paired with the ideal wines for our intimate reception, yet also coordinate the most perfect Tufa one bedroom Suite for our three day stay (we also traveled with two younger children and the suite provided privacy, space and easy living that is always so desirable while on a family vacation!) However, she was not the only staff member to go up and beyond to assist me and my guests! The special event manager, Alexis Alexander, oversaw the delivery of my flower girl dresses/accessories, however she completely saved the day by recommending the incredibly talented makeup artist Jocelyn Gomez; as well as working with the chef to secure a specially requested ingredient for our menu and of course, being on hand prior to and during the event to ensure all ran smoothly – thank you!!!

I know how much planning, dedication and commitment goes into creating a team of your caliber and as such, I just wanted to acknowledge your team's outstanding effort.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort and your staff (everyone from the front desk, concierge, bellboys, team in charge of the bikes – yet most of all the restaurant staff and their manager, Guy Barstad) – all whom went out of their way to supersede our expectations and truly ensure that my husband, myself and the guests of our wedding party had the most perfect experience. Thank you!

We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world (One&Only's, Plaza Athenee, Sandy Lane, etc.) and the casual/laid back, yet luxurious and refined sophistication that embodies Bardessono, its staff, overall service and perfect Yountville location rivals the best and it was an incredible and very memorable stay.

The resort is so perfectly located in order to enjoy all that Yountville and surrounding areas have to offer! It was so fun to be able to utilize the resort's bikes to explore the area - especially being given directions/tips as to where to head out!

We will definitely be back and look forward to returning soon!!! As we are very 'big fans' of Bardessono! Thank you to the entire staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tufa One Bedroom Suite on the first floor near the lobby. The rooms are beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodiecomida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear foodiecomida,

It is I who should be thanking you, not the other way around... What a wonderful review - so detailed and thoughtful. You make us sound perfect, which despite trying to be, we are not.

You were so kind to talk about Tess, Alexis, and Guy. We are blessed with a wonderful team here, and these three, like their colleagues, are excellent at their jobs and taking great care of our guests (and fellow employees).

We hope you'll be back soon. It was such a pleasure serving you.

All best wishes and many thanks from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you enjoy a fine hotel, Bardessono is for you. Everything from the architectural features to the art to the accommodations are first class. And if you are one of those people who like to have a massage in your room, you will love that opportunity. Staff is helpful and friendly, Lucy is a fabulous restaurant, rooms are lovely. It is also a most convenient spot from which to explore Napa Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Linda L,

What a nice review. Thank you, and thank you for staying with us.

I'm pleased to learn you tried an in-room massage here. They are special, as every guest bathroom is designed to also serve as a spa treatment room. Further, when the massage is over, no need to get dressed and exit.

It's also nice to read that you enjoyed Lucy. We're very proud of our restaurant in this highly competitive food and wine environment.

And our location is second to none in Napa Valley, as you point out. Yountville is the Valley's center and heart.

We do hope you'll return soon.

Warmest regards from all of us.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This is one if the best luxury hotels we have stayed at around the world. It is modern, stylish, has everything you need, well located, great staff and of course green. I don't think there is anything more you could ask for in hotel in a wine district and if you come to Napa staying at Bardessono will add to the experience. One thing to note at the moment is there is some local construction which is making noise from about 7.30am.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MikeyfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear MikeyfromOz,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves here.

The construction you reference was a remodel of our Town Hall, which shares space with the local elementary school. The good news that it is winding down, and will be completely finished by the end of January.

Croatia is not exactly around the corner, but we do hope you'll return one day. It was our pleasure serving you.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our stay at Bardessono is definitely THE best experience we've had at any hotels. It is intimate and romantic. The property itself is gorgeous. The service is impeccable with extreme attention to details. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. And the Lucy restaurant has the most amazing breakfast (we didn't have a change to try their dinner though).
We were wowed from the very beginning. The minute we arrived at Bardessono, the manager welcomed us with wine and showed us around the property while we enjoyed the beautiful Chardonnay. After a long drive from the SF airport, we were immediately relaxed and knew that we were indeed in Napa Valley. Learning that we were celebrating our anniversary, they delivered a bottle of sparkling wine, truffles and a congratulation card to our room just minutes after we settled in. The wine was refreshing and the chocolates were beautifully handcrafted as well as delicious.
All the valets were very attentive and helpful. They would set up our bikes very early in the morning and were ready to help with various errands. But we were most impressed during the second night, when we had dinner at the French Laundry.While the restaurant was only a few
blocks down the street, it was hard to walk in high heels. The valet took us there with one of the hotel's Lexus (by the way, all their cars use hybrid power, another impressive detail to me as someone working on environmental studies), took pictures for us at the famous bronze sign and told us that the restaurant had them at speed dial. So we only needed to ask our server to ring them up when dinner ended. The minute our valet arrived to pick us up, he came in to tell us to take our time and that he would be waiting right outside as we took a tour around the kitchen. We couldn't help but being touched by this attention to detail.Of course, during our four-day stay, examples as such were too many to enumerate.
By the way,we had the most delicious breakfast at Lucy's. They successfully put an Asian twist to their dishes, the ingredients were extremely fresh, and they had the most amazing assortment of complementary mini pastries. Excelling in every aspect-this is what only the best hotels can achieve.
Bardessono has exceeded all our expectations and left us with wonderful memories. We will definitely return whenever we are in Napa again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuxw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear yux07,

Wow. What a great review. Thank you for taking the time to chronicle your stay with us in such detailed fashion. We so enjoy learning when we delight our guests. It's very inspirational and motivational for us. I share all reviews with all our employees with profuse thanks, and occasional thoughts on how we can improve.

I'm so glad you enjoyed our hotel to the fullest and appreciated our service and attention to detail. And you really did Yountville right by a trip to The venerable French Laundry, arguably one of the best restaurants in the world, and just six or seven short blocks from us.

We hope we'll see you back here soon.

All the bet from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The restaurant manager Guy was amazing! Our room was the king queen steam spa suite, it was perfece because we had our kids and we were able to have luxury and PRIVACY. I even did one of my famous Tiffany Rothe Workouts in the outdoor patio!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffanyRotheWorkouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Ms. Rothe,

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for posting this nice review. You're right about our rooms with a king bed and then separate area for a queen be, too. And that area has its own TV and headset, as well as a privacy curtain.

Your kind words about Guy Barstad are also appreciated. He's a great restaurant manager and a fun person to be around. Guy is very popular here.

We hope you'll return soon and often as it was our great pleasure to serve you.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono, especially Guy and me.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Bardessono is a beautifully designed, Platinum LEED Award property in the heart of Yountville. It has the feel of a modern, spacious home with wonderful indoor/outdoor spaces, great landscaping with ponds, water features, fountains and riles, all contributing to the peaceful elegance of the hotel.

We spent Christmas week at the Bardessono and had a wonderful stay.
One complaint was that there was no coffee maker in the room. There is a bar area near Lucy’s Restaurant, opening onto the garden pools and sculptures, where coffee and pastries are served all morning. On checkout we mentioned the coffee maker and were told that for Platinum certification they are not able to provide one, but that requests for any such items are happily filled. So be sure to ask for one on arrival if you don’t want to get dressed and go downstairs for coffee in the morning.

Our party consisted of 2 couples (family). The one room, number 120 I think, was at the property edge and looked onto a construction site next to the hotel. Concerned about building noise they asked to be moved and this was done without incident or problem. Most rooms appear to be very private with no one balcony or patio over looking another. Our rooms, King Spa Suites, were quiet and well appointed, though more with the feel of a contemporary home than a luxurious hotel. There was thoughtful inclusion of everything you might need, some items (like body and bath spa products and snack food) at a ‘think twice’ fee.
One problem with the room: there are no blackout blinds, only room darkening shades. Some of these are outside tilt slat style, energy conserving shades, that double as the night blinds and some are inside roller blinds, so the rooms get light with sun-up. (But, a plus, there are no awful heavy, dust accumulating drapes!)

The bathrooms are as large as the bedrooms with space for in-room massage tables, 2 sinks, huge air baths, wonderful robes and towels and plenty of closet space. The other couple had massages that they said were the best they had ever experienced.

We had one dinner and 2 or 3 breakfasts in Lucy’s Restaurant. I had notified the restaurant of a gluten and shell fish allergy beforehand and everything was prepared accordingly. The dinner was very nice, with good, pleasant service. In retrospect it was not the best food in Yountville where the competition is stiff. We had an overcharge on our bill for the wine, an incident that was handled brusquely by the restaurant manager but with class by the hotel staff. The chef served a complimentary lobster bisque in a shot glass between courses that was awful – the consensus: avoid it.

The concierge and valet services are excellent. There was a fleet of Lexus cars for test driving if you chose. Although Bardessono is in walking distance of most places in Yountville, they will also arrange complimentary drop off and pick up if you so desire.

All in all, a great experience. Service was outstanding.

Room Tip: All rooms seem private and quiet except perhaps near the construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear jill305,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this very detailed, balanced, and thoughtful review. I'm sure it will be helpful to others contemplating a visit to the Valley and possibly Bardessono.

Your review deserves and equally thoughtful response. I'll try; and forgive me for focusing only on what may be construed as "improvement opportunities" for us.

The absence of coffeemakers in our rooms is not a LEED platinum certification standard, but rather a statement about our overall concern for the environment. Brewing coffee in bulk is better for it. And as you point out, we do have coffeemakers upon request.

Room 120 does look across at the Elementary School/Town Hall. (They are combined into one structure. Only in Yountville....) And there was a major renovation project to the Town Hall portion of the building, which fortunately will be finished this month. I'm sorry for that inconvenience, but it was beyond our control.

Our exterior blind system in our rooms do provide darkness, but not quite 100% black out capability. We don't have plans to augment them due to the expense.

Of greatest concern are your comments about our lobster bisque amuse bouche, and our food in general. The majority of the comments we get about our food are favorable and compare us nicely to the other great restaurants in the area. I'm sorry we missed the mark here. We also apologize for a less than gracious handling of an overcharge in the restaurant. That is inexcusable. Errors we make of any kind should result in profuse apologies and immediate correction.

On balance, it looks like you enjoyed your stay. We're delighted. And thank you for your kind words about our staff and service. We have a wonderful group of people working here.

Please return...soon and often.

It was our pleasure to serve you.

All the best from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
761 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#4 of 6 in Yountville
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: $558 - $1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing