We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have stayed in some great hotels in the Napa Valley, but I think I might have found the best. Bardessono is a wonderful hotel located in Yountville. The service is excellent at every level. From the moment you walk in, the staff makes you feel like you are at home. This is a very upscale hotel, but it is not "stuffy". The rooms are well appointed and will please anyone seeking luxury accommodations. Each suite has outdoor space, indoor fireplaces, and spacious bathrooms. Free wireless and their own filtered water are a nice touch (no "nickel and diming" here). The hotel design is beautiful and their LEED certification commitment is amazing. The food at the Lucy (restaurant on-site) and the bar is very good. The bartenders are well-trained and make wonderful cocktails. The Yountville location is also a plus - close to everything and lots of dining options are in walking distance. Finally, this hotel understands that your dog is part of your family and cater to her needs just as much as your own. I look forward to my return visit!

Green Features: Just amazing, the thought and care they take to respect the environment is wonderful to witness.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinH_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear MartinH_NY,

Thanks for staying with us and posting this great review. "Perfection" is high praise, indeed.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with, particularly our location, rooms, food and drink, and service. We trying to be luxurious, but warm, friendly, and inviting...not pretentious or stuffy. We tend to be a little less formal than our competitors.

We do hope you'll return....soon and often.

All best wishes from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    115
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
938
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to stay in Napa? It's right here. This is no budget stay, but hey -- you're in Napa right?

This is a gorgeous, green hotel and spa that impeccably clean rooms with a seriously cool bathroom. In Yountville, there's plenty to walk around and do and of course, get a car and hit the wineries. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear jj3333,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here. And thank you for your kind words about our location, cleanliness, and bathrooms.

We hope you'll return....soon and often.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is our third time and certainly not our last. The combination of service, design, comfort, environmental sensitivity, privacy, luxury, and location is hard to beat. Bardessono is a destination to relax and sleep that matches the world class dining on offer only steps away. Our only complaint is that we never stay long enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Chris W.

We can't thank you enough for your patronage, loyalty, and friendship. I so appreciate your staying with us three times already and hopefully more. And thanks for this very nice review.

As I mentioned in a separate correspondence, please call on me for anything here.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono, and we hope to see you back here soon.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comps, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I came to Napa for our first time from France. Bardessono was recommended to us from a friend. From the very moment we arrived at Bardessono we entered another world where everything was simple but perfect. The total ambiance was very relaxed and informal but luxurious at the same time. Which for us, sums up the "new luxury" as to the way to travel. Checking in was more like being welcomed into someone's private home. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and immediately shown around the hotel and ground, being introduced to everyone. We were eventually shown us to our room which met us with more than our expectations. The two days that we spent at Bardessono were perfect. The staff were all friendly and were making sure that we always had everything to make our stay enjoyable. Our dinner at Lucy's was wonderful. Our only regret, was not having reserved a few more nights!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenfox16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear enfox16,

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting this wonderful review. You described the arrival process here perfectly, as well as our ambience.

And our staff is a collection of really nice people trying very hard to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable, and special. I'm glad you enjoyed dinner in Lucy, too.

Next time, please stay longer. There is so much to see and do in Napa Valley and at Bardessono, of course.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Bardessono while in Napa. What a beautiful room,very very clean, quiet, peaceful, earth friendly, architecturally stunning with organic products for your use. Service was impeccable. Employees made everything easy, they went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The food was amazing also at Lucy (the hotel's restaurant). When we vacation, we typically stay at 4-5 star resorts and pleasantly this has turned out to be one of my all time favorites. One thing we noticed was how quiet the rooms are...you truly feel like you are in a house. The steam shower and HUGE bathtub was the bonus! The cost was in line with a hotel that would be of this caliber in other locations, not cheap, but worth it ! Its was easy to walk to all the local shops/restaurants/ and some of the wine tastings. Would definitely recommend!

Green Features: We support and appreciate the efforts with the hotel's Enviornmental practices
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauretta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JonandM,

You're so nice to post this very favorable review. Thank you, and thank you for staying with us. Bedford N.H. is not exactly around the corner from us.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of our location. I also appreciate your wonderful praise for our staff and the service they deliver.

Do come back...soon and often.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We've had the pleasure of staying in various accommodations in Napa Valley. We were regulars at another property, but I chose to try something new on this visit, and boy am I happy I did. The service to an individual was exceptional from the time we arrived, until we depart.

Yountville is pretty centrally located to anywhere you'd like to go. Food and wine made this town, and the town has exploded with world class restaurant. If you choose to dine in any location in Yountville the Barbessona provides car service. You can even test drive the latest Lexus vehicle for up to 4 hours, or they have bike for you to get around on.

Our room was modern and very well appointed. Some might say the decor is too modern for some taste but it the Bardessono level of appointment which really matters. The bathrooms are large and will even allow for private in-room massages, in this tranquil space. My wife took advantage of the soaking tube every day. It was too cold to use of the outdoor shower or the private patio but it would be nice to try it in good weather. There is so much to take advantage of on this property that you can find a suitable room and be happy with any room you choose.

Bottom line in any business is the people, and Bardessono has some of the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzagzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear zigzagzap,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this thoughtful review. I'm so sorry, though, that your trip coincided with a cold snap here. Usually our outdoor showers are enjoyable year round.

Your kind words about our staff and convenient location are also appreciated. And you're right. Our ambience is contemporary; and for those looking for traditional old world luxury, we might not be a good fit.

We hope you'll return, perhaps in warmer weather next time.

Warmest regards.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

If you require 'perfection' in lodging, service and destination for your vacation then you will not be disappointed with the Bardessono! Absolutely everything was perfect and greatly exceeded our expectations on every level. The property itself is visually and aesthetically stunning.

Its modern architecture and landscaping blends in nicely with the quaint town of Yountsville. From the moment that we entered the property our blood pressure, heart rate and anxiety plummetted to the 'Zen' state, for which the Bardessono so expertly creates in every way. The check-in was uneventful- even pleasant. Immediately we felt like we were visiting old friends who were happily awaiting our arrival. They even determined that we had visited their sister property in Seattle a few years ago and kindly acknowledged our return with a scrumptous bottle of wine in our room. Nice touch! They provided a brief orientation tour, showed us to our rooms and quickly demonstrated how to work the high-tech features. We were happy, settled in our room and quite comfortable within 20 mins of our arrival.

The staff are extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about the stores, shops, activities and tasting rooms in Yountville and beyond. As guests and with their kind insistence, you can share their reputation as 'a friendly neighbor and good citizen'. They will tell you to mention their name and/or the specific name of a Bardessono staff member and you willl always get extra consideration by local merchants and regional wineries. As their guests you literally are treated as royalty throughout Yountville and surrounding towns.

Our room and the overall hotel design/decor would be considered minimalist, modern and green...and also spectacular! These styles are not typically my favorite but here they are expertly combined in a way that provides soothing comfort to its guests. Even the food, service, common areas and facilities were perfectly themed, timed and delivered to enusre our complete 'Zen-ness'. Being 'green' was not an inconvenience nor was it overt as other hotels/resorts may practice it, it is simply a part of who they are, what they do and how they do it every day and in every way- and it has only a positive impact to their guests.

I do not think that we have ever had a more relaxing or enjoyable 3 day getway.

Thank you Bardessono for a truly perfect getaway. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Go for the Tufa Suite- lots of deals for this room type on the luxury discount travel website- it...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do 'green right! It is simply part of who they are and how they do things. It is not only a benefit to the earth and the community- it is also of great benefit to their guests.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Message4Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Message4Melanie,

This is such a nice and thorough review. Thank you so much. You wrote about our staff a lot, and the very caring and personalized service they deliver. I can't talk about them enough myself. I'm so proud of each and every one of them.

Every good hotel I know claims to offer service better than their competitors. And so do we, of course. It's surveys like yours that, although anecdotal, validate our belief.

I'm so glad you stayed here, and equally glad that you stayed at one of our sibling hotels in Seattle - Hotel 1000, Sorrento Hotel, and Willows Lodge in Woodinville - all excellent hotels (and not as pricey as we are.)

Please return soon and often.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
727 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
1,985 reviews
14.8 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Property: Bardessono
Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing