We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort with access to Yountville”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely resort with access to Yountville”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here two nights with our two boys ages 8 and 13. We had a room with a king size bed and a queen on the first floor. I suspect the second floor might be better with more light and perhaps possible views. We had a small outside area which was nice for reading. For two nights this room set up was perfect as it accomodated our family well. It had two TVs and a large bathroom with steam shower and deep jacuzzi tub. Loved the large windows in the bathroom that lets you bathe by natural light. The staff was very attentive yet a bit familiar and casual. We had stayed at Callistoga Ranch in the past and found the staff to be friendlier and more accessible at Bardessono. While the Rach rooms were bigger and kids missed the private hot tub - I prefered the decor of the Bardessono. The pool at at Bardessonoa is lovely and never crowded. Great poolside service and lovely views. The spa was fine and clearly geared toward services in your room. Tha manicurist was excellent. We also loved the food at Lucy's where we ate one dinner and both breakfasts. Bikes were available as well to tour the town.

Room Tip: I would ask for 2nd floor room that may allow you a view. Most rooms on first floor do not have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear rdkflk,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this review, which will no doubt be helpful to Trip Advisor's readers when considering our hotel.

We only have a handful of upstairs rooms here with views. Being right in the middle of the Town of Yountville, we do not promote great views, although the views from our rooftop pool are exceptional.

Your comment about our staff is interesting. We try to walk the fine line of being warm, sincere, friendly, and unscripted, but not too familiar. If we err, it's on the side of being casual and perhaps too familiar, as opposed to stuffy, formal, and aloof. We just hire really nice people, train them extensively, and then let them be themselves. Their enthusiasm for wonderful guest service shows.

We do hope you'll return, and promise we'll work very hard to earn top marks from you next time.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    115
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
932
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We can't say enough good things about our experience at Bardessono this past weekend other than that our time there was too short. The location was very convenient for getting to local spots including Bouchon, Bottega, Ad Hoc (fried chicken box lunch not to be missed!) and numerous in town tasting venues (some of which waived our tasting fee once we mentioned they were recommended by the hotel). We also found the front desk and concierge services to be courteous and very helpful (we did try to get an early check-in but it didnt work out - that said, it was peak season we had plenty to keep us busy while waiting for room). The grounds are immaculately landscaped and very clean. We didnt have time to have a meal at Lucy but found their appetizers and drinks during happy hour and poolside to be very good (especially the edamame hummus). The resort does offer free bikes to cruise the area but we ended up opting for morning runs around town. Clearly, this resort is at the higher end of the price point range but there is good reason for that. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Opt for a second floor if possible (we were in 120).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DondeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear DondeNJ,

Thank you for this thorough and very kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here and anticipate returning to us.

You did so many things that are fun to do here in Yountville. The fried chicken to-go box at Ad Hoc is a great way to start a picnic.

We'll look forward to your return.

Warm regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really great hotel with excellent service from start to finish. Our room was under the pool area which was probably not the best location as it backed into the delivery area and was therefore a bit noisier than it might have been. However, its really hard to fault the hotel (unless you are a swimmer !), the service or the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear gunnerbairn,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. I'm sorry, though, your room was not as quiet as you would have liked. Usually, our two rooms under the pool are in high demand because of their extraordinary privacy. But when you're in the middle of town, it's hard to control car-related ambient noise.

We're glad you seemed to have otherwise enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your kind words about our service.

We hope we'll see you back here soon.

Best wishes from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Yes, this hotel is pricey but the quality of the rooms and the service are amazing.
As mentioned in other reviews, you get greeted with a glass of wine and a smile. The rooms are very modern and offer very spacious bathrooms. The shower that works as a steamroom is also a deifnite hit.
Service is flawless. I proposed to my girlfriend in Napa and the concierge really helped me plan out a lot of details. They definitely went above and beyond what is expected of their function.
We also got the free lexus available for test drives and it was really fun. Once again, really good service as they usually require insurance but waived the requirement for us since we do not own a car.

Flawless stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear kristtov,

It was great to have a fellow Bostonian here. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that your proposal was a wonderful and memorable event. Congratulations. Now you know where to honeymoon.....

We're glad you enjoyed and mentioned some of our attributes, like our steam showers in many, but not all, of our ground floor rooms, our concierge team, and our Lexuses (although we shouldn't have waived the insurance coverage requirement.... I do love our staff's exuberance around trying to please our guests, though.)

We hope to see you back here at least annually.

All the very best from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a wedding. Great hotel and very modern. To me the best asset of this hotel is the staff. Every one of them was friendly and could not have been any more helpful.

I will definitely return and I look forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear George H,

Thank you for this "short and sweet" review, and for being with us for the wedding we did recently.

There are so many great hotels "out there", it's the staff that separates the great from the very good hotels. Thank you for recognizing our stay so positively. I'm very proud of each and every one of them.

We do hope you'll return.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is architecturally stunning. Rooms are large and spacious, wood and stone gives it a very luxurious yet earthy feel. Service is great. And it's located in yountville...where Thomas keller's French Laundry, La bouceron and ad hoc are. Not cheap but worth every dime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear littlemissT13,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this very nice review. You hit our highlights nicely - architecture, grounds, staff/service, and location.

You came a long way to stay with us. We do hope you'll return.

Warm regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The grounds are perhaps the best feature of this property; you would be hard pressed to find much better in terms of simplicity and zen. Valet staff were exemplary -- personable, professional, polished. Room was spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. Bar staff were the sticking point for me -- impersonal, unprofessional (talking about untoward personal matters in front of guests). As such, I didn't want to even try on-site dining at Lucy. Fortunately, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance nearby. Pool was just ok -- not as enjoyable to lounge with so many people chatting and raising voices. Additionally, guests seemed rather up-tight, unfriendly, and borderline snooty, which I find quite off-putting. Maybe there is something culturally/environmentally happening to predispose people generally to behave in this manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this detailed review. I am so sorry your stay was not as good as both you and we had hoped it would be.

We have already taken steps to improve our bar service, but the other issues you raise are more difficult with which to deal.

We find the vast majority of our guests to be kind, caring, and considerate of others. Although, after a day of wine tasting voices and laughter sometimes can get a bit amplified. People are here to get away from their normal lives, relax, re-charge, and have a "bucket list" experience. I'm sorry you did not.

If you return, I promise we'll take much better care of you next time.

Apologies again, and all best wishes from Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Property: Bardessono
Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing