We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bardessono is tops!”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Ramon, California
1 review
“Bardessono is tops!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Bardessono's combination of 'green' and luxury is a model for all to follow. Excellent in every way. Our room was the best so we will want it next time! We have stayed in many hotels in Yountville over the years. Once we understood the story of its 'green foundation' we were all the more impressed. The pool is fabulous; as is the spa. Everything was first class, while still adhering to the 'green' culture. We will certainly be back soon!

Room Tip: We had room 117 which was upstairs, south facing with walls of windows on two sides. A huge and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    115
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
932
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Bardessono for our 25th wedding anniversary, and it did not disappoint.
The hotel is a little modern compared to our usual choices, but the spacious room with steam shower and outside shower was perfect. The bar and lobby areas were a great place to relax. The outside fire was a popular spot. The pool area was well set out, if a little stark looking. We did the Sunday supper tasting menu with wine pairings at Lucy's which was very good.
The property is gorgeous and prettily landscaped.
The concierge had secured us a reservation at The French Laundry, two months ahead of time, which is quite a feat! The meal was perfect, great cuisine with an adventurous menu, caviar, truffles, sweetbreads.....the restaurant is in a lovely setting.
We took a balloon trip with Napa Valley Balloons, recommended by the hotel, which was a must-do and recommended some local wineries. We loved Far Niente and Nickel and Nickel. great tours, you have to book, but if you want to see the winemaking process, you see everything, from the picked grapes to the cellars. (we visited at harvest time).
Grab a sandwich at the Oakville grocery, the deli is wonderful. Cheeses, charcuterie and wine selections are impressive.
A truly memorable anniversary, everything was perfect.

Room Tip: We booked a Tufa suite, which was large and well appointed, if a little expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelongboatkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kini P, Director of Sales at Bardessono, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest from the UK,

Thank you for the great review! Glad you enjoyed the rooms, outdoor shower, pool and Lucy Restaurant. Our concierges do a terrific job with tall requests, not always easy to do with exquisit locations like French Laundry. We appreciate you recognizing them and their efforts.

We look forward to your next trip to the wine country to explore many more wonderful options.

Sincerely,

Kini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were more than impressed by every aspect of the Bardessono. Gorgeous property, great location, attentive and friendly staff, wonderful food, great pool, terrific rooms...I could go on and on. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. More than your average 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kini P, Director of Sales at Bardessono, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear World Traveler,

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your "going on and on" about Bardessono and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Bardessono back in February 2012 to celebrate my girlfriends 30th birthday and all I can say is WOW! The hotel staff was extremely friendly and even upgraded our room upon arrival. The complimentary bicycles and lexus vehicles that are available at no charge to the guest's are a must. This is one of most relaxing places I have ever stayed and we can't wait unitl we come back!

Room Tip: Get a room with the steam shower and a outdoor bathtub. There is nothing more romantic then laying i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kini P, Director of Sales at Bardessono, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Michael,

Wow, so pleased to see you enjoyed your trip so much that you came back to write a review after several months have passed. This expresses a lot to us, and we are very grateful for your wonderful compliments! Hope to see you for your girlfriend's 31st birthday celebration if not sooner.

Sincerely,

Kini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Highly recommend staying here. The property is gorgeous!! The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Being a holiday weekend I expected it to feel crowded but it was very relaxing.

Amenities include bikes to borrow which is always great considering Yountville is a fabulous place to tour via bike. You can ride around town or along a quiet road that wraps around vineyards. The pool area is a bit small however they have great poolside bed/cabanas to relax in. Awesome pool menu and cocktail list as well. I recommend the Royal Knees Up or the Sangria.

A must go if you are willing to spend the money to stay here. Worth every penny!

We dined at Lucy for dinner and the food was exceptional. I highly recommend eating here whether staying on property or not.

Room Tip: I recommend inquiring about the suites with outdoor showers...very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwalk412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kini P, Director of Sales at Bardessono, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Cwalk,

Lovely to know you enjoyed the layout of the property. With only 62 rooms, there is a great sense of tranquility even when the hotel is full. Vincent Lee, our Mixologist at Lucy, thanks you for the nod to his creative cocktail list. Let us know when we can reserve a cabana for your return visit!

Sincerely,

Kini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Bardessono as part of a fly drive holiday around California in June 2012. Out of all the places we stayed, Bardessono was our favourite. Firstly, it is situated in by far our favourite town in the Californian wine regions. Many people rate Sonoma, but we thought Yountville was far more beautiful and reminded us of being in Frankschoek in South Africa - another very beautiful town. The restaurants in Yountville are some of the best in the US and the shops were lovely.

The hotel itself is wonderful. When we arrived after a very long drive, we found the hotel staff exceptionally helpful, giving us a lovely complimentary glass of local ice cold white wine. Our room was fabulous, it was clean, modern and large and clearly someone had really thought about the use of space. We loved the restaurant food which stocked local produce. The roof top pool was inspired and had a wonderful view of the mountains.

The only thing that was annoying, was that we had given our hire car to the valet to park it. When we got back to the car on departure, we found that the number of miles on the car had increased and that the radio was on, indicating that someone might have taken it for a spin... We didn't mention this to the hotel, as we had to leave to get to our next destination, but something to watch if you are leaving your car with the valet...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Utterly, utterly gorgeous. This super eco-friendly hotel isn't cheap, but the stunning surroundings, comfortable rooms, exceptional service and thoughtful added extras are worth every penny. Its a perfect place to explore a very smart, very beautiful neighbourhood with more Michelin stars per capita than anywhere else in the world! Or just chill in a day bed by the pool with its mountain views with a glass of something local.

Sleek, contemporary rooms have their own little gardens complete with sun loungers, breakfast table and outdoor showers. Bathrooms have saunas, showers and fantastic jacuzzi baths with plenty of space for two! The in-room treatments are sublime - as is everything on offer at the spa. I had a full-body massage and non-surgical face-lift - Relaxing AND flattering!

When we arrived, fabulous local wine and charcuterie were waiting in our room, and in the evening dinner at Lucy's was fantastic. Much of the food is grown in the kitchen garden and both local food and wine producers feature heavily. All are delicious, and complimented by friendly and informative service.

If you can afford to stay at Bardessono you won't be disappointed. If you can't - tag a night or two onto the end of your stay elsewhere. Its worth treating yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agirlcalledme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,040 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Property: Bardessono
Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing