We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel is great for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napa Valley Railway Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2007

I stayed at the Napa Valley Railway Inn with my sister for one night. We stayed in room 8, one of the three or four rooms (carriages) that have little turrets above the beds--very charming and also made the ceiling higher and the room lighter. The rooms are simply but plesantly decorated and the bathrooms more than adequate.

Traffic noise was minimal although our room faced the street. The occasional car or bus went by from around 6 or 7am, but hardly major traffic noise.

I had no problem with the lack of on site staff. The receptionist at the health club where we checked in was friendly and helpful. Bouchon (Thomas Keller's brasserie and bakery) is just across the street and was great for breakfast. The hotel is centrally located for all the restaurants--Redd, Bistro Jeanty etc. and was by far the cheapest hotel (other than motels and chains) that I could find in the area.

I am returning again with my husband next week for a couple of nights while we tour some of the wineries and try Ad Hoc, Keller's newer restaurant in Yountville.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunchaser576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2007

A very unique type of place. Was fun staying there for three nights. A bit pricy, but normal for the area. Not much personal attetntion (never saw any hotel staff), but none is really needed since we weren't in the room much. No phones-good and bad.

Train car was neat and clean, and kind of fun to stay in. If you are looking for a high activity, lot's of thrills, look elsewhere. If you are looking to sit back and relax, and have a comfortable place to sleep, this is the place!

You are going for Napa valley wineries, not to spend the entire time in the hotel! This is anice and relaxing place to end and start the day. No frills-just relaxing!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gfm5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Napa Valley Railway Inn is really railway cars turned into a hotel room. Shot gun style but pretty good size. Comfortable enough but not for extended stays. Only book rooms away from the street. Great location within walking distance of shops & restaurants...Bouchon, Bistro Jeanty - awesome & Redd.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lscaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

On the positive side the rooms were huge, and in a pretty good location for getting around the Napa area.

I agree with the reviewers who say it's a very low-maintinence property. We checked in at the gym and didn't see any staff the rest of our stay.

The TV's were ok, a bit small and very limited channels. Not even all the main network channels.

It was kind of loud too. There were loud trucks and busses around most of the time and the walls were pretty thin.

one little tip. They will tell you there is no wi-fi in the area but we found several connections that were pretty good.

Overall I think the rooms were pretty over-priced. The price was lower than many of the places in Napa you'll find on trip-advisor but I would have preffered to spend an extra few bucks to stay at someplace actually worth the bucks. Or maybe the many b&bs in the area are cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda_grimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Wow, when I first saw the Railway Inn I thought it would be a great and interesting way to spend our weekend in beautiful Yountville and stay in an an actual Railway Car. I was absolutely wrong.

There are 9 Train cars converted into private rooms (as seen on their website). Unfortunately the reservations lady conveniently forgot to tell us the room we had booked was not one of the 9 Train Car rooms. It was the "Station House Room" #10 which is not a Train Car at all but more like an attic. In fact it isn't even "on the Napa railroad tracks" as stated on their website. It is located at the end of the line...literally, right next to the room they store all their tools in (Just in case it is tool time).

No phones so bring your cell phone if you have any questions or concerns. The person who checked us in at the Fitness Center (which is attached to the mall that is attached to the train) was kind enough to stop her Cardio exercise to check us in, after feeling as though we were bothering her she was of no help with any information in or around Yountville, or even show us where the room was. She was obviously more concerned with her Heart rate rather than the $178 room rate we had paid.

"Flatscreen in every room" not this one. Didn't matter, the room only had 3 T.V. stations. Other "mode rn features" included a coffee maker that warmed up the coffee for 45 seconds and then turned off completely. Key word; warm, luke warm. Unlike the shower (no tub), the sign stated don’t turn on the sink or flush the toilet while using the shower. It will get extremely hot. Good thing they put a sign to warning us!

The Inn is convenient to downtown and plenty of parking too as it is crammed in between 2 mall parking lots. So I should give them at least 1 star for tons of available parking.

In short this place is more like a BOO HOO than a CHOO CHOO. Be fare, give people what you advertise.

I called to later notify them of feeling mislead and told them I didn't think it was fare to mis-represent their accomadations. Their response: "They thought it was fare."

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank railwahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

Very Clean,large and comfortable rooms, great bathrooms, ours had a whirly spa thing as well. Over the raod from Bouchon, Bouchon bakery, and a short walk to the French Laundry and Redds. Take a break from the world and chill out at the Railway Inn at Yountville! Cheaper by a mile than anywhere else and what a bargain! Not the least bit hokey or tacky folks, take my word for it.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterZinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

My fiancé and I booked a room at the Napa Valley Railway Inn for Labor Day weekend. I work at a museum, love history, and was looking forward to staying in such a unique place. The railcar room was lovely with nice décor and skylights, nice big bathroom with tub and a fridge. Not for light sleepers though – the large bay windows looking out to the outside “hallway” which is a deck with a roof can be loud when people are talking and walking through. The hotel is in walking distance of most things in Yountville. I enjoyed our stay very much and I would have rated the inn has very good or excellent if I had not encountered such poor customer service…

The Inn had no reception area/no service staff. When I arrived to check in I could only find a sign directing you to check in at the nearby fitness center. My experiences with the fitness center people were not pleasant. (But they don’t work for the Inn, so I couldn’t blame them totally for having to deal with everything.) I arrived to find out that I was staying in a room, not a car. I discovered there are 10 rooms, 9 of which are actual cars. When I made my reservation over the phone, they never told me any of this. Why would I book a room at the Railway Inn to stay in anything other than a railway car? We had a rental car and could have stayed elsewhere. The woman found out there was one railway car available for the first of the three nights I was staying there, but that was an additional charge. I had to ask the receptionist at the gym ask if I could have the railway car room for the same price because of their error. She had to make several phone calls and finally a manager called my cell phone and acted like they were doing me a huge favor by giving me a discount on the room. I was told by both women that the person that takes reservations over the phone is usually good about telling people that the 10th room is not a railway car. As if I was lying!

I was frustrated because I received no apology for the inconvenience or no one tried to rectify the situation or make it better. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. The woman at the gym treated me as if it was my fault that I didn’t know about the room and because I made the reservations so close to the date I should be lucky that I was given a room at all. She told me I would not have found another room in Yountville. That may have been the case, but I didn’t NEED to stay in Yountville. I was so furious that I asked to stay in the rail car for a night and would look for a room elsewhere. I was then told that there would be no refund.

So, we stayed in the railcar for the first night and the other room for the rest of the weekend. The other room was more bare-bones – just a shower – and in the 2nd floor of an adjoining building…not bad, but I could have stayed in a regular less expensive hotel room somewhere had I known.

Moral of the story: Expect no customer service. You are on your own. No phones in the room, no reception. Just a person at the gym. When you book, make sure you are in fact staying in a railway car.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SjayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
941 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#4 of 6 in Yountville
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Railway Inn

Address: 6523 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range: $222 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Valley Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wine Country in the center of the sophisticated town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Railway Inn provides the perfect Napa Valley getaway. Let the Railway Inn's converted 100-year old train cars provide you with memorable accommodations walking distance to Thomas Keller's 'The French Laundry,' 'Bouchon,' and 'Ad-Hoc,' as well as Michael Chiarello's 'Bottega,' and 'Napa Style.' Comfortable, contemporary and convenient, relax outside your room in the evening on our patio with a glass of wine or in the morning enjoy a specialty coffee and fresh pastry from the Model Bakery's soon to open 3rd Napa Valley location right at the hotel. Outside your doorstep stroll to any of the 11 wine tasting rooms, boutique shopping or world-class dining located just steps away. A mix of history with all the modern conveniences for today's traveler, make the hotel an ideal destination when visiting the Napa Valley. In room amenities include complimentary WiFi, flat screen TV's, inviting luxurious linens and refrigerators for that just purchased bottle of Chardonnay. Hotel guest rooms consist of eight steam-era railcars permanently parked in the center of downtown Yountville in the heart of the Napa Valley. Each of the guest cars offers few hints of their former function: you'd never guess that No. 4 used to carry cattle or that the skylight in No.9 was once a hatch for ice-block deliveries. Providing the best location for your wine country escape, the hotel offers the convenience of not having to get into your car to enjoy an evening out in the best restaurants in the Napa Valley as well as great views of the surrounding mountains and adjacent vineyards during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Napa Valley Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Railway Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Railway Inn Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing