We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Napa Valley Railway Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Service”
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We want everyone to know that the Railway Inn provided us with fantastic customer service. We are looking forward to doing business with them again soon.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BridgePlayer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
91
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

For the money you cannot fault this accomodation in Yountville. The rooms were ver large - a whole caboose is a room. The ensuite bathroom had a perfectly adequate shower and all other facilities provided. We got a good nights sleep every night and the skylight (see other reviews) certainly didn't bother us (and I'm a light sleeper). There's a coffee bar open at the end of the row of the railcars and for breakfast the Bouchon Bakery is seconds away. This place is less next to Hurleys, Bottega and Bouchon and less than a 5 minute pleasant walk (on a sidewalk) from Redd, Ad Hoc and French Laundry. I would recommend all my friends to stay here with confidence - there were three of us and we all loved the place. Final tip for anyone staying in Yountville - it's quite a nice 15 minute walk up to Chandon at the end of the afternoon for a sit outside with a nice glass of fizz.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Railway Inn was very cute for a budget stay. The location in Yountville can't be beat. The rooms aren't fancy but they are very nice, clean and cozy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Wonderful little place to stay and in the heart of Yountville, my wife and I stayed there 3 nights for memorial day weekend(Fri-Sun) and was very happy with our stay. You are a few feet to all the top resturants and shops(Redd/Bistro Jeanty/Hurleys and the new Bottega-French Laundry is a few blocks away). Right next door to the Vintage 1870 shopping center. They are in the process of turning the Caboose into a coffee place(not sure what else) so that will be nice as the coffee provided in the rooms is pretty weak. Now the bad things, the water pressure is weak and you can get a jolt if someone else uses it while you are-but there are only eight rooms, so it does not happen to often. If you are looking for a five star hotel-this is not it, but if you are looking for something in yountville under $200 on a holiday weekend then this is it!!!! Also if you are a late sleeper and like it dark, be warned there are skylights over the bed and it will be bright come 7AM. We would get up early to hit the wineries and did not mind a all. I would stay here again, it was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobAgent21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel was great. Each room is an individual train car. We were in the caboose, which we liked because it had a coppola above the bed. We aren't the type of people to spend much time in our hotel rooms when we travel but we really like our hotels to be clean!
The room was definitely clean and they cater to the visitors checking out the vineyards. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. It was ok - not great. For a husband and wife trying to get ready at the same time the bathroom was difficult and challenging. There was also no full size mirror, or any mirror besides the bathroom's in our room. Other rooms did have bigger bathrooms and more mirrors.
There was a table and 2 chairs in the room but no where to sit and read the paper besides the bed.
I believe this was one of the cheapest hotels in Yountville and it served us very well for the two nights we were there.
Not once in the entire time we were there was the office ever open and another guest had to tell us a key had been left for us. That was a little sketchy, but didn't end up mattering at all.
For us, this was great - I could see other people on a vacation looking for more amenities and services being disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMComerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We were a little hesitant to book this Inn, as there were several negative reviews about it. However, we didn't regret it one bit! The Inn itself is so cute - converted railway cars - and each room is large and comfortable.
The only cons would be the skylight - cool concept, but hard to sleep in when the sun is shining directly into your eyes, and the shower facilities. The drains didn't work at all, and after five minutes, we would end up in inches of gunky water. Also the bathroom is very COLD!
There is no reception (at least not by the time we got in), but it was easy to get the keys from the gym.
The nice part would be the easy walking distance to great restaurants; the Bouchon Bakery is literally steps away. There's a grocery store very nearby, as well as some shops and cafes.

  • Liked — Concept
  • Disliked — Shower did not drain
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livininChine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

After reading the reviews of this hotel, we decided to give it a try. It was near all of our favorite wineries...and sounded like it was located right in the heart of Yountville.

Bottomline - we LOVED IT! The room was so comfortable, clean and inviting. And the price was excellent for this area. The Inn is definitely located right in the heart of the town....restaurants and coffee shops right outside the door to our "car".

We were told when we booked our room that they were getting pretty full...that a wedding party would also be staying at the Inn at the same time we were there. However, in the 2 days / nights we were there, we did not hear or see one other guest the entire time. It was soooo quiet and, well, perfect!

If ever in Yountville again (I sure hope it's soon) we will DEFINITLEY stay at the Napa Valley Railway Inn again. Hands down, a great stay and value.

  • Liked — Location & Value
  • Disliked — box cars are "smallish" by design...but not a con in anyway. Just know that it IS a rail box car
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LShepSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Railway Inn

Property: Napa Valley Railway Inn
Address: 6523 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Valley Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wine Country in the center of the sophisticated town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Railway Inn provides the perfect Napa Valley getaway. Let the Railway Inn's converted 100-year old train cars provide you with memorable accommodations walking distance to Thomas Keller's 'The French Laundry,' 'Bouchon,' and 'Ad-Hoc,' as well as Michael Chiarello's 'Bottega,' and 'Napa Style.' Comfortable, contemporary and convenient, relax outside your room in the evening on our patio with a glass of wine or in the morning enjoy a specialty coffee and fresh pastry from the Model Bakery's soon to open 3rd Napa Valley location right at the hotel. Outside your doorstep stroll to any of the 11 wine tasting rooms, boutique shopping or world-class dining located just steps away. A mix of history with all the modern conveniences for today's traveler, make the hotel an ideal destination when visiting the Napa Valley. In room amenities include complimentary WiFi, flat screen TV's, inviting luxurious linens and refrigerators for that just purchased bottle of Chardonnay. Hotel guest rooms consist of eight steam-era railcars permanently parked in the center of downtown Yountville in the heart of the Napa Valley. Each of the guest cars offers few hints of their former function: you'd never guess that No. 4 used to carry cattle or that the skylight in No.9 was once a hatch for ice-block deliveries. Providing the best location for your wine country escape, the hotel offers the convenience of not having to get into your car to enjoy an evening out in the best restaurants in the Napa Valley as well as great views of the surrounding mountains and adjacent vineyards during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Napa Valley Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Railway Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Railway Inn Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing