We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value, leaving more money for WINE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napa Valley Railway Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Yountville B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great value, leaving more money for WINE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place is great value - and walking distance to lots of places to eat and drink and make merry. The rooms are nicely furnished, if a little chintzy for our taste, but very comfortable, and we were grateful for the golf umbrellas in the rooms as it poured with rain when we arrived. For breakfast, it's almost opposite the delicious Bouchon Bakery, and there's also a coffee caboose at the end of the row of carriages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were here in November and the rooms were fairly cold. The heater heats up the middle part of the rail car but on the ends where the bed and the bathroom are stay pretty cold. This is definately no frills but has a great location and is pretty decent overall

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second stay at the Railway Inn. It's a no-frills inn right in the heart of Yountville. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are pretty spacious as well. If you're looking for a resort with amenities abound, this is not the place for you. But if you'd rather spend your money on wine and the amazing food in Yountville and just need a place to rest your head at the end of a long day of wine tasting, this is definitely the place for you. The beds are not the most comfortable, but they get the job done. The location (and the price) is the main seller. Coffee caboose is right at the end of the hall, and some of the best restaurants in the country are steps away!

Room Tip: For a better view, ask for a room facing away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meg_O_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It is difficult to find a moderately priced hotel in the Napa region but Napa Valley Railway Inn provides simple amenities in a quiet atmosphere at a reasonable price for the area. The location is perfect for exploring the town and heading out to the vineyards. Parking was easy. Room was clean and comfortable - but certainly not fancy. No fancy fountains here - just a decent room with good, quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentlyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was planning a trip to Napa for the first time and really wanted to stay an Yountville. I was having a hard time finding something that wasn't ridiculously overpriced especially since we weren't going to be spending much time in the room at all. Just so happened to see a segment on The Today Show about this place and was able to reserve the room.
The rooms are actually converted railway cars...there isn't much to say about the rooms themselves, very, very basic. But the location could not be any better! Right across the street from the Bouchon Bakery, right next to Michael Chiarello's Bottega Restaurant. Smack down in the middle of downtown Yountville and perfect to walk to tons of shops, restaurants, etc.
I would absolutely stay here not because the place itself is anything to write home about but because it's a great value (especially considering the area) and the location.
It's all about location after all, right?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This place was very cool. They made railway cars into hotel rooms. Nice location in town. Very large rooms with plenty of space. Outside seating in front of rooms to hang out. Close to many wineries. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night in Room 8 last weekend. It is a small facility in the center of Yountville so you can walk to great restaurants. There was no one at the desk to check in but it was easy to do, the key was waiting at the health club next door. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable and everything worked well. We had all that we needed there and we had a great time. Very good value and we enjoyed ourselves. When we needed something we easily could go to the store just a block away. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were given Room 8 which was great because it was not right next to the coffee stand (which has ve...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisnhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Railway Inn

Property: Napa Valley Railway Inn
Address: 6523 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Valley Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wine Country in the center of the sophisticated town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Railway Inn provides the perfect Napa Valley getaway. Let the Railway Inn's converted 100-year old train cars provide you with memorable accommodations walking distance to Thomas Keller's 'The French Laundry,' 'Bouchon,' and 'Ad-Hoc,' as well as Michael Chiarello's 'Bottega,' and 'Napa Style.' Comfortable, contemporary and convenient, relax outside your room in the evening on our patio with a glass of wine or in the morning enjoy a specialty coffee and fresh pastry from the Java Hut Too located right at the hotel. Outside your doorstep stroll to any of the 11 wine tasting rooms, boutique shopping or world-class dining located just steps away. A mix of history with all the modern conveniences for today's traveler, make the hotel an ideal destination when visiting the Napa Valley. In room amenities include complimentary WiFi, flat screen TV's, inviting luxurious linens and refrigerators for that just purchased bottle of Chardonnay. Hotel guest rooms consist of eight steam-era railcars permanently parked in the center of downtown Yountville in the heart of the Napa Valley. Each of the guest cars offers few hints of their former function: you'd never guess that No. 4 used to carry cattle or that the skylight in No.9 was once a hatch for ice-block deliveries. Providing the best location for your wine country escape, the hotel offers the convenience of not having to get into your car to enjoy an evening out in the best restaurants in the Napa Valley as well as great views of the surrounding mountains and adjacent vineyards during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Napa Valley Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Railway Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Railway Inn Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing