We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE! Ignore negative reviews!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE! Ignore negative reviews!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2006

I was skeptical about staying here based on some of the negative reviews. I will tell you that I LOVED this place. We booked an interior downstairs room and upon check in we were upgraded to a suite which was awesome!! I didn’t see the standard room so I’m not sure if we would have enjoyed it as much but our suite was amazing! The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the service was exceptional. The resort was much larger then I expected too. The staff always completed everything with ‘my pleasure’ and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The pool was great and they had little cabanas you could sit at and relax in the shade. The breakfast- OH BOY!! It was to die for!! All of the freshest ingredients and SO much to choose from. By far the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen! We received a bottle of wine when we arrived in our room and then a bottle of champagne was delivered later in the evening compliments of the hotel (it was our anniversary). Every evening they turned down the bed and provided two bottled waters. I know this is silly but it was a nice touch- even in the nicest places I have stayed you still have to fork out $5 for water and these were complimentary. So the linens weren’t 600 thread count but I slept comfortably. It was an expensive stay but given what everything else cost in Napa I think it was a good value. We were in a downstairs room and we did hear some walking upstairs but nothing that we wouldn’t hear in our own house. Sitting outside by the pool which was near the parking lot I did not hear traffic from highway 29. The location was perfect for us- centrally located in Napa Valley. I would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Napa Valley.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VTBunny00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    225
    72
    33
    18
See reviews for
85
493
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Whenever we visit Yountville and Napa we always want to stay at Villagio Inn and Spa. Yes, it can be noisy if you get a room near the highway. Our friends have stayed there and they sleep through anything and still love the place. It has a wonderful ambience with the fountains. The landscaping is gorgeous. It is so convenient to walk across the street to the ranch market (local grocery store) or any restaurant in Yountville. The pool is nice and the staff is always very attentive. The champagne breakfast buffet is soooo good. All you can eat and drink. You wlll love it! Our only complaint is that lately it seems like more and more people are bringing children to this place. I think it should be for couples only. Sometimes the kids get noisy and take over the pool. Usually if the adults hit the pool in the morning or late afternoon they get more peace and quiet. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank napagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Needing a room for the night due to a family wedding and being a family of four (two kids ages 5 and 7), we were having a difficult time finding a hotel in Yountville that permitted children and cost substantially less than four hundred dollars a night. We were delighted to find an internet "Romance Package" special on the Villagio's website for $250/night for a downstairs room with two queen beds; the romance package itself seemed to consist of the accommodations and a chilled bottle of champagne. We laughed at the idea of booking a romance package with two young children, but it was a great rate and so we booked it.

Afterwards, I read many of the reviews on TA and was slightly concerned. Folks commented on the high cost of the room versus the value offered, complained of freeway noise, and disparaged the rooms as being loud and of poor or Motel 6-like quality. Fortunately, we found ourselves disagreeing with almost all of these poor reports. It is true that the hotel is located extremely near the highway and that, if you are in the pool, the parking lot, or in the rooms on that side of the resort, you will probably notice highway noise (of the zip-zip of cars ilk). This was not an overwhelming roar of noise, but it was obvious and I was glad that we were not in one of the rooms next to the parking lot (for many reasons, of course, but sitting on one's patio would clearly be far less pleasant there). We could not hear the highway from anywhere else on the hotel grounds (including the fountain walkway) except for the pool (it was more muted there, but still audible). We were in a bottom floor room that was the very end room next to the service road and the main Yountville road and heard no noise: no traffic, no persons upstairs, no one walking around the resort. It was peaceful, quiet, and relaxing.

We found the room itself to look very much like the website pictures: sort of an Arizona-esque blend of woods and creams. Personally, we liked this very much. The linens on the bed were lovely, with wine-colored duvets, plenty of pillows, and soft mattresses. Our children were delighted to find the beds turned down and decorated with chocolates. There was a wood-burning fireplace (ready with a fire log), a sitting area by the windows (covered with lovely dark wood shutters), and then a dressing/wet bar area, a large closet and double sink, and a separate toilet/tub. The bathroom was very nice with an extra-deep tub, but this would not be my idea of a romantic soaking tub (perhaps I have been spoiled by Vegas and French Polynesia-- this was nice, but nothing that my bubble-bath addicted self was in a hurry to enjoy). Apparently, all of the rooms come with a complimentary bottle of chardonnay; there are also ample coffee and tea making supplies. A pleasant surprise (particularly since we were travelling with the kids) was the empty mini-bar fridge-- we had a place to store drinks and snacks.

One of the most pleasant surprises about the hotel, however, was the level of service. We arrived at noon: they checked us in immediately. They provided us with a map and directions on where was best to park and how to find our room. Someone accompanied me to our room, showed me around, and placed the Chardonnay in the fridge to chill. He also asked what time we would like our champagne chilled and delivered that evening. Since we were attending a wedding, we picnicked in the room for an hour (although it seemed criminal to let kids near those duvets): there is a convenient liquor store/market across the street with child-friendly fare along with room service and numerous restaurants within walking distance. We picnicked, filled up the trash can, disassembled the beds, and left. When we returned shortly after nine o'clock, we found our champagne waiting for us (along with two bottles of Evian water) and that housekeeping had come and tidied up after us, remaking the beds, adding more chocolates, and emptying the trash. This was lovely and completely unexpected. The double distribution of chocolate has certainly set the bar for my children (who took to the concept after we explained "turn down service" to them).

We all ate at the champagne brunch the next morning. It was quite nice and certainly provided all the fixings for mimosas. There were fresh fruit (both whole pieces such as apples and bananas and sliced melons, strawberries, kiwis, etc.), yoghurts, cereals, French pastries, a cheese and antipasto plate, toast, jams, two baked egg dishes, potatoes, bread pudding with poached pears, and a variety of other lovely things. Even my extremely picky seven year-old managed to eat breakfast (we appreciated the less exotic assortment of bananas and grapes in particular... although the buffet is elegantly set up and at first glance seems oriented more towards adults than children, there were plenty of familiar choices when you looked beyond the plating). Coffee could also be taken with you in paper coffee cups; there was always a large, iced display of bottled water by the front door for the taking.

Other than walking around a bit and enjoying the many fountains, fish ponds, and little wooden bridges, our kids enjoyed time in the pool. Although you can hear some freeway noise, the main pool is a beautiful, relaxing place (we were slightly horrified to come in with our two kids): there are plenty of lounge chairs, about ten large, curtain draped cabanas, and a number of free pool floats. The housekeeping service at the pool was particularly impressive: they kept all of the lounge chairs and cabanas stocked with rolled, fresh towels and made three sweeps for dirty, abandoned towels in the hour and a half we spent in the pool. This meant that the pool area stayed tidy and that towels were always available. There was also a very hot hot tub that we all enjoyed. We attempted to be respectful of the other guests (women relaxing on the pool floats and loungers, reading) and kept our children somewhat quiet and refrained from cannon-balling into the pool; the other guests seemed not to mind our slightly noisy swimming. It was, frankly, nice to find a place so relaxing and elegant that was also child-friendly (we saw several families of three, with a smaller toddler or baby in a stroller while we were there).

In short, if we were ever in wine country again, we would not hesitate to stay at the Villagio. The rooms were large, spacious and well-appointed; the front desk bent over backwards to help us; and we thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and the pool.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank amf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

This was the third time we've stayed at the Villagio. We've enjoyed each time. The breakfast is great. The afternoon tea is very nice. The pool is great. The rooms are great. Staff is friendly and very attentive. Location in Yountville is very convenient...you can walk to several great restaurants. Negatives are the price and noise level. Price is high, and there is traffic noise due to the location next to the highway. We also heard hot air balloons being inflated at 6am on Sunday morning in the adjacent parking lot. We will say again though.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2006

This hotel deceives - the lobby and exterior are lovely, but the rooms are HORRID. They are dark, and cheaply decorated. The freeway noise is so loud one cannot carry on a conversation.

We had apparently booked their "best" room for $550 a night. It was dreadful. We were fortunate that Meadowood had a last-minute cancellation. Turned out the "most modest" room at Meadowood was substantially nicer than the best room at Villagio - and cheaper.

One positive about Villagio was that they refunded our deposit right away. I think they horrified reactions often and so they handle them well.

If you are looking for an elegant, romantic luxury hotel - DO NOT GO TO VILLAGIO.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We just got back from the Vallagio Inn and we also had a fabulous time. This is wine country not downtown Paris. The rooms were all decorated with a tuscany theme. There was granite, new carpet and everything was clean. I think the dark wood theme throws people off as being old. The rooms were huge. We stayed at Le Maurice in Paris in October and that was more "ritz like" We were not looking for that in Napa. You will not find it. The courtyard/fountains was also beautiful surrounding the rooms. The health club was also perfect or a morning workout before breakfeast and wine tasting.

The rooms are perfect for the quaintness of Napa and the wine country. The tub was oversized and clean. The concierge, Mary was great and very helpful. Do not compare $400.00-$500.00 in a city hotel to that of the valley inns. The employees at the hotel could not do enough for us. Elizabeth who worked at the front desk set the whole tone of our getaway by her friendliness and smile.

The buffet was also great. On weekends they have the omelette bar and waffle bar. I think the people who complain about the food are used to their grand slam breakfeast at Denny's. I honestly believe that the people who complain about this hotel can never be pleased. My wife is from NYC and very critical and she had a great time w/o complaint.

We rented a convertible with a GPS and that made all the difference while exploring Silverado Trail. Don't miss the Schramsburg winery tour, well worth the $25.00 per person which includes wine tasting. Peju was also a great winery, along with MUMS.

The outlet stores in NAPA are ok to get away from the winery for a few hours. Some stores include Barney's, Ann Taylor, Boise and the usual outlet stores.

Anyways, as frequent travelers, we cannot say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

I have no idea what all these negative reviewers are talking about!! My husband I have traveled to numerous destinations all over the world and usually stay in 4 or 5 star resorts. We figure if you are going away enjoy yourself! I think people are very hard to please and very spoiled! With that said.. here is my review.
We had a downstairs interior room. No highway noise. That request was made based on the fact it was a commen complaint throughout the reviews. Thus, we had no noise at all except the fountains that line some of the rooms. Room was large with a fireplace and very nice comfortable bed. The bathroom had a nice seperate dressing area and the bathtub was a soaking tub for two medium sized adults. They do give you a scented candle in the bathroom as well as a larger one in the main area. Very romantic. I did not see any stains on carpet or bedding. All furniture was tasteful and in line with the style of the inn.
Breakfast was amazing! Tons of fresh fruits, fresh squeezed juices. omelette and waffle station with fresh berries, cheeses,muffins, bagels.etc. I can not fathom how some reviewers commented the breakfast was horrible. What else would they want or need? At 6pm there was a very nice wine tasting from a local vineyard. In addition, there were various cheeses and fruits. Very nice before dinner!
Overall, we had a lovely time and would definitely go again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank randi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
8.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Property: Villagio Inn and Spa
Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing