We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Facility for a Special Occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facility for a Special Occasion”
Reviewed May 6, 2005

This is an outstanding facility. The staff is first class and highly attentive creating a very friendly and comfortable atmosphere. The rooms are large and plush with a complimentary bottle of wine. There is not much in the way of grounds except a beautiful 'fountain' walkway. The spa is small but has a sauna, steamroom, etc with a very friendly staff. Very nice, large pool area. There is also a wonderful buffet breakfast included. Everything is all around excellent.

Yountville is a beautiful little town. Very clean and upscale.

If you are looking for a place to spend a special occasion, this is it (it was our anniversary).

Remember you are paying for all this. It is very pricey. But, as they say, you get what you pay for and I think we got a lot.

One drawback. Some of the rooms face Highway 29 which is noisy.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    227
    72
    33
    18
See reviews for
85
497
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2005

Our recent stay at the Villagio was so enjoyable. The property is ideally located within the Napa Valley Wine Country allowing easy access to wineries and restaurants. The hotel itself has beautiful grounds with fountains, flowers and lemon trees. The staff at the hotel was friendly and attentive. A highlight of our stay was the breakfast buffet. The buffet is included in the price of the room and offers something for everyone. What better way to start a day of wine tastings than with a glass of Champagne with breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2005

Stayed at the Inn last December. Booked 2 nights in a downstairs, inner courtyard, king room. The king bed was very plush and comfortable. The entire room was nicely decorated and I especially liked the granite bathroom countertops. My 6'7" boyfriend used the soaking tub - a bit cramped, but it didn't deter him from a long soak. BIG minus was the noise from upstairs neighbors. It sounded like they were rearranging furniture up there! Footsteps were also very loud. I would not stay in a downstairs room again.
I absolutely loved the Mediterranean style grounds and strolled through a couple of times even though it was pouring rain outside. The breakfast buffet was very good and definitely several notches above some of the other places I've stayed. Ordered room service one night- it arrived promptly and was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2005

We had a wonderful time at the Villagio. The rooms were fantastic and the service was excellent. We were especially impressed with the gourmet breakfast in the morning that included a lot of imported cheeses and fresh fruits in addition to the standard egg and bacon fare. The landscaping and grounds were gorgeous.
We received a gift certificate for our anniversary----I met a couple of other couples there who also were staying on a gift certificates....with good reason...its just a little bit overpriced--even for the Napa/Yountville area. I would stay there for special occasions only.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbique00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2005

We spent the last three days of a weeklong trip in the SF/Napa area at Villagio in early Feb. We were at the Four Seasons in SF the previous few days, so they had pretty big shoes to fill. After reading reports of the noise from the highway, we asked for an upgrade to an inner court upstairs room. We were upgraded to an upstairs inner court room at no extra charge and the price was <$200 per night. To top that off, we were given a choice of rooms that fit that description when we arrived and even had an opportunity to see them before selecting a room. That is above and beyond the call! Great service is their strong suit here - I felt every bit as important here as I did at Four Seasons.

The bed was large and comfortable, the room was quite spacious and the balcony was a nice touch. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a 5-star rating is that the rooms need minor updating. The nicest thing about the place is its proximity to all of the great restaurants and wineries. We ate at Bistro Jeanty (I highly recommend this place) - it was literally right across the street. We enjoyed pastries and coffee from Bouchon Bakery - this is a cool little place, again, right across the street from Villagio. Most of the wineries are within a 5-15 minute drive. You can easily access the Silverado Trail to get off the main highway and see some smaller wineries. We loved Frog's Leap -definitely the most interesting winery we visited. I recommend calling in advance for the tour.

At Villagio, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning. I had mostly fruit, muffins and juice and it was fine. Not the best coffee in the world, but Bouchon Bakery filled in nicely for that. The food was an upgrade from most breakfast buffets. I'd like to re-emphasize the great service here. I won't bore you with the details, but they did a great job and really made the experience memorable. I would recommend Villagio and will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2005

We just got back from a two-night stay in an "inner courtyard" room with a King and balcony and paid about $300 a night. Here's a quick summary of the Villagio:

Positives:
Best concierge this side of the Four Seasons
Room size was large
Location--proximity to the French Laundry, Bouchon Bakery, etc.
Nice Pool

Negatives:
EXTREMELY loud noise constantly from the highway (we had to run the a/c or heating the entire time we were there to provide white noise)
Breakfast was not very good (we ate there once and then immediately went to Bouchon Bakery to pay for much better food)
Check-in staff needs more training
"Soaking tubs" in room are long, but not very deep
Balcony was unusable given incredibly loud road noise
Water pressure was inadequate
Did I mention how loud the highway noise was??

Conclusion:

We felt that the hotel clearly tried to be an intimate high-end Napa Valley hotel destination (i.e. spa, nice pool), however, for this price point they failed and I would highly recommend that you consider alternatives (i.e. Gage House Inn, Sonoma Mission Inn, Auberge) if you are approaching the $300 range. If you can stay at the Villagio for under $200, then consider staying here (but only if you are on the "east" side of the property's fountain).

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2004

My friend and I stayed on an overnight midweek (thursday) package that included 2 spa treatments for $372.00 a night. The room was upgraded before arrival so we were not on the freeway side, although it was not an upstairs room. Terrific room, fireplace, wine and glasses and lots of room! We hung out at the hotel bar for a while then had coffee, tea and cookies around 3pm. Our massage appointments were for 5:30pm so we went down to the spa and enjoyed the steam and sauna. Came back to our room and the lights were turned down, the music on and chocolates on the bed. In the morning we went back down to the spa again and then went to the breakfast in the lobby. The breakfast is terrific and the champagne and orange juice were divine! The service is impeccible and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Really recommend going mid-week as the hotel is not so busy, we had the spa all to ourselves!

Helpful?
2 Thank anamacbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Property: Villagio Inn and Spa
Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#5 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing