We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient.”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Having stayed at the Villagio's sister property, the Vintage Inn, many times I selected the Villagio for a recent two-night getaway. It is a lovely resort in always cute and convenient Yountville and we enjoyed our stay. We had a king room that was very comfortably appointed, with windows facing three directions. The bathroom was large and well designed (except for the lack of a soap dish). A complimentary bottle of wine awaited, there were creamers (OK, a creamer but they quickly brought more) in the fridge for morning coffee or espresso. Much appreciated. Wifi is complimentary, as were waters the second night but not the first. There are no elevators, so if stairs are an issue book a ground floor room.

There are many reviews here that discuss the noise from Hwy 29 and how to avoid it. We were there during the week which is quieter than weekends, paid the increased price for an inner courtyard room and still heard the traffic, which impeded enjoyment of our terrace. A babbling water feature helped muffle it a bit, but understand that the entire property is not far from the highway. Although some rooms may be quieter than others, unless you have a room with no windows oriented in that direction, I suspect you'll hear some traffic (particularly on weekends).

Other amenities we enjoyed were the champagne buffet each morning and massages at the spa. The spa is very well designed and equipped.

Room Tip: A room with no windows oriented toward Hwy. 29 is likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    225
    72
    33
    18
See reviews for
84
492
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 on a West Coast trip that included San Fran. The hotel, pool area, breakfast, etc. were all outstanding. It had an Italian feel, which was different and it had details above and beyond what you'd expect. We upgraded to their King suite and the room was perfect, including a fireplace and a balcony overlooking their vineyard where my fiance and I actually got engaged. Yountville is without a doubt the place to stay in the Napa area and this hotel provided us with a perfect relaxing break. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UConn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Loved this hotel. We went there as a part of our honeymoon and the hotel must have known as they provided complimentary chocolate strawberries and champagne. The log fire is an excellent touch to give the room a homely feel. With nothing being higher then one floor, it made getting around easy and close to the car park. Also it is a great location just to walk around some of the wineries around Yountville.
Breakfasts were great.
My only complaint was that I found the concierge lady a bit snotty to us (maybe because we are British as she was fine with local american guests)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmanistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The location of The Villagio is perfect for visiting the tasting rooms and restaurants of Yountville. They provide a large breakfast and afternoon tasting with cheese and snacks which is fine if you can stand the piano player who literally plays to the Boomers (muzac versions of The Eagles, for example). The pool and hot tub area are lovely, as are the grounds.

But.
The wifi literally could not withstand all the users, so during the day it was unusably slow and just cut off regularly. Our room (117) was huge. That is the last good thing about it. The carpet gave me horrible allergies, the water pressure was so weak I could barely wash my hair. The room has zero privacy if you have the blinds open because people walk by constantly, so if you go please request an upper level room. I could also hear every footstep of the people over you.
The Villagio needs a radical room update. I think I am the wrong demographic...If you don't care about the internet, huge accessible rooms matter more to you than clean and bright and you don't ever wash your hair, this is the place for you.

The other complaint was about the breakfast. Which was ok, but certainly not fantastic. The "champagne" was poured by one man who also had to make all the espresso bar drinks. The waiting time was long and I also felt sorry for this lone man with far too much work. So I skipped the bubbly and drank their drip coffee which was not good at all.

If you go to Yountville and you can stay here for $150, considering the location and food and wine options, go. But if you pay over $300 and expect a higher level of finishings and services, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not take a ground floor room! There is no privacy in these rooms and it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antitourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in late April. The trip was to celebrate my birthday. Immediately, I was impressed by the attention to detail in the public areas, and later, our room. The lobby was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon. They were having afternoon tea and a wine tasting. Tea was accompanied by various tea sandwiches, pastries, devilled eggs, scones and toppings -- all delicious.

A porter met us at our vehicle and brought our bags up to our room. The room was very welcoming and nicely sized. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling, in addition to the complimentary bottle of wine, in honor of my birthday. Although it was a bit warm for us to use the fireplace, there was a log and matches, just in case. There was both a Nespresso maker and a coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable, the bed linens were soft, and the robes were like clouds -- the towels not quite so much; they could have been a bit fluffier. We had a nicely-sized balcony with a view of the lovely grounds.

The grounds were perfectly manicured. There were flowering trees, shrubs and plants everywhere, and the long course of fountains was wonderful. The pool area was very nice too, complete with cabanas and a hot tub, although it was a trifle cool, and we were too busy to use them. We also had a spa reservation that, due to unforeseen circumstances, we had to cancel, but the spa services sounded really nice.

Each morning there was an included buffet breakfast, complete with champagne, mimosas, bloody marys or greyhounds. There was an omelet bar, breakfast potatoes, pastries, fruit, muffins, irish oatmeal (yummy) and hot banana bread pudding daily. The breakfast entree rotated (biscuits & gravy, chilaquiles, quiche, etc.), and on the weekend there was also a waffle bar. You could eat inside or under the umbrellas on the patio.

The location of the hotel was perfect. It was very convenient to access the rest of the valley. Also, it was across the street from Bouchon Bistro (very good) and Bistro Jeanty. The best part was that it was connected to Michael Chiarello's Bottega (wonderful).

I loved my stay here and just wish we'd had even longer.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs, inside facing room which was quieter than those facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I traveled to Napa Valley and stayed at Villagio with a group from a woman's club. The hotel staff went beyond all expectations and made our stay wonderful. Our price included a breakfast buffet everyday--including bloody marys and mimosas! And they had a lovely afternoon tea for a nice pick-me-up.

I was able to take some time and relax in the spa. I had a wonderful "Tranquility" treatment with Carol. It included a scrub, followed by a wrap in milk bath, and then a full body massage. HEAVEN!

I've stayed in Napa Valley a few other times and when I return we'll be staying at Villagio.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzfan647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a one night getaway in April. The grounds are beautiful! The room was very large and nicely furnished with a patio area and huge bathroom. The free bottle of wine in the room was a nice surprise, too. The grounds were meticulously maintained and offered an "away from it all" feeling - even though we were close to shops and restaurants. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful, with an omelet station and lots of other fresh, hearty choices - definitely NOT your run of the mill breakfast offerings! It would have been nice to have more time to enjoy this inn - the spa and pool looked wonderful, too!

Room Tip: our room was right off the lobby, but it was perfectly quiet and still felt secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,282 reviews
8.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Property: Villagio Inn and Spa
Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing