We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Right on the main road, the hotel is noisy, the rooms crowded together. It has a freeway motel feel.
The room was so bad, the noise so discouraging, The food in the event room was rubbery and of poor quality. I left early. The pool, though warm, is small. Altogether a very bad deal for the Napa Valley which abounds with lovely places to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 941 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2007

We were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary and decided to come to the beautiful Napa Valley. We chose Yountville because of its great location and world class food and wine. We chose the Villagio because of a high Trip Advisor score. We booked 2 nights through the hotel where the operator assured us that our room would be quiet, and that by paying more, we would also get a premium view of the hills (about $435 a night). She also directed us to view the website and see the beautiful rooms and vaulted ceilings of the top floor rooms. Imagine our surprise when the bellmen led us to our room on the edge of a major construction site! The view from ALL three sides of our room was of construction! In addition the room was just so "marginal" in its look and style. It wasn't romantic, it wasn't hip or cool and it certainly wasn't elegant. In fact it even lacked any good function or flow. We asked to be moved and were told they had no more rooms. I spoke with the manager and he offered to move us the next day. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed that no one told us about construction when we booked the room. And that the picture of the room on the website was not our (get this) newly redecorated room. The bed was marginal, the furnishings were low-end looking although new, and the wall decor was done in an odd way. The feeling is low-end hotel that tries unsuccessfully to do Pottery Barn and fails. The next morning we were woken at 7:30 AM by construction workers hammering. By 7:45 there were numerous large dump trucks with their motors running and skill saws cutting. Don't you just love the sound of a truck backing up outside on the morning of your anniversary? It's just so romantic! I called the manager and complained about the early construction start, the loud noise, and again that we were not informed about construction when we made reservations. He offered us a free nights lodging. We declined and of course we checked out. He adjusted the bill by 50% but keep in mind this room was almost $450 to start. At $225 it was still not worth it, even without construction. Just go across the street to the Yountville Inn to get a better rate and a better room. We know because my wife has stayed there in the last year.
Even without the construction, the setting of Villagio is like that of a former low-end apartment building converted into a hotel. There is nothing special or charming about it except the reception area. No one at any time ever disagreed with us about any of our complaints.
If you are coming to the Villagio for a company conference and used to a basic business hotel room, this is going to be fine. If you are with a budget tour group it will be fine. But if you think you are going to get a Napa Valley Spa and Resort experience, you need to go somewhere else. And, don't pay the high rates. This is not a true spa experience. Even without construction there is a great deal of noise from the highway next to the property. The rooms and the setting reflect a conversion and not an luxury master plan. There are too many good options in the valley. Don't be fooled by their advertising. It is not accurate.
Trip Advisor did save the day with a number of high ranked B&B 's in Healdsburg. We found the Belle de Jour in Yountville that had a very charming cottage for us for only $275. The setting was beautiful, the owners couldn't be nicer and there are an amazing number of great places to eat in the area and a 4 star Le Mars Hotel that is AMAZING! Maybe the best luxury in the Sonoma Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank amp94596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Decided on a last-minute trip to Napa and could only get the Villagio for one night. Paid $265 for a midweek special through the Villagio website. We have been to Napa countless times and have stayed previously at the Vintage Inn, their sister property. Both properties are virtually identical except Vintage is a little bit smaller and is French themed, not Italian themed like the Villagio. Great proximity to wineries and restaurants. The free breakfast buffet every morning is nice with a wide variety of items but tables could have been cleaned more quickly as the birds decided to help themselves to the dirty dishes. Included in the room was a bottle of Beringer Chardonnay (chill in the refrigerator provided), a Duraflame firelog, robes, and two bottles of water were provided during the turndown service. Pool area seemed nice but was lacking a firepit like the Vintage Inn. Landscaping was beautiful and they obviously take care of it. Would I stay here again? Yes, because of the location. Was I wowed? No way. Our first floor room was incredibly dark and and there were touches that were original to when the place was built and just look out-of-date, not Old World Tuscan. If you have been to Italy, you know the theme just ain't so. Upon check-in, there was no mention of our anniversary or even a conversation except for "we need a credit card." They were training someone also. No USA Today was delivered and we never could get the Internet to work very fast and resorted to using our cellphone's blue tooth connection in order to get on. Finally, the noise. While I didn't hear anything regarding the huge construction project, I had the air conditioner running the entire night on high to block out the street noise and took along ear plugs. When sitting on our patio (Room 123), the highway noise was ridiculous. On top of it, housekeeping was rolling those big bins up and down the walkways next to the fountains. Again, I would stay there and I would rank this more in the 3.5 range, more than a three but a bit under a four.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jdvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

So we walked right in after seeing this amazing property from the highway. A group of 8 needed 5 rooms - a challenge which I thought was stretching our luck, but no!

The front desk team member was brilliant in offering a room rate we could not refuse - and to refuse the room rate would be silly - this place was beyond our expectations and worth every cent (but the discount from rack rate was "average")

Having spent a big day in the Napa Valley, we were ready to relax and find a local restaurant to sample the fine fare on offer.

The villa style property has the atmosphere of exclusivity and there are usually four rooms with each villa block. The architecture is very welcoming and the gardens are fantastic.

When you walk into the room, a real "wow" feeling was certainly felt by all of our party - the rooms are spectacular; Large LCD TV, big bathroom, amazing furniture and a cute fireplace with a fire log to burn - well used later in the night to add a nice spark over wine and conversation after dinner.

The pool is incredibly well appointed with massive day beds to relax and soak in the sun on.

Service here is outstanding and attentive. So...onto my pro's and con's:

CONS - not many but there were no views over mountains or anything spectacular but hey - you're there to relax and chill out by the pool and read a book. At the time we stayed, there was construction going on for new villas by the road.

PRO'S - Great Restaurant down the road called Hurley's - GO THERE! the team there are brilliant and have a great sense of humour. Price of property is reasonable - service amazing - rooms are 15 out of 10. Location is excellent - Yountville is a great town and very historic.

Go here. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SteveAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This was the second (and last) stop on our trip to Wine Country. We stayed here three nights. This hotel is beautiful- the rooms are large, clean, and beautifully decorated. The staff is friendly and ready to accommodate you in any way possible. The pool area is gorgeous, as is all the landscaping on the property. The breakfast area is also beautiful and the food is delicious. After being in a smaller Inn in Healdsburg for two nights, I was a little worried that this would not measure up, but it was also a GREAT place to stay. I had read some reviews about this property on Trip Advisor before I booked and was worried about a noise problem. I am happy to report that it was not an issue for us at all. Yountville is a great town to stay in; great restaurants and everything is within walking distance. We would come back to Villagio again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Was so pleased to pull up into the Villagio in Yountville. Just precious! It was such a great location for doing wineries and put you so close to many great restaurants. We really loved Redd!

Was hesitant about our stay because we had read about the noise complaints. We didn't notice that at all. The staff was super helpful and quick to act on our requests. We got upgraded to an interior room with the spa package which was a great deal for the area. Room was great with a nice big tub, a patio and fireplace.

Am looking forward to the new spa completion and our next trip there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cbernard1sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

Great location! Hotel is a "glorified motel" type atmosphere, but rooms are spacious with nice amenities. Public area is lovely, with a feel of being in Provence. Excellent breakfast and mid afternoon snacks. Fabulous concierge who assisted us with visits to boutique wineries, restaurants reservations and other suggestions.
Rooms need to be in inner courtyard, otherwise too much traffic noise. Rooms have terraces or patios, depending on whether room is upstairs or down.
Comfortable beds. Some furnishings need refurbishment.
Good housekeeping
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersmiamifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,332 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
8.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: $385 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villagio named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, The Spa and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. Hotel Villagio has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing