We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was fair despite place being packed.”

Bottega Napa Valley
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottega Napa Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food was fair despite place being packed.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had our hopes up for this place, but unfortunately it wasn't that great. Maybe we just had bad luck with the dishes we chose, but the pasta/sea urchin dish was less than impressive (the sauce was rather bland).
The wood fired octoupus was fantastic though.

Service is impeccable - no doubt about that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank continentaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,510
    559
    301
    98
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first night”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a cool place with really great and creative food and atmosphere. I had the lamb chops.Yum! We had a Black Sears Zinfandel - not widely distributed so cool to find. We were there over our anniversary and we had a nice card acknowledging on our table

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY Metro Area
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We expected better from Mr. Chiarello”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A friend of mine recommendation Bottega to my wife and me. I was a little apprehensive given the theme of the negative reviews, but we went anyway.

When we got there, the host asked us if we were celebrating anything. We told them we are in Napa celebrating our 1 year anniversary. He congratulated us and said he had a "very special table" for us. Our "very special table" was in the middle of the dining room smack between 2 other couples (one of the couples was arguing the entire time we were there). This did not seem very special to us, but we were here for the food.

The wine list was very impressive, but we needed a break from wine as we were tasting wine all afternoon. We decided to order drinks. My wife's bellini was not very good at all. It almost seemed like they used under ripe peaches.

Service was terrible. Our waiter seemed like he hated his job and did not want to be there. He mumbled through the specials and we barely saw him after that. He did recommend we order the chocolate dessert as it took a half hour to make (more on that later).

We ordered the artichoke salad and the lobster cavatelli as an appetizer. The salad was pretty good, but the lobster cavatelli lacked flavor and was cold in some spots. For our entrees, my wife had the fish special, branzino, and I had the supposed famous short ribs. Both were average at best. Then the famous chocolate dessert was supposed to be a chocolate lava cake. I guess they forgot that chocolate lava cake was supposed to have chocolate lava in it because the cake was so dry it was almost inedible.

We wanted to like this place as we are both fans of Michael Chiarello, but we cannot recommend Bottega. I think Mr. Chiarello needs to spend more time here and whip his staff into shape.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PWHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Bad start - Excellent finish”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a table at Bottega two month ago and arrived bang on time into an atmosphere of confusion and chaos. We were told our table was not ready and we could find a seat somewhere of 20 minutes. We suggested they find us a seat, but this was greeted with a casual shrug and then we were dismissed. My husband was of happy and demanded some care be taken to look after us. We ordered a bottle of wine and waited for about 20 minutes and were then escorted to a small table against the wall beside the opening. We requested another table and were told there were none, but when pressed one became available which was nice. The table beside it was empty also, so why they tried to stick us with a bad table I 'll never know, but it was not a good start.

Our waitress was nice and helpful, BUT Bottega is all about the food. We both chose the burrata starter with pea coulis and it was out of this world. It is not often I have felt like ordering a second plate of food. It was that good. I had the wood baked sea bass which was delicious and my husband really loved his pork main course. Our waitress then sold us on having the doughnut desert with lemon dipping sauce! She was spot on. It was fantastic!

The food at Botttega was first class, and the Chef is to be congratulated. Pity the kitchen is let down by the chaos which reigns at the outset. Great night, met some lovely people and had a blast. I would recommend it, but if ou are a tourist, don't let them fob you off with a bad table.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank paripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best meals and enjoyable atmosphere anywhere!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this restaurant! From the lovely grounds it's located on, to the staff, the fantastic food and presentation, the outdoor dining and wine selection - one of the best experiences at a restaurant EVER!! Just absolutely loved it!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windermere08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Napa Valley also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bottega Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing