We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bottega Napa Valley

Bottega Napa Valley
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottega Napa Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow, we loved this place! From the ingenious Lavendar Martini to the incredible fresh seafood and pasta the meal was perfect and service impeccable. Our server was so knowledgeable and described every nuiance of the dishes perfectly. Very romantic atmosphere. This will be one of our first stops next time we are in Napa - can't say enough!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,423
    531
    285
    92
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bottega is all you expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved Bottega. All of the food was fabulous. The polenta under glass was a great way to start our meal and it stayed great from there. We had some excellent moderately priced wine (Barrel Blend) and had great service. Michael's restaurant is not to be missed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it but meh (and BAD service)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Maybe i was expecting too much foodwise, but this was a bit disappointing. The service was what really made it not a good experience. The host & maitre d were friendly, but it went downhill. I would chalk up the waiter as having a bad day, but the table next to us (all of 8 inches away) that he also waited on got quite a different experience. Took quite a while to get water and place a drink order. Then a non enthusiastic specials run through (compared to what we heard for the next table sat near us). The green eggs & ham app was good, not great. Egg was good but the asparagus could have been hotter.
My pasta was good - light & fluffy. Husbands special was not what we thought it would be, heavier and earthy, not in a great way. The best part of the meal was the bread and garlic/cheese spread - amazingly good. We saw Michael C walk through, but he said hi to a table he knew and did not stop for any other tables. Pretty restaurant, good atmosphere. Wish the food was great and no one else gets our waiter on another bad shift...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ambiance and delicious Italian cuisine in Yountville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Helpful reservationist was able to squeeze us in at the last minute on a Saturday night. While the waiting area was full, we were seated at a small private table by the wine cellar. What a treat because this restaurant serves a slice of perfection. From the Ribolita Tuscan minestrone, to the Goat Milk Braised Pork Orecchiette with Chocolate Almond Molten Lava Cake, and the immense selection of wine made our dinner spectacular. Everything was delicious and service was prompt, friendly, helpful, and informative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmoretoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“De-lish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Best calimari I've ever tasted! Beet ravioli appetizer was a party in my mouth. Duck three-ways entree was my least favorite course, but perhaps this was because I too busy enjoying the riccotta gnocci with Michael's grandmother's tomato sauce that my wife ordered. Washed it all down with a few glasses of 2008 Renteria cab and life was good. At this point I was stuffed, but somehow I mustered up the strength to order dessert. Boy was I glad! The mini-donuts with pumpkin custard filling were insanely good...I'd go back to Bottega for these if nothing else.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Napa Valley also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bottega Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing