We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a lodge, but quite nice......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not a lodge, but quite nice......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here three nights while exploring the Napa Valley recently. It's a very nice property with well kept grounds and a professional staff. The room we had on the second floor was fairly large and very clean, with a nice size balcony. Our check in experience was fine, but the staff is not very forthcoming about local attractions, restaurants, etc. until you drag it out of them. Also they didn't mention the morning breakfast at all and I had to call them to determine where it was located. The breakfast iteself is pretty plain when you consider what you're paying for this place per night.- not impressive compared to other similar properties we have stayed at around the country.

You also have to play "where's the hairdyer" - it's hidden in the closet within a black bag, but after hanging clothes in the closet I defy you to find it. Once locate it worked just fine as did everything else in the room. Parking is free and quite convenient to the rooms. Nice pool area as well.

Don't think "lodge" when you consider this hotel because it is nothing like a "lodge" as it looks from the street as an upscale motel with outside room entrances. From our point of view it doesn't quite live up to the price charged for a room, but everyone is going to have a different perspective on that and hey, it's in the Napa Valley. But is it quite a nice place, yes it is and we would recommend it to others with a few caveats.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    272
    65
    19
    3
See reviews for
142
738
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Hard to go wrong with staying in Yountville. The Napa Valley Lodge is decent, with a really nice courtyard. Would love to see the rooms redone. Get the feeling of staying in an 80's style lodge that needs dusting. The rooms are plenty big enough, just need an interior remodel. Nonetheless, a wonderful place to stay especially given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winetrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We liked this hotel and probably just caught in during a few days when they weren't at their best. The location was good, the room was very nice and the staff was always pleasant. Upon our arrival, we were a bit early so they recommended we go to Goosecreek Winery- which was very good and our favorite winery during our stay in Napa! We got back and were checked in to a room with a view of the winery and a great fireplace.
From the get go, we noticed a slight smell in the bathroom but nothing too offputting so we didn't say anything about it. It was cold and rainy while we were there and every time we left the room, we would come back to find the bathroom cold as someone had opened the window in the shower. I'm guessing the staff knew about the smell and that is why they kept opening our window? I put my suitcase on the right side of the room lining the wall. A few times I went to pick up an item of closing that was falling out of the suitcase and they felt damp. I didn't think anything about it until the 3rd time it happened the morning we left and i realized the entire side of the room was wet all along the carpet. I have a feeling this is why it smelled.
We mentioned both of these items upon check out and the front desk staff didn't seem at all surprised or concerned.

The first morning we were there (we stayed 2 nights), we went to the work out room- small but everything works well. We kept seeing other guests walk by with food and when I finished working out, I called the front desk to find our where we could go for breakfast. She said there was a complimentary breakfast until 10am that we had just finished. No one mentioned this to us at check in. They were very nice and sent us a tray to our room. The 2nd morning we went to go to the room for breakfast only to walk into a business meeting. Breakfast had been moved which we were told as we were walking out of a meeting we had interrupted. We found it a enjoyed a nice continental breakfast. We went to the workout room next and watched as about 20 hotel guests did the same thing we did- went to the wrong room and they never put up a sign telling anyone that breakfast had moved.

This just seemed strange to me and a bit unorganized. There were other things that just seemed a bit off but like I said, I think we just caught the hotel on a bad day(s). The staff was very pleasant and we did really enjoy our stay and loved Yountville!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmcgreogr, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Dear MeagJames-

Thank you for your kind comments and constructive observations. You are right- it looks like we were a bit “off” on a couple instances while you were here. I apologize for this experience and am looking into our procedures to make sure the miscommunications don’t occur with future guests. I am delighted to learn, however, that in spite of this, you were pleased with the property and your overall interactions with our team were positive.

We are also looking into your comments regarding the slight odor and carpet dampness in your room. This is not something we have encountered in a guestroom before, so I will get to the bottom of what may have caused this to occur.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Yountville in the future!

Tim McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

The Napa Valley Lodge was the perfect place to spend our 10th anniversary trip. It was our first visit to Napa Valley and the incredible staff eagerly arranged much of our agenda in advance. Their familiarity with the area was obvious based upon the suggested wineries, restaurants, and other areas of interest; they never disappointed us. I recommend the Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

The accommodations, staff, and service were second-to-none during your stay. The staff was delightful and made sure that our every need was met promptly. Moreover the Lodge grounds were designed and landscaped so well we must have taken over 50 pictures to share with friends and family (and use for our own home).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahoney1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

I traveled with my family and we loved the free breakfast. The rooms were amazing and the pool is beautiful and a great place to get together with friends and family. The rooms and bathrooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The lobby is very nice and enjoyed the afternoon cookies and wine tasting. The staff was very courteous and helpful and went above and beyond to assist my family. Our room was right off the pool and was so peaceful and quiet. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Great service --- went out of their way to help arrange for last minute stay, and worked with us to ensure room met our needs.
Thoroughly enjoyed pool, hot tub, beautiful gardens and fountain, and especially sunset overlooking the vineyards.
Can't wait for our next opportunity to get away to the Napa Valley Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savastola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing