We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent In All Respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silicon Valley
1 review
“Excellent In All Respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

This was our first visit to Napa Valley Lodge. It exceeded expectations in all respects. The location is close to most of the Napa Valley wineries and fine restaurants. And the rooms are impeccably clean, well appointed and have all the latest upgrades (eg. flat screens, ipod docks, etc.)

The property itself is very nice, and the daily continental breakfast is incredibly well done and a nice amenity. The staff is very friendly.

We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Napa Valley, and can highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    271
    65
    19
    3
See reviews for
139
734
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

While in Napa for a special birthday party, we had the fortune of staying at the Napa Valley Lodge. Top notch service from the moment we entered the lobby. The staff was gracious and able to help with all our needs, including managing a difficult fax that needed to be sent. The rooms were comfortable, large and relaxing. Pool was spotless. The continental breakfast is more than that. It approaches a full size buffet. My family and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natorwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,, Ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Stayed 1 night, walking distance to all restaurants in town, we had a king room with fireplace, very modern and clean. Room overlooked the courtyard and pool. Excellent breakfast buffet with champagne. Would stay their again. I bboked through travel zoo and saved 100 from hotel website.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wine4et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband and I had the opportunity to turn a work assignment into a quick get-away. We had about 36 hours to spend in the Napa Valley, and he'd need to work for 3 of them. We reserved a room at the Napa Valley Lodge, last minute, through Travelzoo. At $179, it included wine tasting passes and breakfast. It ended up being a worthwhile package.
The package stated, during the reservation process, that we had a choice of 2Q or 1 K bed. I requested K, and when we received the confirmation, it showed 2 Q. The night before arrival, I called the hotel to check on the possibility of a K, and found out that the Travelzoo package mis-stated the options for the package price. The receptionist was VERY kind and moved us into a King fireplace room at no extra charge, as one was available. She also noted my request for no feathers in the bedding.
We arrived much earlier than check-in time, and hoped to just get our tasting coupons so that we could enjoy our only day in the valley. The receptionist was happy to put us in a different room than we were originally booked in, since it was already made up. This gave us the chance to use the wi-fi and map out our wine tastings. After that we headed out for the day and enjoyed tasting at 4 wineries. The coupons we used (3) saved us about $45 in tasting fees (the coupons were buy-one-get-one). Napa has become VERY expensive if you want to taste good wine, and you must buy 2 bottles in or order for ONE tasting fee to be waved. I find this disheartening.
Upon returning to the hotel, I realized that the bedding we had was probably not feather-free. I checked in at the front desk, and they had already realized the problem, but were waiting for us to return to fix it. The head housekeeper and manager came in and changed out our bedding very quickly and politely. They also delivered our included bottle of wine,and the front desk made our reservation for dinner. We relaxed on our patio, watching the sun sink in the sky over the vineyards. The grounds at the hotel are lush and beautiful. The noise from the highway was unremarkable. We were sitting outside during rush-hour time, and barely noticed the cars. Weekends could be different, I suppose.
Later, we had dinner at the Rutherford Grill, and enjoyed one of the bottles of wine we had purchased (they never charge corkage!). The food was fabulous. We enjoyed a fire in our room that evening, and the next morning, breakfast was very nice. It's continental, but had a wide assortment of choices. The power went out in the entire valley that morning, but we managed to have a nice breakfast anyway... the room was well-lit with natural light. We were very sorry to have to leave, and regretted not having time to enjoy the pool or the beautiful firepit. We'll have to return again to do that.
All in all, we found the room, hotel, and service to be excellent, and will definitely return, and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

I had a wonderful time as did my wife. The hotel was as beautiful as the surrounding scenery. Our room and the grounds were immaculate, and staff at the front desk were very pleasant. We took advantage of their complimentary breakfast in the morning. I got together a tray of food and took it back to my wife in our room.

As for dining the previous evening we did not go to any restaurants (although I have dined at Bouchon before and greatly enjoyed it.) Instead we got a couple of loaves of bread from Bouchon bakery and some French cheese from the market down Washington st. a bit. I must highly recommend the truffled salami that the market carries. We then dined in our room enjoying the view of the vineyard and the gradually darkening sky.
All and all it was a great place to be on our 5th wedding anniversary and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

We just stayed 2 nights here. We booked with Travelzoo, which had a $179 special for the most basic rooms. We stayed in the slightly nicer $199 king size bed/work desk/vineyard view from our vineyard-view patio room. The positives: the grounds are beautiful, pool is very nice and clean, rooms are good, bathrooms are outstanding. The biggest compliment we can pay to the hotel is that we came her to taste wine but we ended up buying a few bottles right off the bat and then lollygagging around the hotel for the majority of our stay. The hotel was nice enough to take two wine drinkers out of the wine tasting game, woith no regrets. The negatives, which are minor in comparison: on the first day here, we tried the shower multiple times, and we got lukewarm water at best. In fairness to the hotel, we ttried showering after 10am so the early shower crew had already had done their damage on the hot waer supply. Later on, the hot water returned. The water pressure is low, but that could be due to conservation efforts so not a big deal. The second issue related to breakfast the first day. Again, we came during the second hour of breakfast but the offerings at that time were paltry at best. The second day was much better so perhaps this was a unique situation. We are in our 30s but, if you are relatively young like us and like good food that is fresh and not too pretentious, try Ad Hoc. The meal we had was very, very good and the whole vibe of the restaurant is very youthful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We have stayed at several hotels in the Napa Valley area and this is our new favorite. We enjoyed our time at the Napa Valley Lodge for the following reasons:

-great location in the quieter part of Yountville...walking distance to all the restaurants and tasting rooms, but the town can get a little crowded in the summer time and this location seems more peaceful.
-very friendly and helpful staff....the front desk made our two dinner reservations and made great winery and other activity recommendations
-large room with really nice bathrooms...walk-in over-sized showers
-awesome pool area with fire pit and bocce court....great place to relax late in the afternoon after a day of wine tasting and biking around
-nice breakfast (included in the room) each morning out by the pool
-our room was an upstairs one that looked out over the vineyards- which was great.
-free wifi...did some work on laptop overlooking the vineyards...
-we had a couple's massage in their spa treatment room and it was wonderful way to wind down.

We will return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minibarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.1 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing