We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed at the NVL for 6 nights mid-March. We were more than pleased with our king room on the second floor of the hotel. The room was very spacious, clean, modern, with a wood-burning fireplace that we lit each evening. The bathroom was recently remodelled with slate and marble, it was large, with a huge shower and separate make-up area. Breakfast was ok - a bit boring, so we ate at Bouchon Bakery, and the Model Bakery in St. Helena as well. We had surprisingly good weather while there (in the mid-70's), and sat by the pool in the afternoons. The pool area is beside the vineyard, beautifully landscaped, there is a fire-pit close by that is lit in the evenings. The hotel is very close to all of the wonderful restaurants in Yountville (we highly recommend Bottega, Bouchon and Redd!). For the price we paid (hotel web special), the NVL was great value. We probably would not stay there again if the rate was higher than what we paid.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverWestwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    282
    67
    19
    3
See reviews for
159
766
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This was our 3rd trip to Yountville (the other 2 trips we stayed at another hotel) but this was our first stay at the Napa Valley Lodge. My husband and I were very pleased with our large room on the 2nd floor - we had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard with 2 chairs and a small cocktail table - a perfect place to bring back that bottle of wine you purchased and share it together. We had a fireplace (real wood burning, which was re-stocked each day with 2 Dura Flame Logs) and what looked to be an Italian marble bathroom with a large shower. There is also a wonderful continental breakfast (more than Juice, coffee and a pastry!!) every morning outside adjacent to the pool, or if the weather is not great they have it in a meeting room. There is also a workout facility and a spa services near the pool & meeting rooms should you desire to work out or get a massage. The front desk was also willing to help with any reservations you need. And don't let the "motel" atmosphere when you drive up fool you - you will love your stay here. After staying at the Napa Valley Lodge we appreciated not having to go through a lobby every day, take an elevator to our room, etc. etc. We did not want to leave, and have already said when we are lucky enough to come back to this beautiful area, we will stay at the Napa Valley Lodge again!! We Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munique40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greyhoundmom24
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This was our third stay at Napa Valley Lodge and each time has been great. The staff is always very helpful. It is a nice touch that they call you a short time prior to your trip to see if you need any help with dinner reservations or reservations with any other items in the area. When we arrived, the front desk clerk was very welcoming and helpful and she provided us with a map of the wineries in the area.

We booked the Deluxe King Fireplace room which is very spacious. In the room, was a complimentary bottle of wine as well as some coupons for wineries in the area. Our room had a balcony looking out on the pool, wood burning fireplace and a nice tiled shower. Room was clean, bed was comfy! It was nice to have a fire at night after a day out at wine tastings/dinner/etc.

Their pool was heated and clean (although we didn't use it this time) and they have a hot tub. There is also a firepit that they light each night where you can sit out and enjoy on a nice Napa evening. In the morning, there is a continental breakfast buffet which had a nice selection of breads, cereal, muffins, fruit, coffee, tea, and even mimosas!

Hotel is walking distance or a short drive to great restaurants in Yountville (Bouchon Bakery and Ad Hoc being our favorites!). It is also very central to many wineries and other restaurants in the area.

It was another great stay - and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhoundmom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2009

The staff at the Napa Valley Lodge was wonderful. The location is incredibly convenient. It is close to wonderful restaurants and many lovely wineries. It also offers great spa services. The room was beautiful and spacious. I particularly enjoyed relaxing one evening, with wine I had purchased earlier, at the outdoor fire pit. Also the champagne brunch succeeded expectations. As a person who works in the wine industry, and is often in Napa tasting at many different wineries, I plan to make any of my future stays at this fantastic location.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsilva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Driving up to the hotel was a bit of a shock given that it seems like just any other roadside motel, but we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful service at check-in and the size of the room.

PROS: Plenty of space in the room; clean; comfortable beds; well laid out bathroom with room for two people to get ready at once; free internet access in room; helpful staff; location is close to the many excellent restaurants in Yountville; adequate complimentary breakfast.

CONS: PRICE! Anywhere but Napa this hotel would be about $150/night max. We paid $229/night and when my boyfriend asked if they offer a AAA discount (which most hotels do) they said they do not participate in that and that we had already gotten a very good rate (really?). Also, the shower is so lame that getting the shampoo out of your hair will take ages--if you can get it out at all. Big problem.

Overall, it's not worth the price but you are kind of hostage to ridiculous hotel rates in Napa.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Like other reviewers, we were surprised to find a drive-up, two-building complex that resembles a glorified motel. But the owners have dressed it up well, with pleasant landscaping and some very handsome materials inside and out. Our large room, with king-size bed, had a fireplace and a lovely outdoor patio overlooking vineyards (though the clothes closet was inexplicably placed inside the bathroom). There's a beautiful pool area with a reasonably large pool (an increasing rarity), a hot tub that's actually hot, and an outdoor gas fireplace at night. Free winetastings are offered some evenings by local wineries. An excellent breakfast buffet, with a wide variety of baked goods and fruit, is served in a handsome meeting room overlooking grapevines. The Lodge's location in the mid-valley town of Yountville--itself a combination of surviving old-fashioned charm and newfangled dining-mecca chic--is quiet. We had brought our bicycles, and it was easy to ride right out our door to beautiful destinations up and down the Napa Valley (avoid busy Hwy. 29 and opt for parallel Silverado Trail--it's far more atmospheric whether you're driving or cycling, with less traffic). If I have a criticism of this hotel, it's with rather high prices given the service and overall "feel." The front desk managed to be both smiling and unhelpful when it counted. We routinely had to wait for clerks' phone conversations to end before we were helped (in one case, the clerk was having a heated phone debate about other employees' work hours). Though the hotel was almost empty during our stay, we were refused a late check-out "because the system won't let me do it" (are the human employees mere pawns in the control of an evil computer?). But the housekeeping staff were friendly, and the rock-hard foam pillows on our otherwise very comfortable bed were happily replaced with down pillows when we asked. At $175 a night, instead of $258, Napa Valley Lodge might seem fairly priced.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I recently stayed at the Napa Valley Lodge for a business trip. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. The guestrooms are very spacious with beautiful bathrooms and fireplaces. The outdoor pool/spa area is fantastic with a great fire pit where you can enjoy a glass of wine. The lodge also provides a great champagne brunch every morning.

The hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy everything the valley has to offer. Yountville has many of the best restaurants in the country. Bistro Jeanty, Bouchon and Hurley's are my favorites.

This is best the deal in the valley. I am heading back in a couple weeks. Book it!

  • Liked — Rooms and Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emjune10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
887 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing